Macon Speedway Drivers Race To Memorial Day Checkers

(Macon, IL)–Macon Speedway continued its’ longstanding tradition of presenting dirt track racing on Memorial Day and drivers near and far from the 70-year-old oval put on a memorial show.

With NASCAR stars and Macon Speedway co-owners Ken Schrader and Kenny Wallace in attendance and in the racing mood in the Billingsley Towing Modifieds, the Macon Speedway regulars had to be at their best. Schrader was able to keep in front of Dave Crawley, Jr. for a heat win and Wallace was scored second when Curt Rhodes kept on the to side to win in the second heat race.

But the feature belonged to Schrader. Starting on the pole position, Schrader was making easy work of the field as Rhodes, Crawley and Wallace trailed and raced for the runner-up spot as the long-time veteran led all 20 laps. Rhodes and Crawley did finish ahead of Wallace and Jeff Graham was scored fifth.

The Pro Late Models raced in one of the ten events known as the Big Ten Series, where different tracks will host a combined ten events and a point fund will be decide a end-of-year champion. Eight of the best ten finishes will be scored for the racers.

Myles Moos came into Monday night with a feature win in 2015 at Macon Speedway and was leading for the first ten laps of the Pro Late Model feature. Following a caution, Guy Taylor, Saturday night’s feature winner, came on like a house of fire and threatened to tear down the concrete wall with his high-side racing and took the lead. Taylor never trailed again or looked close to giving up the lead. Moos was runner-up. Macon Speedway veteran driver and Late Model champion Dick Taylor was scored third with Nick Bauman and Roben Huffman finishing the top five.

Jordon Smith from Villa Grove made his first appearance at Macon Speedway in a few years and didn’t have a good memory of the place. That memory was erased as the checkered flag was handed to him after leading all 15 laps of the Street Stock feature event. Plenty of competition followed but none were as close to the green car that stretched his lead lap-after-lap along the high groove. Darrell Dick and Kyle Waters were able to finish second and third.

The B-Modifieds were part of the Memorial Day racing event and Steve Phillips, native of Neoga, claimed his first checkered flag. Phillips has been a long-time racer but won his first event as a B-Modified racer at Macon Speedway.

Evan Weyant is a third-generation dirt track racer and the 20-year-old followed in the Weyant family name and won a feature event at Macon Speedway. Racing in the Beach House Mini Sprints for the last eight years, top five finishes have been a regular occurrence for Weyant but the win was his first.

For the second straight racing event, Adam Webb took care of business and won the 12-lap 4-cylinder Hornet feature. The former National Hornet Champion was trailed by Brian Deavers and Korie Neltner.The next Macon Speedway event is on Saturday, May 30th, when the track honors the Armed Forces with Armed Forces Night. Military personnel with proper ID will receive 1/2-off admission. Military personnel in uniform will be admitted free. A full stock car racing is scheduled.

Pro Late Models–1. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 2. Myles Moos (Hartsburg), 3. Dick Taylor (Springfield), 4. Nick Bauman (New Berlin), 5. Roben Huffman (Midland City), 6. Dakota Ewing (Decatur), 7. Matt Beadles (Clinton), 8. Jackie Campbell (Decatur), 9. Cody McGuire, 10. Shawn Ziemer (Decatur)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds–1. Ken Schrader (Fenton, MO), 2. Curt Rhodes (Taylorville), 3. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 4. Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, MO), 5. Jeff Graham (Taylorville), 6. Tim Luttrell (Decatur), 7. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 8. Chris Morefield, 9. Ethan Schnapp (Springfield), 10. Wilson Prater

Street Stocks–1. Jordon Smith (Villa Grove), 2. Darrell Dick (Bloomington), 3. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 4. Tyler Benson (Creve Coeur), 5. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 6. Jason Schrimpsher (Decatur), 7. Tharen Reno (Springfield), 8. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 9. Terry Reed (Decatur), 10. Josh Bourland

Beach House Mini Sprints–1. Evan Weyant, 2. Zac Taylor, 3. Garrett Duff, 4. Tyler Day, 5. Aaron Andruskevitch, 6. Gabe Verardi, 7. Jimmy Miller, 8. Austin Stewart, 9. Paul Day, 10. Scott Justice

B-Modifieds–1. Steve Phillips, 2. Tom Reich, 3. Jim Farley III, 4. Dave Eckel, 5. Tim Bedinger, 6. Ryan Timmons, 7. Brad Bedinger, 8. Roy Magee II

Hornets–1. Adam Webb, 2. Brian Deavers, 3. Korie Neltner, 4. Shane Kelly, 5. Thad Gee, 6. John Bright, Jr., 7. Steven Stine, 8. Marty Sullivan, 9. Ben McChristy, 10. Austin Wickline

Permanent link to this article: