Owens Claims St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100

Owens Victory LaneMACON – Jimmy Owens made himself right at home Thursday at legendary Macon Speedway in the St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 for Lucas Oil Late Models.

The Newport, Tenn., driver held off challenges from a pack of drivers who have plenty of experience around the Macon Speedway high-banked fifth-mile oval. So much for the guys protecting the home soil.

Owens took the checkered flag in the 100-lapper and the $12,000 check as the nation’s top late model dirt series made its second appearance at the historic oval. Owens, a three-time Lucas Oil Series national champion, added a win at Macon to a list that also has World 100 and Eldora Dream 100 victories by staying in front of the pack despite seven restarts. When they took the green flag, the pace was furious.

“It doesn’t take too long here, especially if we get the cautions out of the way,’’ Owens said.

Owens reached victory lane despite challenges from Jason Feger, the Bloomington driver who finished second. Shannon Babb, of Moweaqua, was fourth ahead of Ryan Unzicker, of El Paso. Devin Moran, of Dresden, Ohio, placed third.

At one point, Babb, Feger and Unzicker – who have plenty of laps around Macon Speedway – were lined up behind Owens. Owens took the lead on lap 58 when race leader Bobby Pierce Jr. and second place Billy Moyer pitted during a caution because of flat tires.

“I seen that,’’ Owens said. “I hate it for them guys. We had a pretty good car. We were biding our time. Lapped cars are always an issue here.

“I was able to save my tires for the end. We were able to cruise a bit and keep the car underneath us.’’

The star-studded field featured a million worth of machinery and the top 15 drivers in the Lucas Oil Late Model Series, including Moyer, the Hall of Famer Moyer from Batesville, Ark., who set a Macon Speedway track record on a cool night with a lap of 10.228 seconds around the fifth-mile high-banked track.

In the UMP modified feature, Cory Daugherty, of Blue Mound, held off a powerful field to lead all 25 laps from the pole position for the victory and the $1,000 paycheck. His biggest competition came from Kenny Wallace, the NASCAR personality and Macon Speedway co-owner.

Wallace started second, fell back after an early hiccup and charged back through the field to keep Daugherty honest.

Chris Bolyard of Girard, took home the victory in the B-Mod feature.

Macon Speedway will be back for another action packed night this coming Saturday, May 2 with Bud Light Ladies night.  All ladies receive 1/2 off admission, meaning tickets are just $6 each.  6 divisions of action will be there.  Pro Late Models, Billingsley Towing UMP Modifieds, B-Mods, Big 10 Street Stocks, Hornets, and Micros will be in action.

Pit gates will open at 4:00, general admission gates at 5:00, and racing action at 7:00.

For more info, visit maconracing.com.


  1. Jimmy Owens (Newport, Tenn.), 2. Jason Feger (Bloomington), 3. Devin Moran (Dresden, Ohio), 4. Shannon Babb (Moweaqua), 5. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso), 6. Chris Brown (Spring, Texas), 7. Brandon Sheppard (New Berlin), 8. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood), 9. Don O’Neal (Martinsville, Ind.), 10. Eddie Carrier Jr. (Salt Rock, W.V.), 11. Jonathan Davenport (Blairsville, Ga.), 12. Greg Kimmons (Springfield), 13. Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, Tenn.), 14. Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, Fla.), 15. Denis Erb Jr. (Carpentersville), 16. Steve Francis (Ashland, Ky.), 17. Mike Benedum, 18. Jared Landers, 19. Kevin Weaver (Gibson City), 20. Levi Kissinger, 21. Billy Moyer (Batesville, Ark.), 22. Ryan Little (Springfield), 23. Daryn Klein, 24. Jake Little, 25. Terry Babb (Decatur).

UMP Modifieds

  1. Cory Daugherty (Blue Mound), 2. Keny Wallace (Herman, Mo.), 3. David Crawley Jr. (Decatur), 4. Rusty Griffaw (Festus, Mo). 5. Randy Shuman (Danville), 6. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown), 7. Chad Evans (Mattoon), 8. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 9. Jeff Ray, 10. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 11. Jeff Graham (Stonington). 12. Rick Weitkamp (Springfield), 13. Jeremy Conaway, Springfield), 14. Shawn Vaughn (Loami), 15. Ethan Schnapp (Springfield), 16. Rodney Spaugh (Decatur), 17. TD Burger (Saunemin), 18. Rick Hamilton (Decatur), 19. Clark Rovertson (Shelbyville), 20. David Brandenburg, 21. Troy Dodson (Cerro Gordo), 22. Curt Rhodes (Langleyville), 23. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville).

UMP B-Mods

  1. Chris Bolyard (Girard), 2. Justin Dubin (Mulberry Grove), 3. Jim Lafferty (Carlinville), 4. Wade Glover (Brighton). 5, Steve Phillips (Neogoa), 6. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 7. Doug Tye (Troy), 8. Mitch Ringler, 9. Deave Eckel (Lovington), 10. B.J. Deal, 11. Thomas Riech (Springfield), 12. Eric Brackett (Brighton), 13. Tim Hancock (Mt. Olive), 14. Terry Reed (Decatur), 15. James Farley (Springfield).

Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2015/05/3778/