​Car Explosions, Steel Wall Crash, Fireworks, & Racing Coming To Macon

Eve of Destruction 8-15-15 Raceprint FlierAnticipation Builds For Saturday’s Craziness Of First Eve Of Destruction

Macon Speedway will be entertainment central for family fun this coming Saturday, August 15, as the first ever Eve of Destruction is held at the facility.  Final preparations are being put into place for car explosions, a steel wall crash, fireworks, racing and more.  Discount coupons for the event are located throughout the area including Donnelly’s CARQUEST and Dale’s Southlake Pharmacy.

Fans, both young and young at heart, will be treated to world renowned, Mr. Dizzy, who has appeared on the History Channel TV show, American Daredevils.  Mr. Dizzy is a five time world record holder for different stunts that he has been able to accomplish.  Mr. Dizzy will escape an exploding vehicle and be part of a steel wall crash.  In addition to those two events, fireworks will close out the show that includes racing action in four of Macon Speedway’s divisions.  Competing during the night will be the Midwest Big Ten Pro Late Models in the Shrine 50, UMP Street Stocks, Beach House Micros, and UMP Hornets.

Mr. Dizzy and his wild and crazy buddies will be on hand at Shaner’s Auto Salvage in Springfield on Friday to perform a death-defying firewalk.  92.7 WQLZ will be on hand, providing a live radio remote of this dangerous stunt to kick off the weekend.

Pit gates open Saturday at 4:00, grandstands at 5:00, registration closes at 6:00 when hotlaps begin, and racing will take the green at 7:00.  Adult admission is $15, while children 11 and under are free.  Discount coupons are available at numerous businesses in the area including Donnelly’s CARQUEST and Dale’s Southlake Pharmacy.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at www.maconracing.com, on Facebook (www.facebook.com/maconracing) and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.


UMP Pro Late Models (Top 10)
Tommy Sheppard, Jr.-Berlin, IL 320 2)Guy Taylor-Springfield, IL 294 3)Kevin Crowder-Argenta, IL 268 4)Bobby Beiler-Blue Mound, IL 232 5)Victor Overlin-Decatur, IL 218 6)Braden Johnson-Stonington, IL 204 7)Robin Huffman Clinton, IL 198 8)Dakota Ewing-Decatur, IL 190 9)Matt Taylor-Springfield, IL 184 10)Shawn Ziemer-Boody, IL 166

Billingsley Towing UMP Modifieds (Top 10)
Rodney Standerfer-Germantown, IL 682 2)Jeff Graham-Stonington, IL 618 3) Curt Rhodes-Decatur, IL 572 4)Clark Robertson-Shelbyville, IL 514 5) TD Burger-Saunemin, IL 448 5)Joe Strawkas-Buffalo, IL 434  7)Randy Spaugh-Decatur, IL 374 8)David Crawley, Jr.-Decatur, IL 348 9)Tim Luttrell- Riverton, IL 336 10)Zach Rhodes-Taylorville, IL 316

UMP B-Mods (Top 10)
1)James Farley, III-Springfield, IL 254 1)Thomas Riech-Springfield, IL 254 3)Ryan Timmons-Centralia, IL 208 4)Dave Eckel-Lovington, IL 190 5)Roy MaGee, II-Springfield, IL 174 6)Wade Glover-Brighton, IL 172 7)Tim Bedinger-Taylorville, Il 154 8)Steve Phillips-Neoga, IL 148 9)Eric Brackett-Brighton, IL 142 10)Justin Durbin-Mulberry Grove, IL 118

UMP Sportsman (Top 10)
1)Timmy Dick-Monticello, IL 228  2)Jeremy Nichols-Shelbyville, IL 222  3)Tim Bedinger-Taylorville, IL 210 4)Tom Graham-Stonington, IL 206 5)Phil Moreland-Assumption, IL 190 6)Dennis Vandermeersch-Springfield, IL 116 7)Danny Smith-Argenta, IL 112 8)Tyler Blankenship-Vandalia, IL 9)Ty Nation-Taylorville, IL 94  10)Dave Eckel-Lovington, IL 92

UMP Street Stocks (Top 10)
1)Terry Reed-Decatur, Il 686 2)Kyle Waters-Oreana, IL 634 3)Brian Dasenbrock-Decatur, IL 598 4)Greg Osman-Macon, IL 582 5)Jason Scrimpsher-Decatur, IL 542 6)Jeffery Reed, Jr.-Blue Mound, IL 520 7)Tharen Reno-Springfield, IL 442 8)Bobby Beiler-Blue Mound, IL 398  9)Terry Reed, Sr.-Decatur, IL 336 10)Nick Justice-Harristown, IL 318

UMP Hornets (Top 10)
1)Adam Webb-Decatur, IL 578 1)John Bright, Jr.-Decatur, IL 572 3)Thad Gee-Bloomington, IL 510 4)Steven Stine-Stonington, IL 452 5)Matthew Reed-Blue Mound, IL 432 6)Cook Crawford-Lincoln, IL 416  7)Michael Gossett-Decatur, IL 376   8)Marty Sullivan-Decatur, IL 360 9)Austin Wickline-Harristown, IL 356 10)Jeremy Reed-Decatur, IL 292

Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2015/08/%e2%80%8bcar-explosions-steel-wall-crash-fireworks-racing-coming-to-macon/