Graham, Beiler, & Webb Among Macon Point Leaders

It may feel like the racing season at Macon (IL) Speedway has just begun, due to four early season rainouts, however, this coming Saturday, June 6 will mark the tenth event on the 2015 schedule.  Many are already keeping a close eye on the points, hoping to become track champions.

After five completed race events, Stonington, IL driver Jeff Graham, leads the Billingsley Towing UMP Modified standings by 18 over David Crawley, Jr.  Clark Robertson, Rodney Standerfer, and Rick Hamilton complete the top five in the Mods.

The Pro Late Model division has been an exciting regular addition to the Macon Speedway classes.  The class has grown as the season as played out, going from 6 cars on opening night to 18 the last two events.  Berlin, IL driver Tommy Sheppard, Jr. leads the way in points by 20 over Blue Mound, IL driver Bobby Beiler.  Braden Johnson, Guy Taylor, and Kevin Crowder complete the top five.

In UMP Street Stock competition, Pro Late Model point runner-up Bobby Beiler sits atop the championship chase.  Beiler’s lead, though, is just eight points over Decatur, IL wheelman Terry Reed.  Kyle Waters, Brian Dasenbrock, and Jason Scrimpsher are all within striking distance.

Another class that is in action just about every night at the central Illinois 1/5-mile is the UMP front wheel drive Hornets.  Decatur, IL has been dominant so far this season, claiming numerous wins and taking a 22 point lead.  John Bright, Jr., also from Decatur, is second.  Steven Stine, Thad Gee, and Michael Gossett rounds out the top five.

The B-Mods, a part time class, will be on the schedule for this coming Saturday.  Springfield, IL driver Thomas Riech will look to extend his point lead.  It currently is at twelve over James Farley, III, also of Springfield.  Wade Glover, Steve Phillips, and Ryan Timmons are in the top five.

Saturday night, June 6 at Macon will be busy with the two POWRi classes in addition to a Faster Pastor race and four other divisions of racing.  Joining the POWRi Midgets and Micros will be the Billingsley Towing Modifieds, B-Mods, Street Stocks, and Hornets.

Pit gates open Saturday, June 6 at 3:00, grandstands at 5:00, hotlaps at 6:00, and racing action will take the green at 7:00.  Adult admission is $15, while children 11 and under are free.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.


Billingsley Towing UMP Modifieds (Top 10)
1)Jeff Graham-Stonington, IL 248 2)David Crawley, Jr.-Decatur, IL 230 3)Clark Robertson-Shelbyville, IL 216 4)Rodney Standerfer-Germantown, IL 212 5)Rick Hamilton-Decatur, IL 200 6)Randy Spaugh-Decatur, IL 194 7)Joe Strawkas-Buffalo, IL 188 8)Curt Rhodes-Langleyville, IL 182 9)Zach Rhodes-Taylorville, IL 180 10)Ethan Schnapp-Springfield, IL 170

UMP Pro Late Models (Top 10)
1)Tommy Sheppard, Jr.-Berlin, IL 214 2) Bobby Beiler-Blue Mound, IL 194 3)Braden Johnson-Stonington, IL 184 4)Guy Taylor-Springfield, IL 174 5)Kevin Crowder-Argenta, IL 170 6)Victor Overlin-Decatur, IL 162 7)Dakota Ewing-Decatur, IL 150 8)Matt Beadles-Clinton, IL 142 9)Myles Moos-Lincoln, IL 118 10)Shawn Ziemer-Boody, IL 112

UMP Street Stocks (Top 10)
1)Bobby Beiler-Blue Mound, IL 226 2)Terry Reed-Decatur, IL 218 3)Kyle Waters-Oreana, IL 216 4)Brian Dasenbrock-Decatur, IL208 5)Jason Scrimpsher-Decatur, IL 176 6)Tharen Reno-Springfield, IL 162 7)Jeffery Reed, Jr.-Blue Mound, IL 160 8)Greg Osman-Macon, IL 158 9)Toby Kreher-Lovington, IL 156 10)Nick Justice-Harristown, IL 114

UMP Sportsman (Top 5)
1)Timmy Dick-Monticello, IL 60 2)Jeremy Nichols-Shelbyville, IL 58 3)Doug Nevill-Springfield, IL 56 4)Danny Smith-Argenta, IL 54 5)Tom Graham-Stonington, IL 52

UMP Hornets (Top 10)
1)Adam Webb-Decatur, IL 238 2)John Bight, Jr.-Decatur, IL 216 3)Steven Stine-Stonington, IL 198 4)Thad Gee-Bloomington, IL 194 5)Michael Gossett-Decatur, IL 156 6)Ben McChristy-Mt. Zion, IL 144 7)Brad Rexroad-Hammond, IL 132 8)Matt Boggs-Unknown, IL 128 9)Marty Sullivan-Decatur, IL 126 10)Austin Wickline-Harristown, IL 120 10)Matthew Cottrill-Riverton, IL 120

UMP B-Mods (Top 10)
1)Thomas Riech-Springfield, IL 156 2)James Farley, III 144 3)Wade Glover-Bighton, IL 114 4)Steve Phillips-Neoga, IL 112 5)Ryan Timmons-Centralia, IL 102 6)Tim Bedinger-Taylorville, IL 102 7)Dave Eckel-Lovington, IL 98 8)Roy MaGee, II 96 9)Eric Brackett-Brighton, IL 92 10)Chris Bolyard-Girard, IL 60

Permanent link to this article: