April 19, 2014 archive

Reed gets in the groove to snag Big Ten street stocks series opener, big payday


          MACON – One week after missing the setup on his UMP street stock, Gene Reed of Blue Mound stuck his car down low to grab the Midwest Big Ten Series street stock opener at Macon Speedway Saturday night.

Reed started fifth among 19 cars in the 20-lap street stock feature, and he kept his car in the low groove. It  allowed him to march to the front and take the $500 first-place prize.

“I’ll take it however I can get it,’’ said Reed, the defending Macon Speedway street stock champ. “I knew it was going to stack up in the front. They went to the top, and I stuck on the bottom.’’

In the season opener the previous weekend, Reed’s setup was off, and it sent his left front tire to jump in the air coming off the corner. He eventually finished third.

“I feel like I gave one away last week,’’ Reed said.

The Big Ten Series is a 10-race tour to four tracks. They will race five times overall at Macon Speedway and return stock car racing to the Christian County Fair in Taylorville after a long absence. Big Ten street stocks also battle at Jacksonville Speedway and Lincoln Speedway.

In other feature events, John Beck scored his first feature win at Macon Speedway in a UMP late model.  David Crawley Jr. of Decatur won in UMP Billingsley Towing modifieds.  Jeremy Nichols of Shelbyville captured the sportsman race, and Garth Luka of Blue Mound took the stock hornets victory.

Billy Brickley won the Illinois Lightning Sprint Series feature. Brian Deavers of Bloomington of captured the UMP outlaw feature.

It was a great night of racing under the lights. Fans enjoyed Driver-Sponsor Appreciation Night, when they are allowed on the track to check out the cars up close and personal. It’s almost like a free pit pass.

More than 60 kids made their way to the CEFCU Kid’s Club, and 3-year-old CEFCU Kid’s Club member Corbin Henderson joined the folks on the flagstand.

On Saturday, April 26, the wildly popular POWERi midgets and micros make their first of five appearances at Macon Speedway this season. They are joined by Billingsley Towing UMP modifieds, UMP street stocks, UMP outlaw hornets and stock hornets.

Gates open at 5 p.m. and racing begins at 7.


Macon Speedway results

Saturday, April 19


UMP Midwest Big Ten Series street stocks – 1. Gene Reed (Blue Mound), 2. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 3. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 4. Terry Reed (Decatur), 5. Jeremiah Hadley, 6. Brandon Eskew, 7. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 8. Greg Osman (Macon), 9. Thomas Riech (Springfield), 10. Lance Johnson (Kenney), 11. Roy MaGee II (Springfield), 12. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 13. Luke Force (Argenta), 14. Jeff Reed Sr. (Blue Mound), 15. Ronnie Burns (Cerro Gordo), 16. Zach Perryman (Decatur), 17. Jeffery Reed Jr. (Blue Mound), 18. Shane Ewing (Decatur), 19. Brandon Dick (Decatur).

UMP late models – 1. John Beck (Springfield), 2. Joseph Hughes (Springfield), 3. Greg Kimmons (Pleasant Plains), 4. Jeff Beyers (Pana), 5. Kyle VanDorn (New Berlin), 6. Andrew Barnes, 7. Jake Little (Springfield), 8. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 9. Ryan Little (Springfield).

UMP modifieds – 1. David Crawley Jr. (Decatur). 2.Cory Daugherty (Blue Mound), 3. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 4. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 5. Nick O’Dell (Kannapolis, N.C.), 6. Zach Bunning (Decatur), 7. Danny Smith (Argenta), 8. Troy Dodson (Cerro Gordo), 9. Rick Hamilton (Decatur), 10. John Bernard, 11. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 12. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 13. Matt Goulden (Springfield), 14. Steve Ewing (Decatur), 15. Jeff Ray, 16. Ethan Schnapp (Springfield), 17. Jeff Graham (Stonington).

Sportsman – 1. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 2. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 3. Doug Nevill (Dawson), 4. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville), 5. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 6. Bob Sidener (Springfield), 7. Michael Maestas (Lincoln), 8. Tom Graham (Stonington), 9. James Farley III (Springfield).

UMP outlaw hornets – 1. Brian Deavers (Bloomington), 2. John Bright Jr. (Decatur), 3. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 4. Tharen Reno (Springfield), 5. Dillon Justice (Harristown), 6. Steven Stine (Stonington), 7. Victor Overlin. 8. Jerad Matherly (Decatur), 9. Mike Eskew (Williamsville), 10. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 11. Vernon Carlow (Springfield), 12. Terry Myers.

Stock hornets – 1. Garth Luka (Blue Mound), 2. Benjamin McChristy (Mount Zion), 3. Joseph McChristy (Mount Zion), 4. William Deavers (Bloomington), 5. Brian Offer (Springfield), 6. Derek Peters (Pana), 7. Mike McChristy (Mount Zion), 8. Dean Holt (Mount Zion), 9. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 10. Victor Overlin Jr., 11. Garrett Lewis (Decatur), 12. Josh Bright (Decatur), 13. Billy Justice Jr., 14. Pat Arthur, 15. Paul Peters, 16. Quintin Tippitt.

Illinois Lighting Sprints – 1. Billy Brickley, 2. Austin Archdale (Brimfield), 3. Jud Ross (Havana), 4. Jacob Sollemberger (Canton), 5. Andrew Funk (Morton).

Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2014/04/reed-gets-in-the-groove-to-snag-big-ten-street-stocks-series-opener-big-payday/

Street stocks grab spotlight at Macon Speedway in Big Ten Series opener with $500 to win

MACON, Ill. – The street stocks division takes over the spotlight tonight (Saturday, April 19) when the Midwest Big Ten Series season opener runs the high banks at Macon Speedway for a big payday. The ultra-competitive, action-packed division roars onto the fifth-mile oval to race for $500 to win in the first event of a 10-race season spread over four tracks.

The Big Ten Series will race five times at Macon Speedway and bring stock car racing back to the Christian County Fair in Taylorville, where the street stocks and hornets take top billing in the Larry’s Service Center Twin 25’s in July. The series also races at Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway and Jacksonville (Ill.) Speedway.

Tonight, the pits will be loaded with street stocks cars and drivers excited for the series, the opener and the big prize money.

Macon Speedway also hosts UMP Late models for their final tuneup before the St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100, the 100-lapper in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. The local aces not only want to win tonight but also want to get their cars dialed in before the national stars and regional hot shoes arrive on May 1 for the $12,000 to win event that will pack the grandstands.

UMP modifieds, sportsman, UMP outlaw hornets, stock hornets and the Illinois Lightning Sprint Series also race at Macon Speedway tonight. It’s Driver-Sponsor Appreciation Night. The CEFCU Kid’s Club meets for the first time for kids 11 and under. The Easter Bunny will also be here to meet the kids and give out some treats.

Pits open at 4 p.m. The gates swing open at 5, and racing starts at 7.

Macon Speedway is one of the Midwest’s most famous dirt racing facilities. Co-owned by promoter Bob Sargent and NASCAR stars Tony Stewart, Ken Schrader and Kenny Wallace, the track is a fan favorite for the layout that creates plenty of wheel-to-wheel action. Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street, then south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway at (www.maconracing.com), Facebook  (www.facebook.com/maconracing) and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway Text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and data rates may apply.


Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2014/04/street-stocks-take-over-spotlight-at-macon-speedway-in-midwest-big-ten-series-opener/