Riech ends dry spell with win at Macon Speedway on Casey’s/Armed Forces Night


MACON, Ill. – It had been a long time since Thomas Riech of Springfield made it to victory lane at Macon Speedway. How long?

He knew the date. It was Aug. 26, 2006. After a thrilling race at Macon Speedway Saturday, the Springfield driver held off Bobby Beiler in the street stocks division for the victory and a long overdue  celebration.

“It’s been a while,’’ Riech said. “We’re getting faster, and we want to run for a championship.’’

Beiler, of Blue Mound, is in the middle of the street stock championship race and nearly won again after grabbing the victory at Macon Speedway last weekend. He even joked with Riech about it.

“He told me that trophy was supposed (Beiler’s) but he let me have it,’’ Riech said.

David Crawley  Jr., of Decatur, won the Billingsley Towing Modifieds feature. Jeremy Nichols, of Shelbyville, was so hooked up, he rode around on three wheels through the corners, building a comfortable margin for the win.

Dillon Justice, of Harristown, took the win in Outlaw Hornets. Derek Peters of Pana, won the Stock Hornets feature. In the Illinois Lightning Sprints, Jed Ross, of Havana, roared through traffic for the win in the 20-lapper.

On Saturday, May 31, the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series returns to Macon Speedway and the POWRi Outlaw Micros battle with the Beach House Mini-Sprints on IHOP Night. It’s also Faster Pastor Night, when the race among local ministers is renamed the B.G. Nevitt Memorial.



Sportsman – 1. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 2. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 3. Curt Rhodes (Langleyville), 4. Doug Nevill (Dawson), 5. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 6. Phil Moreland (Assumption), 7. Michael Maestas (Lincoln), 8. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 9. Tom Graham (Stonington), 10. Cody Wickline (Assumption), 11. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville)

Street Stocks – 1. Thomas Reich (Springfield), 2. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 3. Gene Reed (Blue Mound), 4. Terry Reed (Decatur), 5. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 6. Josh Smith (Clinton), 7. Steve Ewing (Decatur), 8. Kaleb Wood (Sullivan), 9. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 10. Luke Force (Argenta), 11. Dustin Reed (Decatur), 12. Ronnie Burns (Cerro Gordo), 13. Zach Perryman (Decatur), 14. Brandon Dick (Decatur), 15. Jason Scrimpsher, 16. Greg Scribner, 17. Charles Biesenthal

Outlaw Hornets – 1. Dillon Justice (Harristown), 2. Brian Deavers (Bloomington), 3. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 4. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 5. Steven Stine (Stonington), 6. Victor Overlin, 7. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 8. Tharen Reno (Springfield), 9. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 10. Brandon Buatte (Mulberry Grove)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds – 1. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 2. Cory Daugherty (Blue Mound), 3. TD Burger (Saunemin), 4. Ethan Schnapp (Springfield), 5. Randy Huffman (Maroa), 6. Chad Sellers, 7. Jeff Graham (Stonington), 8. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 9. Danny Smith (Argenta), 10. Curtis Hartung (Decatur), 11. Rick Hamilton (Decatur), 12. Randy Spaugh (Decatur), 13. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 14. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 15. Zack Bunning (Decatur), 16. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 17. Jeff Ray (Springfield), 18. Norm Wood (Sullivan)

Illinois Lightning Sprint Series – 1. Jed Ross, 2. Austin Archdale, 3. Brad Funk, 4. Robby McQuinn, 5. Larry Eaglen, 6. Mark Billings, 7. Andrew Funk, 8. Terry Bolen, 9. T.J. Bolen, 10. Larry Eastin, 11. Jake Sollenberger, 12. Lucas Eastin, 13. Dave Baugh, Andy Baugh

Stock Hornets – 1. Derek Peters (Pana), 2. Benjamin McChristy (Mt. Zion), 3. Brian Offer (Springfield), 4. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 5. William Deavers (Bloomington), 6. Tory Lyons (Mt. Pulaski), 7. Dean Holt (Mt. Zion), 8. Luke Wright (Lincoln), 9. Garth Luka (Blue Mound), 10. Paul Peters (Pana), 11. Joseph McChristy (Mt. Zion), 12 Kenneth Reed (Decatur), 13. Mike McChristy (Mt. Zion), 14. Josh Bright (Decatur)


Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2014/05/riech-ends-dry-spell-with-street-stocks-victory-at-macon-speedway-on-caseysarmed-forces-night/