Standerfer Claims Second Straight Feature Win

(Macon, IL) Rodney Standerfer ran the race of his life Saturday night at Macon Speedway, as he held off Macon Speedway co-owner Ken Schrader for his second consecutive feature win. Coming off a 50-lap victory in the Billingsley Towing Modifieds, Standerfer was leading all the way until a caution flag brought Schrader close. Standerfer used excellent skills through the turns to stay ahead of the NASCAR superstar coming out of the turns to stay a bumper ahead. Garnering strong finishes were Chad Evans and Curt Rhodes as they placed third and fourth respectively.

Bobby Beiler went the full 20 laps for the Big Ten Street Stock feature win and gained some ground in the Big Ten standings. Jeremiah Hoadley drove a strong second place car along with Terry Reed, who pulled in on lap 11. Reed drove back through the field to third.  Kyle Waters was able to come home fourth, while Greg Osman was scored fifth.

Guy Taylor took the lead from Kevin Crowder in the Pro Late Model feature, on the ninth lap, and cruised to another feature win. Matt Taylor took second from Crowder and Tommy Sheppard, Jr., who finished ahead of Roben Huffman.

The Beach House Mini Sprints saw Evan Weyant pick up his second straight win at Macon Speedway. It was a no-doubter win, while second place was up for grabs with Aaron Andruskevitch, Tyler Day, Paul Day and Scott Justice all in the race for spots second through fifth.

The 4-cylinder Hornets was a feature attraction, with a special 20-lap race that saw Brady Reed take the checkered flag. He was shadowed by Adam Webb for the majority of the race.  Both Reed and Webb started in the third row and jetted to the front and ran 1-2 weaving through the lapped traffic.

Macon Speedway was also home to the University Dogs Hot Dog Eating Contest which saw five contestants scarfing down wieners in a short time.

Next Saturday night will feature fireworks and special 40-lap features for the Late Models and Billingsley Towing Modifieds in the 95Q Firecracker 40s.

Results For Macon Speedway

Pro Late Models—1. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 2. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 3. Kevin Crowder (Argenta), 4. Tommy Sheppard, Jr. (New Berlin), 5. Roben Huffman (Midland City), 6. Levi Ashby, 7. Chase Porter (Highland), 8. Victor Overlin (Decatur), 9. Shawn Ziemer (Boody), 10. Nick Justice (Harristown)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds—1. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown), 2, Ken Schrader (Fenton, MO), 3. Chad Evans (Mattoon), 4. Curt Rhodes (Taylorville), 5. Rob Lee, 6. Steve Ewing (Decatur), 7. Jeff Graham (Taylorville), 8. Norm Wood (Sullivan), 9. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 10. Jeff Ray (Springfield)

Street Stocks—1. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 2. Jeremiah Hoadley (Forsyth), 3. Terry Reed (Decatur), 4. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 5. Greg Osman (Macon), 6. Jeff Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 7. Terry Reed, Sr. (Decatur), 8. Jason Scrimpsher (Decatur), 9. Lance Johnson (Clinton), 10. Tharen Reno (Springfield)

Beach House Mini Sprints—1. Evan Weyant (Sherman), 2. Aaron Andruskevitch (Riverton), 3. Tyler Day (Atwood), 4. Paul Day (Atwood), 5. Scott Justice (Toledo), 6. Tony Clifton (Decatur), 7. Michael Brummitt (Mt. Zion), 8. Tyler Nichols, 9. Jeff Beasley (Urbana), 10. Eric Shelton (Decatur)

Hornets—1. Brady Reed (Decatur), 2. Adam Webb (Decatur), 3. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 4. Greg Garrison, 5. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 6. Steven Stine (Blue Mound), 7. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 8. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 9. Matthew Reed (Blue Mound), 10. Brian Offer (Springfield)

Permanent link to this article: