Champions Crowned in September Showdown at Macon Speedway

(Macon, IL) Although a week still remains in the 70th anniversary celebration of Macon Speedway, three divisions crowned their champions. Rodney Standerfer claimed his first Billingsley Towing Modified championship since 1996. The evening started rough for the Germantown native as his transmission gave out during qualifying. Friend and fellow racer Dave Eckel gave up his ride for the night so Standerfer could finish the feature event and claim the title. Standerfer finished seventh in the 20-lap main event as Cory Daugherty coasted to the win with a front row starting position.

Terry Reed made short work of the Street Stock feature and the division, winning both the race and the track championship by a wide margin. Reed also lays claim to the 2015 Street Stock Big Ten Series Championship. Brian Dasenbrock finished second in both the feature and the points standings.

John Bright, Jr. had an adventuresome finale as he won the Hornet track championship again. Bright was racing with the lead and then some bumping and close racing pushed him back to fourth, where he would finish. Thad Gee won the event and finished the season second in points. Michael Gossett and Steven Stine were second and third, respectively.

Garrett Duff took the checkered flag in the Beach House Micro Sprint feature race. He fended off advances from Nic Harris as well as Luke Verardi.

Tyler Blankenship ran away with the B-Modified feature. The excitement was for second place as Justin Durbin, James Farley III and Cody Stillwell battled for the runner-up spot and finished in that order.

The season finale is next Saturday with Powri Midgets & Micro Sprints as well as the championship races for the Pro Late Models and the B-Modifieds.

Billingsley Towing Modifieds–1. Cory Daugherty (Blue Mound), 2. TD Burger (Saunemin), 3. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 4. Travis Kohler (Morris), 5. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 6. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 7. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown), 8. Jeff Graham (Stonington), 9. Charles Snow (Iuka), 10. Brian Shubirg (Troy)

Street Stocks–1. Terry Reed (Decatur), 2. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 3. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 4. Jeremiah Hoadley (Forsyth), 5. Terry Reed, Sr. (Decatur), 6. Jeffrey Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 7. Greg Osman (Macon), 8. Josh Bourland, 9. Dustin Reed (Decatur), 10. Jason Scrimpsher (Decatur)

Hornets–1. Thad Gee (Bloomington), 2. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 3. Steven Stine (Stonington), 4. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 5. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 6. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 7. Raymond Goodall (Springfield), 8. Brandon Workman (Buffalo), 9. Jerad Matherly (Decatur), 10. Paul Peters (Pana)

Beach House Micro Sprints–1. Garrett Duff (Weldon), 2. Nic Harris (Atlanta), 3. Gabe Verardi (Taylorville), 4. Jeff Beasley (Urbana), 5. Tyler Day (Atwood), 6. Paul Day (Atwood), 7. Luke Verardi (Taylorville), 8. Shelby Bosie (Sherman), 9. Dustin Clary (Belleville), 10. Jeff Matta (Mt. Olive)

B-Modifieds–1. Tyler Blankenship (Vandalia), 2. Justin Durbin (Mulberry Grove), 3. James Farley III (Springfield), 4. Cody Stillwell, 5. Ryan Timmons (Centralia), 6. Tom Riech (Springfield), 7. Scott Kuhn (Breese), 8. Todd Eyman (Alhambra), 9. Rocky Flanagan (South Roxanna), 10. Roy MaGee II (Springfield)

Permanent link to this article: