Vandermeersch fires way to Sportsman Topless 40 win during Miles Chevy Fireman’s Ball


 MACON, Ill. – A Springfield firefighter took home the big win during Miles Chevrolet Fireman’s Ball Saturday at Macon Speedway.

Dennis Vandermeersch, a well-known, long-time driver as well as multi-time track champion and Springfield Mile Sportsman Nationals Champion, took the lead from Zach Rhodes and fought off Nick Macklin en route to the winner’s circle in Sportsman Topless 40 when the cars raced without a roof.

Danny Smith blew past Curt Rhodes and Guy Taylor to snag the checkered flag in the Billingsley Towing Modifieds. His racecar was locked into the bottom of the dirt track and took the win away from Rhodes, who had side-by-side racing with Taylor through the majority of the 20 laps.

Bobby Beiler once again reached victory lane and took home the $500 first place prize in the Big Ten Series Street Stock race. Terry Reed finished a distant second with Greg Osman third.

Dave Baugh was the feature winner in the Illinois Lightning Sprint Series, as open-wheel racing returned to Macon Speedway.  Jeremy Reed returned from a broken arm to win in the Outlaw Hornets and Dean Holt snatched the win in the Stock Hornet class. BJ Deal of Brownstown won his first B-Mod feature at Macon Speedway.

Dawn Reynolds charged through the field to win the Bud Light Ladies Night race among the gals from Starship Billiards. Holly Vinson was second. They both advanced to the Bud Light Ladies Night championship to join Jenny Cramer and Dana Damery of Rocco’s on Sept. 13. Woody’s (Aug. 9) and Pop’s Place (Aug. 30) will also compete to earn spots in the championship.

Stephanie Bender was third in the race with the Starship girls, followed by Sarah Griffith and Sunzie Davis.

Next Saturday, Kid’s Castle Night features Big Ten Series late models, and the B.G. Nevitt Memorial Faster Pastor Race is renamed after one of the city’s leaders, who passed away last summer. Nevitt is the defending champion of the race,, and pastors will hop into hornets to race and thrill their congregations.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing at 7.




Sportsman Topless 40 – 1. Dennis Vandermeersch (Springfield), 2. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 3. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 4. Timmy Dick (Monticello), 5. Dustin Mounce (Pontiac), 6. Doug Nevill (Dawson), 7. Phil Moreland (Assumption), 8. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 9. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville), 10. Tom Graham (Stonington), 11. Michael Maestas (Lincoln), 12. Nick Justice (Harristown), 13. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 14. Cody Wickline (Assumption)


Billingsley Towing Modifieds – 1. Danny Smith (Argenta), 2. Curt Rhodes (Langleyville), 3. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 3. Ethan Schnapp (Springfield), 5. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 6. Jeff Graham (Stonington), 7. Rick Lowe (Springfield), 8. Zack Bunning (Decatur), 9. Dakota Ewing, 10. Lark Robertson (Shelbyville).


Big Ten Street Stocks – 1. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 2. Terry Reed (Decatur), 3. Greg Osman (Macon), 4. Thomas Reich (Springfield), 5. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 6. Zach Perryman (Decatur), 7. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 8. Darrell Dick (Bloomington), 9. Luke Force (Argenta), 10. Dustin Reed (Decatur), 11.Roy Magee II (Springfield), 12. Ronnie Burns (Cerro Gordo), 13. Gene Reed (Blue Mound), 14. George Ewing (Warrensburg), 15. Nick Justice (Harristown)


Illinois Lightning Sprint Series – 1. Dave Baugh, 2. Gedd Ross, 3. Andy Baugh, 4. Austin Archdale, 5. Brent Burrows, 6. Lucas Eastin, 7. Jake Sollenberger, 8. Larry Eastin, 9. Terry Bolen, 10. TJ Bolen


Outlaw Hornets – 1. Jeremy Reed (Decatur), 2. Rickey Carriker, 3. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 4. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 5. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 6. Garrett Lewis (Decatur), 7. Brian Deavers (Bloomington), 8. Vernon Carlow (Springfield), 9. Tharen Reno (Springfield), 10. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 11. Steven Stine (Stonington), 12. Jerad Matherly (Decatur), 13. Victor Overlin, 14. Nick Matherly (Decatur), 15. Dillon Justice (Harristown)


B-Mods – 1. BJ Deal (Brownstown), 2. Ethan Schnapp (Springfield), 3. Thomas Reich (Springfield), 4. Jeff Gill (Shelbyville), 5. Jeffrey Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 6. Mitch Ringler, 7. Terry Reed (Decatur)


Stock Hornets –1. Dean Holt (Mt. Zion), 2. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 3. Benjamin McChristy (Mt. Zion), 4. William Deavers (Bloomington), 5. Luke Wright (Lincoln), 6. Alan Salmons, 7. Josh Bright (Decatur), 8. Victor Overlin, Jr., 9. Kenneth Reed (Decatur), 10. Mike McChristy (Mt. Zion)

Permanent link to this article: