Jones Claims MOWA Win With Macon Speedway Photo Finish

(Macon, IL)–One time per season, the MOWA sprint cars come to Macon Speedway during the Illinois Sprint Week and the 410 winged sprint cars put on an amazing show this past Saturday night.

Cory Bruns of Lincoln was set to have a great race in the 25-lap A-Main feature event. Leading through the opening nine laps, he was slowed by lapped cars and was passed by dash winner Adam Jones and in his attempt to regain the lead in the fourth turn, Bruns spun out and the caution flag came out. Jones took off with the lead and was chased down by Parker Price-Miller, who got the lead with the slide job in the fourth turn of the 13th lap. Jones would once again bounce back in the lead on the white flag lap and coming from the fourth turn Price-Miller performed another slide job but could not make it hold as a side-by-side finish would go to Jones from Wright City, Mo.

Terry Reed of Decatur continues to dominate the Street Stock class at Macon Speedway. Starting in the second row, Reed made the pass for the lead on Brian Dasenbrock on the sixth lap and was hounded all the way to checkered flag by Greg Osman, Bobby Beiler and Kyle Waters. Reed, who won the feature race Wednesday evening at the Christian County Fair 25-lap special feature, grabbed his second checkered flag of the week.

Another dominator in divisions has been Rodney Standerfer in the Billingsley Towing Modifieds. Getting a front row starting spot and a short challenge from polesitter TD Burger, Standerfer took off and won by a quarter of a lap over Burger and Curt Rhodes snatched third from Chad Evans at the finish line.

Jeremy Nichols got his first Sportsman feature win of 2015. He was runner up to Timmy Dick but by the fourth lap, Dick was caught up in the cushion of mud near the wall of the second turn and stalled out to bring out the yellow flag. Nichols drove away and got his second checkered flag of the week after winning the 25-lap feature Wednesday night in Taylorville.

In the 4-cylinder Hornets, newcomer Rickey Carriker jumped in the lead and flew away from the field to take the feature race win. Brian Deavers got close but ran out of laps before being able to catch Carriker.

Macon Speedway hosted a series race for the Illinois Lightning Sprint Series and Andy Baugh was on the gas from the green flag to win both the heat and the 15-lap feature race.

The inaugural KerbyStrong100 starts the month of August at Macon Speedway with a special $2,000-to-win Super Late Model 50-lapper with $700-to-win for the Billingsley Towing Modifieds and $600-to-win for the Sportsman division as the track honors the memory of former driver Kerby Damery, who passed away in February due to cancer. Street Stocks, Hornets and the Beach House Mini Sprints will also make up the full show.

MOWA Sprints–1. Adam Jones (Wright City, Mo.), 2. Parker Price-Miller (Kokomo, In.), 3. Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, Ok.), 4. Jake Blackhurst (Hanna City, Il.), 5. Jim Moughan (Springfield, Il.), 6. Chris Urish (Elkhart, Il.), 7. Logan Faucon (Elkhart, Il.), 8. AJ Bruns (Lincoln, Il.), 9. Paul Nienhiser (Chapin, Il.), 10. Ben Waggoner (Emden, Il.)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds–1. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown), 2. TD Burger (Saunemin), 3. Curt Rhodes (Langleyville), 4. Chad Evans (Mattoon), 5. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 6. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 7. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 8. Norm Wood (Sullivan), 9. Tim Luttrell (Riverton), 10. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo)

Sportsman–1. Jeremy Nichols (Shelbyville), 2. Danny Smith (Argenta), 3. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 4. Phil Moreland (Assumption), 5. Tyler Blankenship (Vandalia), 6. Timmy Dick (Monticello), 7. Tom Graham (Stonington), 8. James Bedinger (Taylorville)

Street Stocks–1. Terry Reed (Decatur), 2. Greg Osman (Macon), 3. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 4. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 5. Jason Scrimpsher (Decatur), 6. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 7. John Farris (Marquette Heights), 8. Jeffrey Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 9. Jake Montgomery (East Peoria), 10. Randy Billingsley (East Peoria)

Hornets–1. Rickey Carriker (Wood River), 2. Brian Deavers (Bloomington), 3. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 4. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 5. Steven Stine (Blue Mound), 6. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 7. Matthew Reed (Blue Mound)

Illinois Lightning Sprint Series–1. Andy Baugh (Mason City), 2. Austin Archdale (Springfield), 3. Robbie McQuin (Springfield), 4. Jed Ross (Havana), 5. Brandon Smith (Mason City), 6. Brett Davis (Auburn), 7. Chase McDermond (Springfield), 8. Jacob Sollenberger (Canton), 9. AJ Hill (Peoria), 10. Dave Baugh (Mason City)

Permanent link to this article: