Midwest Big Ten Series late models return to historic Macon Speedway in 2014


2014-04-04 11.17.34

 MACON, Ill. – With a long tradition as a home for high level late model racing, Macon Speedway is excited to open its 69th season of racing at the famed fifth-mile banked dirt oval by featuring the annual Midwest Big Ten Series for UMP late models on April 12. The showcase is a 10-race series that will run at Macon Speedway, Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, Ill.), Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, Ill.) and Quincy Raceways (Quincy, Ill.). The series features a $5,000 prize fund.

Macon Speedway also hosts the Big Ten Series late models on May 10, June 14 and July 19.

The late model loyalty promotion includes larger payouts to the feature winner. At the end of the 10-race series, driver points accumulated during the series will determine the Midwest Big Ten Series champion. The overall champion earns $2,000, and the payouts continue through the top 10 rankings.

Last season, Steve Sheppard Jr., of New Berlin, won the series title in a tense battle. Brian Dively of Springfield finished second, ahead of Matt Taylor of Springfield, Greg Kimmons of Pleasant Plains and John Beck of Springfield.

“Macon Speedway is known as a hotbed for talented late model drivers who like to compete and showcase their skills before a big, excited crowd,’’ Macon Speedway promoter Bob Sargent said. “We want to thank them for being so loyal to our historic track. Macon Speedway knows that without our drivers, we couldn’t succeed. We’re proud to have every one of them racing at our track.’’

The thrilling Macon Speedway schedule includes a pair of NASCAR Night of Stars, planned for May 26 and another date the second week of June. NASCAR stars such as Macon Speedway co-owner Tony Stewart make an appearance to sign autographs and take to the dirt. The track also has two premier late model shows on the 2014 schedule. The St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 and the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series are ready to race here for the first time on May 1 for a $12,000 first-place prize. The UMP Summernational tour hits Macon Speedway for the Herald-Review 100 on July 10.

Macon Speedway is one of the Midwest’s most famous dirt racing facilities. Co-owned by Bob Sargent and NASCAR stars Tony Stewart, Ken Schrader and Kenny Wallace, the track is a fan favorite for the layout that creates plenty of wheel-to-wheel action. Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street, then south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway at (www.maconracing.com), Facebook  (www.facebook.com/maconracing) and Twitter (@maconspeedway). A texting service is now available by going to our website.

Midwest Big Ten Series

Late Models

Friday, April 11 – Jacksonville Speedway

Saturday, April 12 – Macon Speedway

Saturday, May 10 – Macon Speedway

Sunday, May 18 – Quincy Raceways

Friday, June 13 – Jacksonville Speedway

Saturday, June 14 – Macon Speedway

Friday, July 18 – Lincoln Speedway

Saturday July 19 – Macon Speedway

Sunday, July 20 – Quincy Raceways

Friday, August 8 – Lincoln Speedway



Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2014/04/midwest-big-ten-series-late-models-return-to-historic-macon-speedway-in-2014/