Day streaks to win in Beach House Mini-Sprints feature on Bob Brady Raminator Night


MACON, Ill. – When leader Aaron Andruskevitch fell out of the race with mechanical trouble, Tyler Day took over the lead and held  on for the win in the Beach House Mini-Sprints feature race during Bob Brady Auto Mall Raminator Night at Macon Speedway Saturday.

Day, of Atwood, stayed to the high side and held off Brad McDaniel, of Carbondale, for the victory as the winged open wheel cars ran their first feature race of the season on the legendary fifth-mile high banked oval. Paul Day of Atwood was third with John Plotner, of Decatur, and Taylorville’s Luke Verardi fifth.

Andruskevitch, of Riverton, is third in the POWRi national outlaw micro points standings. The Beach House Mini-Sprint division drew a 19-car field for the thrilling 20-lap feature race.

Nick Macklin won the Sportsman feature to return to victory lane for the second straight race.

“It’s awesome to be back here,’’ he said.



Bobby Beiler made it two wins in back to back nights. After taking the checkered flag at Jacksonville Speedway the previous night, Beiler scored the feature win in Street Stocks by staying in front of brothers Terry Reed and Gene Reed.

His rivals “showed me the top side was there,’’ Beiler said.

Brock Bauman, of Eureka, took the victory in the Billingsley Towing Modifieds feature while Ethan Schnapp, of Springfield, took the victory in B-Mods.



John Bright Jr., of Decatur, raced to the win in Outlaw Hornets. Garth Luka, of Blue Mound, was the winner in the Stock Hornets division.

The feature races came after a monster truck exhibition by Raminator, the Champaign based team.

Macon Speedway hosts the Sunoco American Late Model Series in a $2,000 to win feature race Monday, and it’s NASCAR Night of Stars I. Ken Schrader and Kenny Wallace will race their modifieds and meet the fans.

The program runs an hour earlier than normal at Macon Speedway. Gates open at 4 p.m. with racing set to begin at 6.




SPORTSMAN – 1. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 2. Doug Nevill, 3. Tom Graham (Stonington), 4. Michael Maestas (Lincoln), 5. Phil Moreland (Assumption), 6. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 7. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 8. Curt Rhodes (Taylorville), 9. Zach Rhodes.

STREET STOCKS –1. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 2. Terry Reed (Decatur), 3. Gene Reed (Blue Mound), 4. Thomas Riech (Springfield), 5. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 6. Bobby Eskew (Lake Fork), 7. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 8. Luke Force (Argenta), 9. Dustin Reed (Decatur), 10. Dave Foster (Lovington), 11. Brandon Dick (Decatur), 12. Roy MaGee II (Springfield), 13. Jim Brigham (Sullivan), 14. Ronnie Burns (Cerro Gordo), 15. Zach Perryman (Decatur)

BILLINGSLEY TOWING MODFIEDS – 1. Brock Bauman (Eureka), 2. Zack Bunning (Decatur), 3. Danny Smith (Argenta), 4. Cory Daugherty (Blue Mound), 5. Randy Huffman (Maroa), 6. Troy Dodson (Cerro Gordo), 7. Ethan Schnapp (Springfield), 8. Jeff Graham (Stonington), 9. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 10. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 11. Chad Sellers, 12. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 13. Cody Bauman (Eureka), 14. Jeff Ray, 15. Curtis Hartung (Decatur), 16. Rick Lowe (Springfield).

BEACH HOUSE MINI-SPRINTS – 1. Tyler Day (Atwood), 2. Brad McDaniel (Carbondale), 3. Paul Day (Atwood), 4. John Plotner (Decatur), 5. Luke Verardi (Taylorville), 6. Evan Weyant (Sherman), 7. Jimmy Miller (Arthur), 8. Clayton Duff (Weldon), 9. Gabe Verardi (Taylorville), 10. Jeff Beasley (Urbana), 11. Eric Shelton (Decatur), 12. Austin Stewart (Jacksonville), 13. Jimmy Neal (Addington), 14. David Hunt (Decatur), 15. Brianna Mahon (Sullivan) 16. Aaron Andruskevitch (Riverton), 17. Jason Harms (Riverton), 18. Scott Campbell (Galesburg), 19. Lucas Pejakovich (Godfrey), 20. Garrett Duff (Weldon)

OUTLAW HORNETS – 1. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 2. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 3. Steven Stine (Stonington), 4. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 5. Victor Overlin, 6. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 7. Dillon Justice (Harristown), 8. Tharen Reno (Springfield)

B-MODS – 1. Ethan Schnapp (Springfield), 2. Jim Lafferty (Carlinville), 3. Terry Reed (Decatur), 4. Bruce Boliard (Macon), 5. Thomas Reich (Springfield)

STOCK HORNETS – 1. Garth Luka (Blue Mound), 2. Brian Offer (Springfield), 3. Mike McChristy (Mt. Zion), 4. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 5. Joe McChristy, 6. William Deavers (Bloomington), 7. Benjamin McChristy (Mt. Zion), 8. Quintin Tippitt, 9. Roger Reed (Decatur), 10. Josh Bright (Decatur), 11. Dean Holt (Mt. Zion)

Permanent link to this article: