Macon Closes Out Season With POWRi Night

POWRi Midgets and Micros lined the pits for the final night of racing at Macon Speedway in 2015. The Midwest Big Ten Series Pro Late Models and B-Mods were also in action. In upwards of 100 cars raced for the final 2015 show.

In Lucas Oil POWRi Midget competition, Tyler Thomas raced out front to an early lead with Ryan Robinson in tow. Thomas was cruising, way out front, and built a sizable lead.  Disaster struck on lap 24, though, as two cars at the tail end of the lead lap spun in turn two. Thomas was collected and retired from the race. That gave the lead to Pocahontas, IL driver Zach Daum, who made his racing return recently after rehabbing injuries. Daum, last year’s POWRi champion, went on to the feature win.  Tanner Thorson, Kevin Thomas, Andrew Felker, and Tim Siner completed the top five.

In B-Mod feature racing, Nathan Schmidt, of Trenton, IL, took the lead at the green and never looked back, claiming his first Macon victory of the season. The race, which went flag-to-flag, had Cody Stillwell in 2nd, James Farley 3rd, while Ryan Timmons and Wade Glover completed the top five. Thomas Riech claimed the B-Mod track championship by just four points.

Zach Taylor set the point early in the Speedway Motors POWRi Micro 20 lap A-Main. Nathan Benson, a series front runner, took the lead from Taylor on lap 6 and built a sizable advantage.  Disaster struck around halfway, as Taylor took a wild ride and barrel rolled into turn three. After a couple more rolls, Concordia, MO’s Benson held off all challengers to claim the dominant victory. Ayrton Gennetten, Matt Howard, Chris Cochran, and Jeremy Camp rounded out the top five.

Finishing out the show was the Midwest Big Ten Series Pro Late Models.  Tommy Sheppard, Jr. started from the pole and the race was of utmost importance for the #6.  Coming into the event, Sheppard needed to finish ahead of Guy Taylor to claim the Macon championship, while Taylor already had the Midwest Big Ten Pro Late Model championship wrapped up.  Sheppard was wicked quick early on, leading the way to about the halfway point.  However, Sheppard caught traffic and looked to the bottom.  As soon as he went to the bottom, Taylor raced to the topside and took the lead away.  The move was bold and it was enough to eventually give him the track championship.  The Springfield, Ohio driver was followed by Sheppard, Matt Taylor, Myles Moos, and Nick Bauman.  For Guy Taylor, he took the clean sweep of the race, the track championship, and the Big Ten title.

The October 3 show closes out the 2015 season at Macon Speedway. Info on the 2016 campaign will be available at

Feature Results (Top 10’s)

Lucas Oil POWRi Midgets

1) Zach Daum 2) Tanner Thorson 3) Kevin Thomas 4) Andrew Felker 5) Tim Siner 6) Payton Pierce 7) Tucker Klaasmeyer 8) Chase Briscoe 9) Austin Brown 10) Shane Hollingsworth

Speedway Motors POWRi Micros

1) Nathan Benson 2) Ayrton Gennetten 3) Matt Howard 4) Chris Cochran 5) Jeremy Camp 6) Nic Harris 7) Zach Daum 8) Spencer Montgomery 9) Shelby Bosie 10) Joey Wirth


1) Nathan Schmidt 2) Cody Stillwell 3) James Farley III 4) Ryan Timmons 5) Wade Glover 6) Thomas Riech 7) Tim Hancock 8) Tim Bedinger 9) Ronnie Flanigan 10) Todd Eyman

Midwest Big Ten Pro Late Models

1) Guy Taylor 2) Tommy Sheppard, Jr. 3) Matt Taylor 4) Myles Moos 5) Nick Bauman 6) Dakota Ewing 7) Bobby Beiler 8) Jeffery Reed, Jr. 9) Roben Huffman 10) Cody Maguire


Permanent link to this article: