Fans Enjoy Great Macon Speedway Racing On Appreciation Night

It was a short layoff for fans, officials, and some racers at Macon Speedway on Saturday night, coming off the Herald & Review 100 on Wednesday.  Racing continued to be action packed, as the Midwest Big Ten Street Stocks raced in the 11th Annual Illinois Street Stock Championship.  Also in action were the Billingsley Towing Modifieds, B Mods, Kids Mods, Hornets, and Beach House Micros.

The headline show of the night was the Big Ten Street Stock class.  15 drivers took the green flag with Greg Osman and Brian Dasenbrock leading the way.  Dasenbrock took the lead at the outset and rocketed away from the field.  Well behind him, racing was fast and furious as point leader, Terry Reed, and a host of others tried to run down Dasenbrock.  As the race wore on, Dasenbrock continued to hit his marks to remain out front.  With five to go, Bobby Beiler moved into the second spot and got the caution he needed to close the gap.  Over the final laps, the Decatur, IL driver didn’t falter and went on to claim the impressive victory.  Beiler and Larry Russell, Jr., who ran second for much of the race, finished in the top three.  Greg Osman claimed the Jonathan Drake bonus money of $152, courtesy of AJ Services.  The race was in memory of Drake, a former competitor, who passed away unexpectedly in recent days.

Decatur, IL veteran, David Crawley, Jr. started on the outside of the front row in the Billingsley Towing Modified and shot into the lead at the start.  Zach Rhodes, the pole starter, slipped back into second with Curt Rhodes, his father, in third.  After a lap five restart, Curt was able to pass Zach, giving him a chance at the lead battle. It was all for naught, though, as Crawley rim rode the highside of the track and claimed the Modified victory.  Curt Rhodes finished second with Rodney Standerfer and Jeff Graham third and fourth. Alan Crowder brought home a fifth place run.

Justin Durbin took the lead from the get-go in the UMP B-Mod 15-lap feature event.  Thomas Riech, one of the regulars at the track, moved into second early on with Jerry Thompson also in the mix.  The event saw a caution around the midpoint, where three of the starters were unable to continue.  At the checkered, it was Mulberry Grove, IL’s Justin Durbin taking the victory.

On this night, Macon Speedway hosted yet another Modified class, one called the Kids Mods.  Youngsters, trying to get their feet wet in racing, were behind the wheels of full sized Modifieds with low powered four cylinder engines.  In heat race action, Ryan Hamilton won, despite an early race spin, earning him the pole position for the feature.  In the main event, there were no scares for the driver of car #58, as he went on to take the winner’s trophy.  Following Hamilton were Nash Hilmes and Jordan Clary.

Jeremy Camp was the odds on favorite to win the Beach House Micros, especially with the #1 starting spot.  Camp did not disappoint, either, pulling out to a comfortable lead.  The race, which went flag-to-flag, was fairly uneventful up front with Camp in cruise control.  Following the veteran racer were Kyle Schuett and Nic Harris.

Founding out the program was the UMP Hornet class.  Michael Gossett, of Decatur, IL drove into the lead early in his nicely painted #205 and never looked back, other than to feel comfortable with his huge lead.  Gossett crossed under the checkered with a huge lead, while Thad Gee took second and John Bright, Jr. finished third.

Macon Speedway will be back in action on Saturday, September 5 with Bud Light Ladies night and half price admission for the ladies.  For full information on the event, visit

B-Mods–1. Justin Durbin (Mulberry Grove), 2. Thomas Reich (Springfield), 3. Jerry Thompson (Troy) , 4. Ryan Timmons (Centralia), 5. James Farley III. (Springfield), 6. Steve Phillips (Neoga), 7. Fred Reed Sr (Decatur), 8. Roy MaGee II (Springfield),

Street Stocks–1. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 2. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 3. Larry Russell Jr (Harrisrtown), 4. Terry Reed (Decatur), 5. Greg Osman (Macon), 6. Jason Scrimpsher (Decatur) 7. Jeffery Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 8. Luke Force (Argenta), 9. Jeremiah Hoadley (Decatur), 10. Jamie Suddarth (Decatur)

Modifieds–1. David Crawley Jr (Decatur), 2. Curt Rhodes (Langleyville), 3. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown), 4. Jeff Graham (Stonington), 5. Alan Growder (Elwin), 6. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 7. Troy Dodson (Cerro Gordo), 8. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville), 9. Nick Macklin (Argenta)

Hornets–1. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 2. Thad Gee(Bloomington), 3. John Bright Jr. (Decatur), 4.Steven Stine (Stonington), 5. Austin Wickline (Harristown) 6. Marty Sullivan (Mt. Zion), 7. Brian Offer (Springfield), 8. Karlie Sullivan (Mt Zion), 9. Staci Frantz (Lovington), 10. Matthew Reed (Blue Mound)

Micros–1. Jeremy Camp (Blue Mound), 2. Kyle Schuett, 3. Nic Harris (Atlanta), 4. Luke Verardi (Taylorville), 5. Ryan Frantz,  6. Jeff Beasley (Urbana), 7. Brad McDaniel (Carbondale), 8. Josh Ponder, 9. Chad Baldwin (Lincoln), 10. Brian Nance (Mayfield Ky)

Kids Mods—1. Ryan Hamilton 2. Nash Hilmes 3. Jordan Clary 4. Blake Bailey 5. Teagan Evans

Permanent link to this article: