Indiana Sprint Week hits Terre Haute Action Track Wednesday with tight battle ongoing

    	     Wednesday May 22nd     Tony Hulman Classic     USAC Sprint Cars and UMP Modifieds     General Admission Gates Open: 5PM     Pit Gates Open: 4PM     Hot Laps: 6PM     Racing: 7PM     General Admission: $25     Infield: $15     Kids 10 & Under: FREE     Pit Pass: $35 - USAC Members: $30     (All times Eastern)

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. – Indiana Sprint Week concludes this week with four straight races Wednesday through Saturday. If the points race remains as tight as it is now, the finale at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt Saturday should be memorable.

Drivers Dave Darland, Chris Windom and Justin Grant are separated by just four points in the Indiana Sprint Week standings, following races last Friday and Saturday and Sunday night’s abbreviated event at Lawrenceburg Speedway which succumbed to rain after three heat races had been conducted.

Similarly, Darland has closed Brady Bacon’s AMSOIL USAC National Sprint lead to just three points going into the Don Smith Classic at the Terre Haute Action Track Wednesday. Tickets are $25 for the grandstands and $15 for the infield. Pit passes are $30. Gates open at 4 p.m. with racing at 7. Subsequent races are Thursday at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville, Friday at Bloomington Speedway and Saturday at Haubstadt.

Jon Standbrough earned his 16th career Indiana Sprint Week victory in Friday night’s 30-lap opener at Gas City I-69 Speedway. He led all 30 laps in the MP Environmental Services/Indiana Underground Maxim/Fisher to beat Grant, Windom, Tracy Hines and Chase Stockton.

Darland responded with his all-time leading 18th career ISW victory Saturday at Kokomo Speedway, passing Kevin Thomas, Jr., on lap six, then leading the rest of the way to beat Grant, Windom, Hunter Schuerenberg and Bryan Clauson.  Darland slipped behind Grant in turns one and two on the final lap but was able to regain the lead entering turn three and scored the narrow victory at the checkered flag.

Darland’s win also was his 51st in USAC National Sprint Car competition, now just one shy of Tom Bigelow’s all-time mark of 52.

Rain fell at Lawrenceburg Speedway Sunday after the third heat race and that was race subsequently cancelled. Stockton was the fast qualifier before weather interrupted the event.



Permanent link to this article: