Close Finishes at Macon Speedway

(Macon, IL) Photo finishes a-plenty occurred at Macon Speedway during the Pop’s Place Bud Light Ladies Night event. Heat races and feature finishes had fans wondering who won when the checkered flag finished waving.

The Street Stock division was down to the wire, and a bumper, as Terry Reed continued his winning ways by taking the fourth turn with just enough on the gas to ease into a side-by-side finish with race leader Bobby Beiler. Reed was credited with the win during the Big Ten Street Stock Series race, a circuit he won in 2014.

Rodney Standerfer was given the checkered flag during the Billingsley Towing Modified feature, a tightly contested 20 laps with Dave Crawley, Jr. With two laps to go, Standerfer continued to hold the lead in front of Crawley, through the turns, onto the straightaways and entering the third turn when Crawley tagged Standerfer, spinning him around and bringing out the caution. With the yellow flag out, Standerfer was given his leader position back and Crawley went to the tail of the field for bringing out the yellow flag. Two laps later, Standerfer took the win and Crawley battled back to finish sixth.

Guy Taylor made sure there weren’t any close calls in the Pro Late Model feature. Ripping up the top side of the 70-year-old oval, Taylor bypassed Roben Huffman for the lead early in the race and cruised onto the victory.

Tim Hancock made short work of the B-Modified main event. Starting on the front row, Hancock was out the lead early and ran away during the 15-lap event, which featured no cautions.

Jeremy Reed and Brian Deavers had an exciting finish in the 4-cylinder Hornet race as Reed and Deaver were neck-and-neck through the corners. Reed, though, had a better handle on things to notch the win.

The Street Stocks will race for $2,000-to-win and $100-to-start next Saturday night in the John Osman Memorial Race. Pro Late Models are scheduled with a Big Ten Series event. Billingsley Towing Modifieds, Sportsman and Hornets also make up the show.

Street Stocks–1. Terry Reed (Decatur), 2. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 3. Gene Reed (Blue Mound), 4. Derrick Hufford (Oakwood), 5. Greg Osman (Macon), 6. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 7. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 8. Jeremy Madsen (Thayer), 9. Jason Scrimpsher (Decatur), 10. Dustin Reed (Decatur)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds–1. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown), 2. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 3. Jeff Graham (Taylorville), 4. Shane Tomlin (New Berlin), 5. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 6. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 7. Jason Zobrist (Highland), 8. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 9. Billy Gibson (Girard), 10. Tim Hancock, Jr. (Mt. Olive)

Pro Late Models–1. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 2. Roben Huffman (Midland City), 3. Jose Parga (New Berlin), 4. Nick Bauman (New Berlin), 5. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 6. Tommy Sheppard, Jr. (New Berlin), 7. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 8. Jeffrey Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 9. Cody Maguire (Carlinville), 10. Nick Justice (Nick Justice)

B-Modifieds–1. Tim Hancock (Mt. Olive), 2. Cody Stillwell (Godfrey), 3. Brett Page (Centralia), 4. Jim Farley III (Springfield), 5. Tom Riech (Springfield), 6. Eric Brackett (Brighton), 7. Tommy Gaither (Bunker Hill), 8. John Holzhauer (Greenville), 9. Roy MaGee II (Springfield), 10. Ryan Timmons (Centralia)

Hornets–1. Jeremy Reed (Decatur), 2. Brian Deavers (Bloomington), 3. Austin Wickline (Harristown), 4. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 5. Brad Rexroad (Hammond), 6. Steven Stine (Stonington), 7. John Bright, Jr. (Decatur), 8. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 9. Brian Offer (Springfield), 10. Mike Mitchell (Lovington)

Permanent link to this article: