$6 Ladies’ Admission On Tap For Macon Speedway Saturday

6 Classes Scheduled For Action Packed Night

Ladies Night Facebook                Much to the delight of racing fans in Central Illinois, Macon Speedway held a fan appreciation night this past Saturday that allowed admission for just $6.  This coming Saturday, September 5, the ladies will get back-to-back cheap nights, with another $6 show.  Six divisions of racing are on tap including the return of the Pro Late Models and the Illinois Lightning Sprint Series.

Racing has been outstanding at the 1/5-mile bullring during the 70th anniversary season at Mighty Macon Speedway, and headlining this week’s show will be the return of the UMP Pro Late Models after a two week hiatus.  The season standings are close, with Berlin, IL driver Tommy Sheppard, Jr. leading the points by just 18 over Springfield, IL’s Guy Taylor.  Taylor has been dominant in the Midwest Big Ten Series Pro Late Models and looks to be on his way to a championship.  The Macon battle may be much more fun to watch play out.  Kevin Crowder, Bobby Beiler, and Roben Huffman are top five in the current points.

The Billingsley Towing UMP Modified class is led by Germantown, IL driver Rodney Standerfer.  The veteran competitor went on a win streak at the midpoint of the season that propelled him past Stonington, IL’s Jeff Graham and into the point lead.  Graham has remained consistent and is solidly in second.  Curt Rhodes, Clark Robertson, and Joe Strawkas round out the top point competitors entering the September 5 show.

The Midwest Big Ten Series does have a division in action this week, the UMP Street Stocks.  Leading the way is Decatur, IL veteran Terry Reed.  Reed has won the last two Big Ten races at the Christian County Fair and at Jacksonville.  That combined with two runner-up finishes  as well as a third and fourth, leaves Reed with a 48 point lead in the Big Ten standings.  Reed also leads by 72 in the Macon divisional points.  Brian Dasenbrock, Greg Osman, Kyle Waters, and Bobby Beiler are others to keep an eye on this weekend.

Rounding out this weekend’s show will be the UMP B-Mods, UMP Hornets, and the Illinois Lightning Sprint cars.

Pit gates open Saturday at 4:00, grandstands at 5:00, hotlaps begin at 6:00 when the pill draw ends, and racing will begin at 7:00.  Grandstand admission is $12 but $6 for ladies due to the Bud Light Ladies Night promotion.    Children 11 and under are free.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway online atwww.maconracing.com, on Facebook (www.facebook.com/maconracing) and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.
Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.

UMP Pro Late Models (Top 10)
Tommy Sheppard, Jr.-Berlin, IL 372 2)Guy Taylor-Springfield, IL 354 3)Kevin Crowder-Argenta, IL 302 4)Bobby Beiler-Blue Mound, IL 288 5) Robin Huffman Clinton, IL 252 6)Matt Taylor-Springfield, IL 242 7)Dakota Ewing-Decatur, IL 228 8)Victor Overlin-Decatur, IL 218 9)Shawn Ziemer-Boody, IL 208 10)Braden Johnson-Stonington, IL 204

Billingsley Towing UMP Modifieds (Top 10)
Rodney Standerfer-Germantown, IL 770 2)Jeff Graham-Stonington, IL 724 3) Curt Rhodes-Decatur, IL 678 4)Clark Robertson-Shelbyville, IL 534 5)Joe Strawkas-Buffalo, IL 518 6)TD Burger-Saunemin, IL 504 7)Zach Rhodes-Taylorville, IL 412 8)David Crawley, Jr.-Decatur, IL 408 9)Randy Spaugh-Decatur, IL 374  10)Tim Luttrell- Riverton, IL 336

UMP B-Mods (Top 10)
1) Thomas Riech-Springfield, IL 364 2)James Farley, III-Springfield, IL 342 3)Ryan Timmons-Centralia, IL 304 4)Roy MaGee, II-Springfield, IL 250 5)Steve Phillips-Neoga, IL 236 6)Justin Durbin-Mulberry Grove, IL 232 7)Dave Eckel-Lovington, IL 224 8)Wade Glover-Brighton, IL 172  9)Tim Hancock-Mt. Olive, IL 154 9) Tim Bedinger-Taylorville, Il 154

UMP Sportsman (Top 10)
1)Timmy Dick-Monticello, IL 228  2)Jeremy Nichols-Shelbyville, IL 222  3)Tim Bedinger-Taylorville, IL 210 4)Tom Graham-Stonington, IL 206 5)Phil Moreland-Assumption, IL 190 6)Dennis Vandermeersch-Springfield, IL 116 7)Danny Smith-Argenta, IL 112 8)Tyler Blankenship-Vandalia, IL 9)Ty Nation-Taylorville, IL 94  10)Dave Eckel-Lovington, IL 92

UMP Street Stocks (Top 10)
1)Terry Reed-Decatur, Il 810 2)Kyle Waters-Oreana, IL 738 3)Brian Dasenbrock-Decatur, IL 722 4)Greg Osman-Macon, IL 694 5)Jason Scrimpsher-Decatur, IL 658 6)Jeffery Reed, Jr.-Blue Mound, IL 626 7)Bobby Beiler-Blue Mound, IL 456 8)Tharen Reno-Springfield, IL 442 9)Terry Reed, Sr.-Decatur, IL 346 10)Dustin Reed-Decatur, IL 320

UMP Hornets (Top 10)
1)John Bright, Jr.-Decatur, IL 684 2)Adam Webb-Decatur, IL 638 3)Thad Gee-Bloomington, IL 622 4)Steven Stine-Stonington, IL 558 5)Matthew Reed-Blue Mound, IL 522 6)Marty Sullivan-Decatur, IL 460  7)Michael Gossett-Decatur, IL 436  8)Cook Crawford-Lincoln, IL 416 9)Austin Wickline-Harristown, IL 408 10)Brian Offer-Springfield, Il 334

Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2015/09/6-ladies-admission-on-tap-for-macon-speedway-saturday/