First Annual POWRi Speed Week and Blessings come to Macon Speedway this Saturday, June 8


(Macon, IL) Macon Speedway is excited to bring open-wheeled action back to the track this weekend, June 8, as part of the First Annual POWRi Speed Week with the 2013 POWRi Lucas Oil National Midgets and POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micros! The four-day event starts off at Jacksonville Speedway on Thursday, June 6th; then travels to Lincoln Speedway on Friday, June 7th; then to Macon Speedway on Saturday, June 8th; and finishes up at Vermillion County Speedway on Sunday, June 9th. Gates open at 5, racing starts at 7 pm each night.

Jeremy Camp of Blue Mound, Ill., leads Dereck King of Vienna, IL in the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series, and Max Pozsgai of Lincoln, IL is third. 20-year old Andrew Felker from Carl Junction, MO is the POWRi National Midget points leaderover Zach Daum. Tyler Thomas of Collinsville, Oklahoma is third.

Macon Speedway will open their pits at 3:00 pm with driver registration from 4:00 pm to 6:30 pm. National Midget drivers’ meeting is at 5:15 pm with the 600cc Outlaw Micro drivers meeting at 5:30 pm. Hot laps are at 6:00 pm with racing at 7:00 pm. Adult general admission tickets are $18 and kids 11 & under are still free.

Racers and fans can also look forward to a few blessings from area pastors Saturday when Macon Speedway hosts the Faster Pastor Night of Racing. They will take to the 1/5 mile oval track in 4-cyl. Hornet cars racing for the title of “Faster Pastor”. Special admission pricing is available for congregations and youth groups coming out to Macon Speedway to support their pastor.

Also racing Saturday night will be the Billingsley Towing UMP Modifieds, UMP Street Stocks, UMP Outlaw 4-cyl. Hornets and Stock Hornets.

Mark your calendars for NEXT THURSDAY, June 13 when RICHARD PETTY, TONY STEWART, KENNY WALLACE AND KEN SCHRADER will be at Macon Speedway for NASCAR Night II. The co-owners of Macon Speedway will be competing against Macon’s best for a thrilling night of racing! Autograph session will start approximately around 5 pm. Admission is $20. First come, first served for the first 300 people.

The Midwest Big Ten UMP Late Models series will also be racing that night. Steve Lance, Jr. leads the series with Brian Dively, Matt Taylor, Greg Kimmons and Steve Sheppard, Jr. rounding out the top 5.

For information, call 217-764-3000. Visit or for a complete 2013 Race schedule and additional information. For quick convenient updates, follow us on Facebook at and Twitter @maconspeedway.

Permanent link to this article: