​Lucas Oil POWRi National Midgets Coming To Macon Speedway Saturday


Jim Viviano Photo

It’s a big weekend of open wheel racing in Central Illinois as the Lucas Oil POWRi National Midgets and Speedway Motors POWRi Micros fly in to Macon Speedway on Saturday night, May 21, following the huge Arctic Cat All Star Circuit Of Champions show on Friday night at Lincoln Speedway.  Joining POWRi at Macon this Saturday will be the UMP Pro Late Models, UMP Street Stocks, and UMP Hornets.

After sweeping the Missouri Mi State Midget Nationals, Tanner Thorson moved into the second position, 150 points behind Zach Daum in POWRi National Midget points.  Andrew Felker sits in third after taking wins at both Macon and Belle-Clair.  Spencer Bayston holds the fourth position, while Justin Peck rounds out the top five.

In the Speedway Motors POWRi Micros, Marion, IL driver Nathan Benson brought home a second place finish at Southern Illinois Raceway to strengthen his point lead over Slater Helt.  Joe B. Miller tightened the margin between himself and Helt after taking the victory Saturday night.  Shelby Bosie moved into the fourth position after bringing home a fifth place finish at SIR, while Carlee Gress is fifth.

In the UMP Pro Late Model class, current track record holder, Matt Taylor, of Springfield, IL leads the standings by 12 over Dakota Ewing of Decatur.  Taylor has been outstanding early this season, mixing it up at the front of the pack for all three races.  Taylor now has two wins and a second place finish, taking over his brother’s domination from a year ago.  Following Taylor and Ewing are Roben Huffman, Jake Little and Jeffrey Reed.

The UMP Street Stocks had a huge field of cars this past Saturday night, with 26 pitside and 20 taking the green flag.  Leading the standings is Decatur, IL’s Nick Justice.  Justice claimed a couple of wins to start the season and has finished in the top ten of all four features.  Kyle Waters, of Oreana, is second in points, just 16 behind.  John Bright, Jr., Brian Dasenbrock, and Luke Force complete the top five.

Rounding out Saturday’s divisions will be the UMP Hornets.  Blue Mound, IL driver, Tony Reed had two second place finishes last weekend to go along with his third place finish from opening night.  Those three podium results have been enough to give him a six point lead on Michael Gossett.  Ryan Cantrell, Adam Webb, and Mike McChristy round out the top five.

Saturday night’s events are presented by Casey’s General Stores and will feature an Armed Forces Night.  All retired and current military members get in for 1/2 price admission with valid military ID and those in uniform get in for free.

Pit gates will open Saturday at 3:00, grandstands at 5:00, local division pill draw will end at 5:50, hotlaps will begin at 6:00, and racing will take the green at 7:00.  Grandstand admission is $15 for adults and free for 11 and under.

For information on Macon, follow Macon Speedway online at www.maconracing.com, on Facebook (www.facebook.com/maconracing) and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.


POWRi Lucas Oil National Midgets

Pos Driver Points Gap
1 Zach Daum 1900 0
2 Tanner Thorson 1750 150
3 Andrew Felker 1730 170
4 Spencer Bayston 1640 260
5 Justin Peck 1570 330
6 Tucker Klaasmeyer 1350 550
7 Carson Macedo 1240 660
8 Holly Shelton 1240 660
9 Austin Brown 1200 700
10 Jake Neuman 1200 700


POWRi Speedway Motors Micros

Pos Driver Points Gap
1 Nathan Benson 1450 0
2 Slater Helt 1180 270
3 Joe B Miller 1140 310
4 Shelby Bosie 970 480
5 Carlee Gress 810 640
6 Alec Long 810 640
7 Matthew Howard 800 650
8 Jeremy Camp 760 690
9 Chad Elliott 740 710
10 Nic Harris 710 740


UMP Pro Late Models

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 24 Matt Taylor 178 0
2 25 Dakota Ewing 166 12
3 33H Roben Huffman 160 18
4 38J Jake Little 144 34
5 52R Jeffrey Reed 144 34
6 32M Cody Maguire 98 80
7 Z23 Shawn Ziemer 94 84
8 15C Kevin Crowder 90 88
9 6P Jose Parga 60 118
10 4T Guy Taylor 58 120


UMP Street Stocks

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 36 Nick Justice 226 0
2 26 Kyle Waters 210 16
3 7 John Bright, Jr. 164 62
4 08 Brian Dasenbrock 164 62
5 45 Luke Force 156 70
6 5 Terry Reed 154 72
7 3T Kevin Lewis 150 76
8 #1 Terry Reed, Sr 114 112
9 21R Dustin Reed 112 114
10 51 Jeremiah Hoadley 104 122


UMP Hornets

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 1R Tony Reed 162 0
2 G3 Michael Gossett 156 6
3 87 Ryan Cantrell 122 40
4 40 Adam Webb 120 42
5 66 Mike McChristy 116 46
6 39M Marty Sullivan 114 48
7 20 Torry Lyons 108 54
8 J4 Jerad Matherly 108 54
9 25C Caleb Branch 100 62
10 64CK Cook Crawford 94 68

Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2016/05/%e2%80%8blucas-oil-powri-national-midgets-coming-to-macon-speedway-saturday/