Macon Speedway opens season Saturday with UMP Showdown, POWRi plus Schrader in modified



MACON, Ill. – Macon Speedway puts the pedal to the metal for an impressive doubleheader of action for opening night Saturday. The seventh annual Spring Fling features the battle for dirt car bragging rights with the UMP Champions Showdown by bringing modified, street stock and hornet champions from other area tracks for a battle royal. Meanwhile, open-wheel fans also get the first local appearance by the wildly popular POWRi midgets and micros on the banked fifth-mile dirt oval as Macon Speedway opens for the 69th season.

Macon Speedway co-owner and NASCAR star Ken Schrader will also race his modified in the season opener, providing even more fireworks to an already exciting night.

“There’s no better way to start the season than giving our dirt-track fans the best of both worlds,’’ Macon Speedway promoter Bob Sargent said. “Our Champions Showdown allows drivers to battle it out for bragging rights. The POWRi series is a fan favorite for the open-wheel crowd.’’

Track champions were invited from 13 local speedways to battle for the pride that goes with beating the best from the area’s other tracks. In addition to the prize winnings, each Champions Night winner also receives a trophy to take to the home track.

“Each speedway thinks they have the best drivers,’’ Sargent said. “Let’s find out who can take home the bragging rights for 2014.’’

Macon Speedway reigning champs Guy Taylor of Springfield in Billingsley Towing modifieds, Gene Reed of Blue Mound in street stocks and Adam Webb of Decatur in hornets can defend the honor of the historic short track.

Meanwhile, the POWRi midgets and micros make the first of their six appearances at Macon Speedway, more than any other track on the POWRi schedule. The POWRi summer season runs through five states, and the midgets fly around the high-banked oval at Macon Speedway. Fans saw Danny Stratton, Christopher Bell, Andrew Felker and Brady Bacon win features at Macon Speedway in the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series last season. Zach Daum of Pocahontas, Ill., is the reigning series champion.

“Our fans really enjoy watching these POWRi midgets handle our speedway,’’ Sargent said. “The talent level is amazing, and the machinery is top notch.’’

Opened in 1946, Macon Speedway is co-owned by Sargent and NASCAR stars Tony Stewart, Kenny Wallace and Schrader. Racing runs every Saturday through Sept. 27 at Macon Speedway. Gates open at 5 p.m. and racing starts at 7. Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street, then south to 205 N. Wiles.

For more information, call 217-764-3000 (track). Follow Macon Speedway at, and on Twitter @maconspeedway. Stay tuned for the Macon Speedway Club with a texting service and Email newsletter.

Permanent link to this article: