POWRi still going strong on third day of competition at Macon Speedway

(Macon, IL) .The First Annual POWRi Speed Week started on Thursday at Jacksonville, headed to Lincoln on Friday, and tonight performed to a packed house at Macon Speedway with a record 163 cars in all six divisions. At press time, the POWRi Micros were running their feature.

The Street Stock division had quite a few restarts before they had one lap down. Once they got in rhythm, Greg Osman took the lead on lap 14 after going head-to-head with Jeremy Nichols after a restart on lap 12. Rounding out third was Terry Reed.

The Stock Hornet feature had the most excitment on lap one with a pileup in turn four, ending up with Marty Sullivan on his roof. After the restart, Thad Gee took the rest of the 8-lap feature easily, even lapping a car on lap four. John Bright, Jr. took second and Mike McChristy came in third.

One side note on the POWRi Series, there were a lot of down-under fanswho traveled to be in attendance to cheer on their fellow Aussies and Kiwis!
B.G. Nevitt of Glad Tidings Assembly of God took the title of Faster Pastor.Don’t miss this THURSDAY’S NIGHT OF NASCAR STARS June 13 when “THE KING” RICHARD PETTY, TONY STEWART, KENNY WALLACE AND KEN SCHRADER will be at Macon Speedway! Stewart, Schrader and Wallace, the co-owners of Macon Speedway, will be competing against Macon’s best for a thrilling night of racing! Autograph session will start approximately around 5 pm. First come, first served. General admission is $20. To purchase advance general admission tickets call 217.764.3200.

The Midwest Big Ten UMP Late Models series will also be racing that night. Steve Lance, Jr. leads the series with Brian Dively, Matt Taylor, Greg Kimmons and Steve Sheppard, Jr. rounding out the top 5.

For information, call 217-764-3000. Visit www.maconracing.com  or www.trackenterprises.com for a complete 2013 Race schedule and additional information. For quick convenient updates, follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/maconracing and Twitter @maconspeedway.

Race Results
UMP Street Stocks
1. Greg Osman
2. Jeremy Nichols
3. Terry Reed
4. Bobby Beiler
5. Gene Reed
Stock Hornets
1. Thad Gee
2. John Bright Jr.
3. Mike McChristy
4. William Deavers
5. Bruce Boliard

Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2013/06/powri-still-going-strong-on-third-day-of-competition-at-macon-speedway/