Five New Winners Grace Macon Victory Lane

(Macon, IL)-Another exciting night of racing is in the history books of the 70th season of stock car racing at Macon Speedway. Late passing and fast racing led to great feature-race finishes with six divisions going for the checkered flag.

Myles Moos of Hartsburg made a late-race pass to take the Pro Late Model feature from Tommy Sheppard, Jr. The pass came following a caution with Sheppard holding the lead strongly until the yellow flag came out. Moos took to the bottom and edged Sheppard for the final laps and the win.

Former champion reigned supreme in the Billingsley Towing Modifieds as Rodney Standerfer was glued to the bottom of the 1/5th mile dirt oval and fought off Dave Crawley, Jr.’s rush to the lead. Jeff Graham had a strong third-place finish, stopping TD Burger and Ethan Schnapp from moving up in the field.

Bobby Beiler was also stuck to the bottom of the track and won the Big Ten Series Street Stock race. He was able to grab the lead early and hold on as Terry Reed and Kyle Waters were closing in on the top spot. Brian Dasenbrock would finish ahead of Steve Ewing.

Jeremy Reed was the strongest Hornet of the night as he and racing buddy Adam Webb traded the lead early but Reed’s 4-cylinder was just too much and went on to grab the checkered flag.

Two races that went quickly due to zero cautions were the B-Mod and Beach House Micro Sprint features. Four cars raced closely for the lead but Wade Glover came out on top with Tom Riech and Jim Farley III finishing behind. Jeremy Camp made quick and easy work of the Beach House Micro Sprint field, leading all 20 laps and finished the race leading by half-a-lap.

In the return of the Bud Light Ladies Night series, Rocco’s Bar was featured and Jennifer Cramer stepped on the gas and claimed the victory and a spot in the Championship Race later in the season.

Pro Late Models–1. Myles Moos (Hartsburg), 2. Tommy Sheppard, Jr. (New Berlin), 3. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 4. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 5. Dakota Ewing (Decatur), 6. Braden Johnson (Moweaqua), 7. Victor Overlin (Decatur), 8. Steve Ewing (Decatur), 9. Shawn Ziemer (Boody), 10. Matt Beadles (Clinton)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds–1. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown Hills), 2. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 3. Jeff Graham (Taylorville), 4. TD Burger (Saunemin), 5. Ethan Schnapp (Springfield), 6. Curt Rhodes (Taylorville), 7. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 8. Randy Spaugh (Decatur), 9. Rick Hamilton (Decatur), 10. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville)

Street Stocks–1. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 2. Terry Reed (Decatur), 3. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 4. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 5. Steve Ewing (Decatur), 6. Luke Force (Argenta), 7. Greg Osman (Macon), 8. Toby Kreher (Lovington), 9. Ben Medaris (Decatur), 10. Tharen Reno (Springfield)

Hornets–1. Jeremy Reed (Decatur), 2. Adam Webb (Decatur), 3. Brad Rexroad (Hammond), 4. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 5. Garrett Lewis (Decatur), 6. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 7. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 8. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 9. Steven Stine (Stonington), 10. Matthew Cottrill (Riverton)

B-Mods–1. Wade Glover (Brighton), 2. Tom Riech (Springfield), 3. Jim Farley III (Springfield), 4. Eric Brackett (Brighton), 5. Ryan Timmons (Centralia)

Beach House Micro Sprints–1. Jeremy Camp (Blue Mound), 2. Brad McDaniel (Carbondale), 3. Ryan Frantz (Arthur), 4. Gabe Verardi (Taylorville), 5. Michael Bustamante (Taylorville)

Permanent link to this article: