Action Track hosts USAC Silver Crown, UMP modifieds Sunday in Terre Haute


         Wednesday May 22nd     Tony Hulman Classic     USAC Sprint Cars and UMP Modifieds     General Admission Gates Open: 5PM     Pit Gates Open: 4PM     Hot Laps: 6PM     Racing: 7PM     General Admission: $25     Infield: $15     Kids 10 & Under: FREE     Pit Pass: $35 - USAC Members: $30     (All times Eastern)


TERRE HAUTE, Ind. — The USAC season starts with a great doubleheader at two legendary Indiana dirt tracks on April 5-6.

After the USAC sprint cars raced at Lawrenceburg Speedway Saturday night, the Silver Crown cars will be unleashed Sunday at the Terre Haute Action Track, the fast half-mile track at the Wabash Valley Fairgrounds.

Grandstands and the infield open at 2 p.m. central time at the Action Track. Hot laps start at 4 p.m. with racing immediately following qualifications. Former NASCAR stars Ken Schrader and Kenny Wallace will race UMP modifieds at the Action Track as the Midwest dirt track racing season kicks into high gear.

Heading into the weekend, everyone wondered if there would be a weekend sweep at Lawrenceburg and Terre Haute. It hasn’t happened in 11 years but at least seven drivers will try to win USAC Silver Crown and AMSOIL National Sprint races at different tracks on the same weekend this Saturday and Sunday.

J.J. Yeley was the last to accomplish the feat, winning Silver Crown races at Lucas Oil Raceway and the Indiana State Fairgrounds in Indianapolis and a Sprint race at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio all in the span of four days. That year Yeley became the second driver to sweep USAC’s National “Triple Crown” joining Tony Stewart (1995) as the only drivers in history to accomplish the three-series “sweep” in a single year.

Drivers Jarett Andretti, Shane Cockrum, Jerry Coons Jr., Dave Darland, Bobby East, Tracy Hines, Kody Swanson and Chris Windom are all expected to compete in both weekend races.

Darland is the only driver of the eight to have won in the Sprints at Lawrenceburg and the Silver Crown at Terre Haute. Coons has Sprint wins at both tracks, while Hines has Midget wins at both and Sprint wins at Terre Haute.

Saturday’s Lawrenceburg race is round three of the 2014 AMSOIL calendar. Brady Bacon and Bryan Clauson scored victories at Ocala, Fla. in February. Sunday’s Terre Haute race opens the 11-race 2014 Silver Crown calendar.

Defending winners at each track are Clauson (2013) at Lawrenceburg and East (2012) at Terre Haute. They won their respective series championships each year.

Levi Jones holds the one-lap Lawrenceburg Sprint car track record of 12.926 seconds set in 2008. Josh Wise is the one-lap Terre Haute Silver Crown record holder at 20.139 seconds, set in 2005.


Permanent link to this article: