Felker Returns to Macon Speedway Winner Circle

(Macon, IL) Andrew Felker of Carl Junction, MO., made the move to the lead midway through the 30-lap A-Main in the first-of-five trips to Macon Speedway in 2016 for the POWRi Midgets. Tanner Thorson was in charge for the first 14 laps before Felker made the move for the lead with lapped traffic in the way. Both drivers were sticking to the top of the 1/5th mile but Felker took over with a move known throughout open-wheel racing as the slide job. Before the feature started, there was excitement as Tyler Thomas flipped his Midget after the parade lap when drivers would step on the gas petal and warm their tires. Two-time Chili Bowl champion and driver in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Rico Abreu finished seventh. Decatur native Terry Babb made the final transfer spot for the feature out of the B-Main, started 22nd of 23 cars, and finished fifth.

In the POWRi Micro Sprints, top groove racing prevailed for Frank Galusha. The Lincoln, NE., native followed by both Matthew and Nicholas Howard, Galusha made some of his best moves when the back of the pack was being caught up by the leaders and he managed to put some breathing room between him and the Howards. Blue Mound’s Jeremy Camp managed a top five finish among 23 cars.

Macon Speedway’s newest division debuted Saturday night with the Division II Midgets, formerly known as the Illinois Lightning Sprint Series, with 20 cars. Champaign’s Patrick Bruns rode the high side to the checkered flag in the 20-lap feature event.

The lone Macon Speedway stock car division was the Street Stock class and Nick Justice won back-to-back feature events. Brian Dasenbrock kept second place away from Kyle Waters. Luke Force and Jamie Suddarth completed the top five.

Sunday brings racing to Macon Speedway with the make-up of the rained out Battle of the Prairie Go-Karts event. Gates open at 11am, hot laps at noon with racing starting at 1pm. Saturday night is set to be a mega event at the historic oval with the 3rd Annual St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100, a 100-lap, $12,000-to-win event for the Lucas Oil Late Model Series. Billingsley Towing Modifieds and B-Modifieds are also scheduled.

POWRi Midgets–1. Andrew Felker, 2. Tucker Klaasmeyer, 3. Austin Brown, 4. Justin Peck, 5. Terry Babb, 6. Zach Daum, 7. Rico Abreu, 8. Garrett Aitken, 9. Jake Neuman, 10. Austin Prock

POWRi Micro Sprints–1. Frank Galusha, 2. Matthew Howard, 3. Nicholas Howard, 4. Nathan Benson, 5. Jeremy Camp, 6. Allen Cope, 7. Nic Harris, 8. Garrett Duff, 9. Shelby Bosie, 10. Slater Helt

POWRi Division II Midgets–1. Patrick Bruns, 2. Tyler Vantoll, 3. Johnny Heydenreich, 4. Adam Taylor, 5. Max Pozsgai, 6. Hunter Lane, 7. Austin Archdale, 8. Jason Walls, 9. Jordan Caskey, 10. John Springer

Street Stocks–1. Nick Justice (Decatur), 2. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 3. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 4. Luke Force (Argenta), 5. Jamie Suddarth (Mt. Zion), 6. John Bright, Jr. (Long Creek), 7. Kevin Lewis (Decatur), 8. Terry Reed, Sr. (Decatur), 9. Jeffrey Reed (Blue Mound)

Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2016/04/felker-returns-to-macon-speedway-winner-circle/