Crawley, Logue race to victories in 95Q Firecracker 40’s at Macon Speedway Saturday


MACON, Ill. – Two weeks ago in the Lite Beer Twin 50s, it wasn’t Dave Crawley, Jr.’s night. Involved in an accident midway through the 50-lapper, the Decatur driver had to wait to get a chance to return to victory lane at Macon Speedway.



Crawley held off Brian Belong of Springfield to win the 95Q Firecracker 40’s for Billingsley Towing Modifieds Saturday. Crawley, who took home the $700 check, was joined as a big winner by Cisco’s Kyle Logue, who took the Firecracker 40’s for late models and a sweep after winning the Lite Beer Twin 50’s feature two weeks ago, and he cashed the $1,500 payday that went to the winner.




Logue fought offer a late charge from Matt Taylor of Springfield. Logue is expected to return for the 34rd Annual Herald & Review 100 on July 10, part of the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals, and he’s apparently working his way out of a short retirement.



Nick Macklin was happy to return to Sportsman racing at Macon Speedway after the division hasn’t had a chance to race in recent weeks and he capture the checkered flag once again. Doug Nevill stayed close but couldn’t come through for the victory.

Bobby Beiler won again in the Street Stock class as he took all 15 laps without  a caution between the green flag and the checkered flag. Garth Luka won in the Stock Hornet division and Thad Gee took hold of the Outlaw Hornet feature.


Macon Speedway results.

Sportsman – 1. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 2. Doug Nevill, 3. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 4. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 5. Phil Moreland (Assumption), 6. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 7. Zach Rhodes, 8. Tom Graham (Stonington), 9. Terry Reed (Decatur).

Street Stock – 1. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 2. Terry Reed (Decatur), 3. George Ewing (Warrensburg), 4. Nick Justice (Harristown), 5. Larry Russell Jr. (Harristown), 6. Gene Reed (Blue Mound), 7. James Farley III (Springfield), 8. Roy Magee II (Springfield), 9. Jason Scrimphser, 10. Charles Biesenthal (Athens), 11. Luke Force (Argenta), 12. Dustin Reed (Decatur), 13. Ben Medaris (Decatur), 14. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 15. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 16. Jeffrey Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 17. Brandon Dick (Decatur), 18. Ronnie Burns (Cerro Gordo), 19. Billy Justice, Jr.

Billingsley Towing Modifeds – 1. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 2. Brian Bielong (Summerfield), 3. Jeff Ray (Springfield), 4. Randy Huffman (Maroa), 5. Ethan Schapp (Springfield), 6. Rick Lowe (Springfield), 7. Zack Bunning (Decatur), 8. Dave Eckel (Lovington) 9. Danny Smith (Argenta), 10. Curtis Hartung (Decatur), 11. Eric Hamilton (Macon), 12. Shane Tomlin (Pawnee), 13. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 14. Steve Ewing (Decatur), 15. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 16. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 17. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 18. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville)

Late Models –1. Kyle Logue (Cisco), 2. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 3. Ryan Little (Pleasant Plains), 4. Joseph Hughs (Pleasant Plains), 5. John Beck (Springfield), 6. Chuck Mitchell (Jacksonville), 7. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 8. Greg Kimmons (Pleasant Plains), 9. Kevin Crowder (Argenta), 10. Franky Martin (DuQuoin), 11. Ken VanDorn (New Berlin), 12. Jake Little (Pleasant Plains), 13. Dennis Vandermeersch (Springfield), 14. Stefan Bedinger (Taylorville), 15. Mike Hammerlee (St. Charles, MO), 16. Andrew Barnes (Assumption)

Outlaw Hornets – 1. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 2. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 3. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 4. Dillon Justice (Harristown), 5. Garrett Lewis (Decatur), 6. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 7. Steven Stine (Stonington), 8. Vernon Carlow (Springfield), 9. Victor Overlin, 10. Terry Myers (Springfield), 11. Nick Matherly (Decatur), 12. Stephanie Eskew (Springfield), 13. Tharen Reno (Springfield)

Stock Hornets –1. Garth Luka (Blue Mound), 2. Mike McChristy (Mt. Zion), 3. Luke Wright (Lincoln), 4. Kenneth Reed (Decatur), 5. Dean Holt (Mt. Zion), 6. William Deavers (Bloomington), 7. John Lewis, 8. Benjamin McChristy (Mt. Zion), 9. Brian Offer (Springfield), 10. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 11. Alan Salmons, 12. Josh Bright (Decatur, 13. Brady Reed, 14. Tory Lyons (Mt. Pulaski), 15. Damin Jones (Chestnut)


Permanent link to this article: