Beiler wins by a bumper, Spangler takes B.G. Nevitt Memorial Faster Pastor Race Saturday


MACON – Bobby Beiler didn’t lead much of the Street Stocks feature race, but he led when it counted the most.

After Steve Ewing led the entire race, Beiler roared around the final turn to pass Ewing andf win by a bumper during Kid’s Castle Night at Macon Speedway Saturday. Ewing, of Decatur, had led from the drop of the green flag, but Beiler, of Blue Mound, led when it counted the most.

In the Big Ten Series late model feature, Ryan Little, of Pleasant Plains, won the from the pole position despite attempts from a talented field to work past him. Eventually, Brian Diveley, of Springfield, finished second with Greg Kimmons, of Pleasant Plains, came across in third.

Nevitt Memorial

The B.G. Nevitt Memorial Faster Pastor Race field was Richard Chappell of Body of Christ (Macon), Mark Amenda of Mazon UMC, champion Rick Spangler of GT Church (Decatur), Doug Lowery of Maranatha (Decatur), J.J. Hairston of Galilee Baptist (Decatur) and Rod Hite of Destiny Fellowship (Moweaqua).


Another close finish thrilled the crowd in the Billingsley Towing Modifieds as Tommy Sheppard, Jr., of New Berlin, got the win as Ethan Schnapp, of Springfield, couldn’t hold the lead late and a flat tire doomed the night for Decatur’s Dave Crawley, Jr. late in the race as he was leading.

In Sportsman, Jeremy Nichols cruised to the win. The main battle was for second place as Scott Landers got the fourth turn last-lap pass to nip Tim Bedinger in a battle between two Taylorville drivers. The Outlaw Hornet feature was claimed by Decatur’s Jeremy Reed, and Brady Reed, of Decatur, won in the Stock Hornet class.

The crowd was fired up for the B.G. Nevitt Memorial Faster Pastor Race, renamed after the defending race champion from GT Church who passed away last summer. Pastor Rick Spangler defended the honor of his congregation and Nevitt by flying through the field from the fifth place starting position to win in convincing fashion, ahead of Rod Hite, of Destiny Fellowship. Richard Chappell, of Body of Christ Ministries, was third, with Mark Amenda, Mazon United Methodist Church,in fourth. J.J. Hairston, of Galilee Baptist, rolled to fifth, and Maranatha’s Doug Lowery finished sixth.


SPORTSMAN – 1. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 2. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 3. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 4. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 5. Doug Nevill (Dawson), 6. Timmy Dick (Monticello), 7. Wes O’Dell (Springfield), 8. Tom Graham (Stonington), 9. Phil Moreland (Assumption), 10. James Bedinger (Taylorville), 11. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville)

STREET STOCKS –1. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 2. Steve Ewing (Decatur), 3. Gene Reed (Blue Mound), 4. Nick Justice (Harristown), 5. Terry Reed (Decatur), 6. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 7. Larry Russell, Jr. (Harristown), 8. Zach Perryman (Decatur), 9. Greg Osman (Macon), 10. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 11. Luke Force (Argenta), 12. Roy Magee II (Springfield), 13. Ronnie Burns (Cerro Gordo), 14. Dustin Reed (Decatur). 15. Tony Reed (Decatur), 16. Jeffrey Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound)

BILLINGSLEY TOWING MODIFIEDS –1. Tommy Sheppard, Jr. (New Berlin), 2. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 3. Ethan Schnapp (Springfield), 4. Curt Rhodes (Langleyville), 5. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 6. Randy Huffman (Maroa), 7. Danny Smith (Argenta), 8. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 9. James Edens (Breese), 10. John Barnard (Sherman), 11. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 12. Jeff Graham (Stonington), 13. Dakota Ewing (Decatur), 14. Zack Bunning (Decatur), 15. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 16. Eric Hamilton (Macon), 17. John Holzhauer (Greenville), 18. Nick O’Dell (Kannapolis, NC), 19. Jeff Ray (Springfield), 20. Mike Ward (Pawnee), 21. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville)

OUTLAW HORNETS – 1. Jeremy Reed (Decatur), 2. Adam Webb (Decatur), 3. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 4. Dillon Justice (Harristown), 5. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 6. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 7. Garrett Lewis (Decatur), 8. Vernon Carlow (Springfield), 9. Steven Stine (Stonington), 10. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 11. Tharen Reno (Springfield), 12. Victor Overlin, 13. Nick Matherly (Decatur), 14. Jerad Matherly (Decatur)

BIG TEN SERIES LATE MODELS – 1. Ryan Little (Pleasant Plains), 2. Brian Diveley (Springfield), 3. Greg Kimmons (Pleasant Plains), 4. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 5. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 6. John Beck (Springfield), 7. Jason Zobrist (Highland), 8. Andrew Barnes (Assumption), 9. Ken Van Dorn (New Berlin), 10. Stefan Bedinger (Taylorville)

STOCK HORNETS –1. Brady Reed (Decatur), 2. Brian Offer (Springfield), 3. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 4. Benjamin McChristy (Mt. Zion), 5. Derek Peters (Pana), 6. Luke Wright (Lincoln), 7. Tory Lyons (Mt. Pulaski), 8. William Deavers (Bloomington), 9. Joseph McChristy (Mt. Zion), 10. Alan Salmons, 11. Paul Peters (Pana), 12. Garth Luka (Blue Mound), 13. Fred Reed, Sr. (Decatur), 14. Josh Bright (Decatur), 15. Dean Holt (Mt. Zion), 16. Brad Rexroad (Hammond)

B.G. NEVITT MEORIAL FASTER PASTOR – 1. Rick Spangler (GT Church), 2. Rod Hite (Destiny Fellowship), 3. Richard Chappell (Body of Christ), 4. Mark Amenda (Mazon UMC), 5. J.J. Hairston (Galilee Baptist), 6. Doug Lowery (Maranatha).

Permanent link to this article: