Nine Different Winners in Ten LOLMDS Events, Don O’Neal Takes Over Series Point Lead



WAYCROSS, GA (March 27, 2014) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series has completed ten (10) sanctioned events so far in 2014, with nine (9) different drivers visiting victory lane to date. The series has seen some intense and fierce battles with competition at an all-time high.  The Wrisco Feature Winners Category includes:  Jonathan Davenport (GIS), Chris Madden (GIS), Steve Francis (GIS), Eddie Carrier Jr. (East Bay), Dennis Erb Jr. (East Bay), Bobby Pierce (East Bay), Billy Moyer (East Bay twice), Davey Johnson (East Bay) and Don O’Neal (Brownstown). Billy Moyer is the only repeat winner on the series so far in 2014.


The record for different winners on the LOLMDS was 23 in 2008.  Wrisco Aluminum will present a cash award, at the year-end awards banquet, to the driver that wins the most feature events, on the series in 2014.  Be sure and visit their official website at


Don O’Neal from Martinsville, IN took over the top spot in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series championship point standings this past Saturdaynight with his win at the Indiana Icebreaker.  Saturday’s win at the historic Brownstown Speedway was the first win for O’Neal, since stepping into the Clint Bowyer owned #5 Peak Antifreeze and Motor Oil Barry Wright Race Car in 2014.  O’Neal’s win Saturday night was his 54th career victory at Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, IN and his 5th career Indiana Icebreaker victory.  O’Neal now leads the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Point Standings by 25 points over 4-Time LOLMDS Champion Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL and 30 points over Bowyer Racing team-mate, Steve Francis of Ashland, KY.


“Were excited to get off to a great start this year and take over the point lead.  I’m really glad to get my first win for Clint Bowyer and all the great sponsors that support his organization.  I’m really excited about our team this year.  It’s a testament to how hard our guys are working back in the shop for both Steve and myself to have a win on the series and in the top three in points already.  I’m pumped up and ready to get some more wins and win a championship for CBR”, stated Don O’Neal.


Eddie Carrier Jr of Salt Rock, WV is off to a great start on the series with one win already and currently is in 4th place in the championship point standings, while John Blankenship of Williamson, WV sits in 5th place in the series point standings.  Rounding out the top ten in the LOLMDS championship points standings include: Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN, Jared Landers of Batesville, AR and Brian Shirley of Chatham, IL.


The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will sit idle this weekend and resume the 2014 season with a three-race swing in the states of Mississippi, Louisiana and Oklahoma on the first weekend of April.  The series will travel to Jackson Motor Speedway in Jackson, MS on Friday April 4th and then visit Ark-La-Tex Speedway in Vivian, LA on Saturday April 5th.  The series will conclude the three-race swing with a visit to Outlaw Motor Speedway in Muskogee, OK on Sunday, April 6th.  All three events will consist of Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains and a 50-Lap feature event, paying $10,000 to win and $800 to start.  TheApril 4th event at Jackson Motor Speedway is the final event for drivers to declare their intentions to compete for the Dunn-Benson Ford Rookie of the Year for 2014.  Series officials will officially announce the drivers competing for the 2014 Rookie of the Year, following this three-race weekend.


For the latest breaking news about the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the 2014 tour schedule, TV schedule, drivers, sponsors and all the information about the series, visit the official website


Follow the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on the social media outlets at and

About Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series


Founded in 2005, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series is the nations’ premier dirt late model sanctioning organization. In 2014 the LOLMDS will sanctions 47 events in 19 states. The series is owned by the parent company Lucas Oil Products Inc. and receives national exposure through a TV package filmed, produced and edited by Lucas Oil Production Studios. LOLMDS events will be broadcasted on four TV Networks in 2014 including CBS, NBC Sports, CBS Sports Network and MAVTV American Real Network. For more information about the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series visit the official website at


About MAVTV American Real Network


MAVTV was founded in 2002 by four former Showtime Networks executives and was originally geared towards a male dominated audience. In 2011, Lucas Oil Products, an automotive lubricant manufacturer with a history in television production, purchased MAVTV. Lucas Oil was eager to employ the same growth strategies to transform MAVTV into a premier cable network that it employed to grow the lubricants business. MAVTV aims to become a broader scoped network, geared towards the modern American family. Lucas Oil is investing in programming, an updated on-air look, and increased production quality, all to add more value to the viewer experience. MAVTV is an acronym that stands for Movies, Action and Variety. MAVTV brings you plenty of never-before-seen high definition exclusives, including Comedy, Movies, Action Sports, Adventure and More, all in fantastic HD detail. MAVTV is no ordinary television network. It’s a 24/7, high-definition entertainment extravaganza, featuring everything from blockbuster films, high octane motorsports, MMA fighting, gaming, gut busting comedy, original reality shows and scripted dramas. Learn more about MAVTV American Real go to
About Lucas Oil Products


Founded in 1989 by Forrest and Charlotte Lucas, Lucas Oil Products, Inc. has established itself as one of the fastest-growing lubrication product lines in the consumer automotive aftermarket, featuring a line of engine oils, greases, gear lubes, problem-solving additives, and car-care products. Through innovative product research and development, along with aggressive marketing programs, Lucas Oil has established itself as a worldwide leader in the lubrication industry. Motorsports has always been part of the Lucas Oil culture and the cornerstone of the company’s marketing strategy. Such passion for motorsports has inspired Lucas Oil to sponsor many race teams, events and series at all levels, including, NHRA, IRL, ASCS, NASCAR, IHRA and many more. Lucas Oil has also taken ownership and operational control of a number of high profile racing properties, such as: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series, Lucas Oil Drag Boat Series, Lucas Oil Pro Pulling League, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, Lucas Oil Modified Series, Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO. and the Lucas Oil I-10 Speedway in Blythe, CA.

In 2007 Lucas Oil founded its own production house, Lucas Oil Production Studios, dedicated to producing high action motorsports television. Currently Lucas Oil Production Studios produces over 300 hours of original programming for networks such as CBS, CBS Sports, NBC Sports and MAVTV. More information about Lucas Oil Products, Inc. visit the company website at

Permanent link to this article: