Mitchell Takes Big Ten Late Model Checkers In Thriller

(Macon, IL)–Chuck Mitchell got an early birthday present Saturday night at Macon Speedway. His first Midwest Big Ten Late Model feature win of the year was just the gift he was looking for. Getting to start on the front row, Mitchell stuck to the top groove and hugged the cushion for the duration of the 25-lap feature race. The race was his to win until lapped traffic pulled the second place car into a battle.  Current Midwest Big Ten point standings leader, Brian Diveley did all he could, following a late restart, but could not take away the lead and Mitchell won by a slim margin in a great side-by-side battle

Rodney Standerfer graced victory lane in the Billingsley Towing Modifieds once again. Failing to win on July 4th and following back-to-back rainouts, Standerfer was back on top and was more proud of this win than any other because his father, and long-time Macon Speedway racer, was in attendance to watch and enjoy the moment.  It was Standerfer’s fourth win in the last five races.

Terry Reed did it again in the Street Stock class but had a close call with Jeremiah Hoadley who closed the gap but ran out of laps before getting a chance at the checkered flag. Brian Dasenbrock had a strong finish from the middle of the pack to outlast Greg Osman for third.

Justin Durbin traveled north from Vandalia to win the B-Mod heat and feature races. Durbin was fourth in the heat and looked like he would finish deep in the field before some daring moves allowed him to hop ahead of second and third and eventually the leader. The heat win set Durbin on the pole where he led all 15 laps and kept a safe distance from second place finisher Tim Hancock.

Adam Webb won the Macon Speedway 4-cylinder Hornet feature the last time the division was in action. In this class, that means starting no further than tenth place in the following show’s feature event. He did that and with the 15 laps to follow, he zigged and zagged through the field and caught up to Jeremy Reed and leader Michael Gossett. Following a caution, Webb got the lead on the last lap and dashed away with his second straight victory.

Macon Speedway wishes to thank the nightly sponsor Kid’s Castle and looks forward to the next Macon Speedway program Saturday night when the MOWA sprint cars invade the 1/5th-mile dirt track.

Late Models–1. Chuck Mitchell (Jacksonville), 2. Brian Diveley (Springfield), 3. Bobby Dauderman (Alhambra), 4. Ryan Little (Pleasant Plains), 5. Greg Kimmons (Pleasant Plains), 6. Danny Smith (Argenta), 7. Lance Johnson (Clinton), 8. Brent McKinnon (Highland), 9. Jeffrey Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 10. Jackie Campbell (Decatur)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds–1. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown), 2. Zach Rhodes (Langleyville), 3. TD Burger (Saunemin), 4. Tim Luttrell (Riverton), 5. Curt Rhodes (Langleyville), 6. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 7. Jeff Graham (Taylorville), 8. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 9. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 10. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo)

B-Modifieds–1. Justin Durbin (Vandalia), 2. Tim Hancock (Mt. Olive), 3. Tom Riech (Springfield), 4. Jim Lafferty (Carlinville), 5. Ryan Timmons (Centralia), 6. Jim Farley III (Springfield), 7. Dave Eckel (Lovington), 8. Danny Smith (Argenta), 9. Willie Haddock (Owoneco), 10. Ronnie Flanigan (South Roxanna)

Street Stocks–1. Terry Reed (Decatur), 2. Jeremiah Hoadley (Forsyth), 3. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 4. Greg Osman (Macon), 5. Nick Justice (Harristown), 6. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 7. Shawn Vaughn (Loami), 8. Larry Russell, Jr. (Harristown), 9. Jason Scrimpsher (Decatur), 10. Terry Reed, Sr. (Decatur)

Hornets–1. Adam Webb (Decatur), 2. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 3. Jeremy Reed (Decatur), 4. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 5. Steve Stine (Blue Mound), 6. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 7. Marty Sullivan (Mt. Zion), 8. Austin Wickline (Harristown), 9. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 10. Brian Offer (Springfield)

Permanent link to this article: