Standerfer Continues Macon Hot Streak

Rodney Standerfer was at it once again at Macon Speedway. Leading through the 40-lap Billingsley Towing Modifieds feature, Standerfer had another top driver on his rear bumper but could not find a way past the Germantown native. Last week, it was Ken Schrader, NASCAR driver and co-owner, this week it was popular favorite, Dave Crawley, Jr. Crawley trailed through the entire 95Q Firecracker 40’s and unfortunately did not finish due to a broken race car.
The Pro Late Model 40-lapper of the 95Q Firecracker 40’s was another win for Springfield’s Guy Taylor. Taylor took the lead from Roben Huffman on the 19th lap and never looked back.
The Street Stock feature was also a close finish with Terry Reed edging out the returning Larry Russell, Jr., a former track champion. The race was side-by-side with Russell holding the lead until late in the race when Reed made an aggressive move in the final turn to gain the victory.
Evan Weyant dominated the Beach House Mini Sprint field for a third straight appearance, vying for momentum into next week’s two-day POWRi Midgets and Micro Sprint showcase.
Adam Webb got a front row starting spot in the 4-cylinder Hornet feature and blasted out to a big lead and nobody was able to catch up in the 15-lap win.
Fans were entertained by an intermission fireworks display. Another fireworks display awaits fans Friday night during the two-day POWRi show.
Pro Late Models–1. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 2. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 3. Jose Parga (Auburn), 4. Brent Lewis (Harrisburg), 5. Tommy Sheppard, Jr. (New Berlin)
Billingsley Towing Modifieds–1. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown), 2. TD Burger (Saunemin), 3.  Ryan Driemeyer (Pocohontas), 4. Tommy Sheppard, Jr. (New Berlin), 5. Curt Rhodes (Taylorville)
Street Stocks–1. Terry Reed (Decatur), 2. Larry Russell, Jr. (Harristown), 3. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 4. JD Evans (Mattoon), 5. Jeffrey Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound)
Beach House Mini Sprints–1. Evan Weyant (Sherman), 2. Garrett Duff (Weldon), 3. Jeff Beasley (Urbana), 4. Eric Shelton (Decatur), 5. Tyler King (Decatur)
Hornets–1. Adam Webb (Decatur), 2. Jeremy Reed (Decatur), 3. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 4. Steven Stine (Blue Mound), 5. Michael Gossett (Decatur)

Permanent link to this article: