Champions Honored At Macon Speedway Ceremony

With the 2015 season in the rear view mirror, Macon Speedway officials held the annual Halloween Awards Party in the parking lot of the racetrack. Two large bonfires kept a crowd of 200+ warm while they ate delicious sandwich served up by Master Chef Bill Morris and his large group of assistants. Sunday evening’s festivities culminated with award presentations for the top competitors in each Macon Speedway division in addition to the Midwest Big Ten Series classes.

In the Midwest Big Ten Super Late Models, Springfield, IL’s Brian Diveley took top honors. Diveley won a race at Jacksonville on August 7 and finished in a podium position in five of the seven races he competed. Ryan Little, Chuck Mitchell, Jake Little, and Greg Kimmins were top five competitors.

In the UMP Pro Late Model class, drivers in the Midwest Big Ten Series and Macon Speedway competitors were honored. Taking a lot of hardware was Springfield, IL’s Guy Taylor. Taylor won both championships by way of seven Macon wins and six wins on the Big Ten circuit including Macon, Lincoln, and Jacksonville. Nick Bauman, Tommy Sheppard, Roben Huffman, and Matt Taylor were top five in the Big Ten, while Sheppard, Bobby Beiler, Matt Taylor, and Huffman all followed Guy Taylor in the Macon points.

Germantown, IL driving veteran Rodney Standerfer took this year’s championship in the Billingsley Towing UMP Modified class. Standerfer garnered seven feature wins, winning five out of six at one point during the season. Standerfer was followed by Jeff Graham, Curt Rhodes, Clark Robertson, and TD Burger.

Much like Guy Taylor in the Pro Late Models, Decatur, IL driver Terry Reed was a big winner in the UMP Street Stock class. Reed took the Midwest Big Ten championship as well as the Macon track title. Reed had eight wins at Macon and also won Big Ten races at Christian County Fair, Jacksonville, and Macon. In the hometrack points, Reed was followed by Brian Dasenbrock, Kyle Waters, Greg Osman, and Jeffery Reed, Jr. In the Big Ten Series, Bobby Beiler, Osman, Waters, and Dasenbrock took top fives.

The UMP Hornets were again a centerpiece of nearly every racing program the track held in 2015. Leading the way at the end of the season was Decatur, IL driver, John Bright, Jr. For Bright, it was his second point championship. Thad Gee, Adam Webb, Steve Stine, and Cook Crawford finished the year in the top five.

An up and coming division that is getting more events at the 1/5-mile is the UMP B-Mod class. This year, Springfield, IL wheelman Thomas Riech took top honors after a tight battle with point runner-up James Farley, III. Ryan Timmons, Roy Magee, II, and Cody Stillwell rounded out the top five.

Completing the ceremonies was the UMP Sportsman class. While the division only ran five times at Macon during the 2015-season, the top five drivers had their chance to step forward and address the crowd. Taking two feature wins and the championship was Monticello, IL driver Timmy Dick. Tim Bedinger, Tom Graham, Jeremy Nichols, and Danny Smith had top five honors.

At the end of the night, a costume contest was held for the numerous kids who dressed up. In the end, gift bags were given to a gorilla, a bumblebee, batgirl, a young lady pirate, a John Bright, Jr. replica stroller, and a miniature racecar driver. Hayrides were also given to the youngsters.

Macon Speedway officials would like to thank Terry Young and Hoosier Racing Tire as well as Jim Moon from Moonman Motorsports for their sponsorship at the banquet. Also, thanks goes out to all of the racers, teams, owners, year-long sponsors, staff, fans, and anyone else who help make Macon Speedway one of the best tracks in the country.

For information during the winter on the 2016 season, follow Macon Speedway online at, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.


Midwest Big Ten Super Late Models (Top 10)
1)Brian Diveley-Springfield, IL 384 2)Ryan Little-Springfield, IL 346 3)Chuck Mitchell-Jacksonville, IL 344 4)Jake Little-Springfield, IL 256 5)Greg Kimmins-Pleasant Plains, IL 248 6)Jim Moon-Zionsville, IN 232 7)Justin Reed-Camp Point, IL 222 8)Bobby Pierce-Oakwood, IL 170 9)Mark Burgtorf-Quincy, IL 150 10)Joseph Hughes-Springfield, IL 138

Midwest Big Ten Pro Late Models (Top 10)
1)Guy Taylor-Springfield, IL 474 2)Nick Bauman-Springfield, IL 452 3)Tommy Sheppard-Berlin, IL 430 4)Roben Huffman-Clinton, IL 392 5)Matt Taylor-Springfield, IL 380 6)Cody Maguire-Carlinville, IL 344 7)Shawn Ziemer-Boody, IL 290 8)Brandon Eskew-Lincoln, IL 272 9)Kevin Crowder-Argenta, IL 236 10)Andy Minett-Loami, IL 222

Midwest Big Ten Street Stocks (Top 10)
1)Terry Reed-Decatur, IL 460 2)Bobby Beiler-Blue Mound, IL 444 3)Greg Osman-Macon, IL 416 4)Kyle Waters-Oreana, IL 392 5)Brian Dasenbrock-Decatur, IL 352 6)Jeffery Reed, Jr.-Blue Mound, IL 306 7)Jason Scrimpsher-Decatur, IL 280 8)Brian Gaines-Virginia, IL 186 9)Luke Force-Argenta, IL 180 10)Jeremiah Hoadley-Decatur, IL 172

UMP Pro Late Models (Top 10)
1)Guy Taylor-Springfield, IL 588 2)Tommy Sheppard, Jr.-Berlin, IL 588 3)Bobby Beiler-Blue Mound, IL 482 4)Matt Taylor-Springfield, IL 466 5)Robin Huffman Clinton, IL 448 6)Kevin Crowder-Argenta, IL 416 7)Shawn Ziemer-Boody, IL 360 8)Dakota Ewing-Decatur, IL 358 9)Cody Maguire-Carlinville, IL 336 10)Victor Overlin-Decatur, IL 320

Billingsley Towing UMP Modifieds (Top 10)
1)Rodney Standerfer-Germantown, IL 956 2)Jeff Graham-Stonington, IL 914 3)Curt Rhodes-Decatur, IL 798 4)Clark Robertson-Shelbyville, IL 738 5)TD Burger-Saunemin, IL 666 6)David Crawley, Jr.-Decatur, IL 576 7)Joe Strawkas-Buffalo, IL 570 8)Alan Crowder-Elwin, IL 516 9)Randy Spaugh-Decatur, IL 450 10)Zach Rhodes-Taylorville, IL 422

UMP Sportsman (Top 10)
1)Timmy Dick-Monticello, IL 346 2)Tim Bedinger-Taylorville, IL 308 3)Tom Graham-Stonington, IL 302 4)Jeremy Nichols-Shelbyville, IL 282 5)Danny Smith-Argenta, IL 270 6)Dennis Vandermeersch-Springfield, IL 230 7)Phil Moreland-Assumption, IL 190 8)Scott Landers-Taylorville, IL 150 9)Wes O’Dell-Springfield, IL 104 10)Richie Rich-Pontiac, IL 100

UMP B-Mods (Top 10)
1)Thomas Riech-Springfield, IL 568 2)James Farley, III-Springfield, IL 564 3)Ryan Timmons-Centralia, IL 502 4)Roy MaGee, II-Springfield, IL 422 5)Cody Stillwell-Godfrey, IL 358 6)Tim Hancock-Mt. Olive, IL 302 7)Justin Durbin-Mulberry Grove, IL 290 8)Steve Phillips-Neoga, IL 236 9)Wade Glover-Brighton, IL 224 10)Dave Eckel-Lovington, IL 224

UMP Street Stocks (Top 10)
1)Terry Reed-Decatur, Il 1038 2)Brian Dasenbrock-Decatur, IL 920 3)Kyle Waters-Oreana, IL 916 4)Greg Osman-Macon, IL 898 5)Jeffery Reed, Jr.-Blue Mound, IL 820 6)Jason Scrimpsher-Decatur, IL 764 7)Bobby Beiler-Blue Mound, IL 572 8)Dustin Reed-Decatur, IL 466 9)Terry Reed, Sr.-Decatur, IL 462 10)Tharen Reno-Springfield, IL 452

UMP Hornets (Top 10)
1)John Bright, Jr.-Decatur, IL 888 2)Thad Gee-Bloomington, IL 828 3)Adam Webb-Decatur, IL 758 4)Steven Stine-Stonington, IL 748 5)Cook Crawford-Lincoln, IL 596 6)Marty Sullivan-Decatur, IL 584 7)Matthew Reed-Blue Mound, IL 566 8)Michael Gossett-Decatur, IL 558 9)Austin Wickline-Harristown, IL 506 10)Jeremy Reed-Decatur, Il 468

Permanent link to this article: