Macon Speedway Point Champions To Be Decided Saturday Night

9-26-15 Championship Night - 1Modifieds, Street Stocks, And Hornets Racing Final Time

Three division champions will be crowned this coming Saturday, September 26 at Macon Speedway.  It will be the final night of racing for the Billingsley Towing UMP Modifieds, UMP Street Stocks, and UMP Hornets.  The B-Mods and Micros are the other two divisions on the schedule but they are also scheduled to be part of the Saturday, October 3 program.

In the Billingsley Towing UMP Modified class, the point race has been a two man battle all season long.  Early this season, consistent finishes propelled Stonington, IL driver, Jeff Graham, to the top of the list.  Despite his lone win coming on June 6, Graham has remained in striking distance with point leader Rodney Standerfer, of Germantown, IL.  Standerfer has had a great season, claiming a division best, seven feature wins.  Entering the final Modified event, Standerfer has a 40 point lead on Graham.  It would most likely take some bad luck for Standerfer for the positions to swap but anything can happen.  Curt Rhodes, Clark Robertson, and TD Burger are top five in the current standings.

Decatur, IL driver, Terry Reed, has had an outstanding campaign in the UMP Street Stocks at Macon, but it doesn’t stop at the 1/5-mile speedplant.  In addition to the seven feature wins at his local track, Reed also has wins at the Christian County Fair and Jacksonville as part of the Midwest Big Ten Street Stock Series.  Reed has the Macon division championship wrapped up with a 116-point lead and has one more event Friday at Jacksonville in hopes of pulling off the double by winning the Big Ten championship.  Brian Dasenbrock and Kyle Waters are in a near dead heat for second in the Macon standings, while Greg Osman and Jeffery Reed, Jr. complete the top five.

The UMP Hornet division championship has just been clinched as Decatur, IL driver, John Bright, Jr. has a 66 point lead over Thad Gee.  The most points a driver can accumulate during an evening of racing is 60.  Bright has not won a feature this year but has been in action every week and garnered solid finishes to take the championship hardware.  The Hornet class is coming off an exciting night of racing for their World Championship, which was won by third place point man Adam Webb.  Webb who has won ten features this season, is followed by Steven Stine and Matthew Reed, the fourth and fifth place point contenders.

The UMP B-Mods will be racing not only this Saturday but also on October 3.  The championship battle in that class is far from over, as only 16 points separate the top two.  Springfield, IL wheelman Thomas Riech leads the way, despite being in search of his first feature win.  James Farley, III, who claimed a win on June 6, is second in points and ready to pounce if the opportunity arises.  Ryan Timmons, Roy MaGee, II, and Tim Hancock are top five pointmen.

Rounding out this Saturday’s card will be the Beach House Micros.  While they are not competing for championship points, they have been in action a good amount this season.  Several events were added during the course of the year, in addition to the POWRi sanctioned shows.  Taylorville, IL driver, Luke Verardi garnered his second feature win in the last three events held at Macon.  While the Beach House sponsored division will be racing for the final time this year, most of the competitors will be back on October 3 as part of the POWRi Micro class at the season finale.

Pit gates open this Saturday at 4:00, grandstands at 5:00, and hotlaps begin at 6:00 when the pill draw ends.  Get their early this week, as a special autograph session and driver meet and greet will take place on the track before the green flag drops on the racing program.  Racing should begin shortly after 7:00.

Admission prices for this coming Saturday are $12 for adults and free for children 11 and under.  There is a limited supply of $2 tickets still available, if bought in packs of 25.  Cost is $50 and will not be sold after Friday.  They may be purchased by stopping by the Track Enterprise offices at 650 N Woodcock St. in Macon, IL or by calling 217-764-3000.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.


UMP Pro Late Models (Top 10)
Tommy Sheppard, Jr.-Berlin, IL 530 2)Guy Taylor-Springfield, IL 528 3)Bobby Beiler-Blue Mound, IL 434 4)Matt Taylor-Springfield, IL 410 5)Robin Huffman Clinton, IL 404 6)Kevin Crowder-Argenta, IL 380 7)Shawn Ziemer-Boody, IL 320  8)Dakota Ewing-Decatur, IL 308 9)Cody Maguire-Carlinville, IL 294 10)Victor Overlin-Decatur, IL 286

Billingsley Towing UMP Modifieds (Top 10)
Rodney Standerfer-Germantown, IL 908 2)Jeff Graham-Stonington, IL 868 3)Curt Rhodes-Decatur, IL 760 4)Clark Robertson-Shelbyville, IL 682 5)TD Burger-Saunemin, IL 608 6)David Crawley, Jr.-Decatur, IL 576 7)Joe Strawkas-Buffalo, IL 570 8)Alan Crowder-Elwin, IL 464 9)Zach Rhodes-Taylorville, IL 422 10)Randy Spaugh-Decatur, IL 410

UMP B-Mods (Top 10)
1)Thomas Riech-Springfield, IL 468 2)James Farley, III-Springfield, IL 452 3)Ryan Timmons-Centralia, IL 396 4)Roy MaGee, II-Springfield, IL 340 5)Tim Hancock-Mt. Olive, IL 254 6)Cody Stillwell-Godfrey, IL 246  7)Steve Phillips-Neoga, IL 236 8)Justin Durbin-Mulberry Grove, IL 232 9)Dave Eckel-Lovington, IL 224 10)Eric Brackett-Brighton, IL 192

UMP Sportsman (Top 10)
1)Timmy Dick-Monticello, IL 346 2)Tim Bedinger-Taylorville, IL 308 3)Tom Graham-Stonington, IL 302 4)Jeremy Nichols-Shelbyville, IL 282 5)Danny Smith-Argenta, IL 270 6)Dennis Vandermeersch-Springfield, IL 230 7)Phil Moreland-Assumption, IL 190 8)Scott Landers-Taylorville, IL 150 9)Wes O’Dell-Springfield, IL 104 10)Richie Rich-Pontiac, IL 100

UMP Street Stocks (Top 10)
1)Terry Reed-Decatur, Il 978 2)Brian Dasenbrock-Decatur, IL 862 3)Kyle Waters-Oreana, IL 860 4)Greg Osman-Macon, IL 850 5)Jeffery Reed, Jr.-Blue Mound, IL 770 6)Jason Scrimpsher-Decatur, IL 722 7)Bobby Beiler-Blue Mound, IL 572 8)Tharen Reno-Springfield, IL 452 9)Dustin Reed-Decatur, IL 422 10)Terry Reed, Sr.-Decatur, IL 410

UMP Hornets (Top 10)
1)John Bright, Jr.-Decatur, IL 834 2)Thad Gee-Bloomington, IL 768 3)Adam Webb-Decatur, IL 758 4)Steven Stine-Stonington, IL 692 5)Matthew Reed-Blue Mound, IL 566 6)Cook Crawford-Lincoln, IL 546 7)Marty Sullivan-Decatur, IL 532 8)Austin Wickline-Harristown, IL 506 9)Michael Gossett-Decatur, IL 500 10)Jeremy Reed-Decatur, Il 468

Permanent link to this article: