Macon Speedway Memorial Day Showcase    

(Macon, IL) Macon Speedway continued its annual tradition of racing on Memorial Day and did so in a big way with seven racing classes. The evening was full of adventure, excitement and frustration for some drivers as checkered flags flew in additon to the American flags.

Tim Hancock went four-for-four in feature wins in the B-Modified division at Macon Speedway. Winning his heat race and starting on the pole for the 15-lap feature, Hancock made short work of the race and cruised to the checkered flag. Following the race, he gave his Macon Speedway Feature Winner trophy to a child just as he has done each of the previous three events.

A little drama in the Beach House Micro Sprint feature race with Belleville’s Tyler Vantoll and Weldon’s Garrett Duff as they stayed close through the early goings but Vantoll kept the motor going strong and finished with the checkered flag.

Unfortunately, the opportunity to win in the Division 2 Midgets was taken from Vantoll on the second turn of the final lap when his engine gave up and he finished third behind Mitchell Davis. Davis, a first-time feature at Macon Speedway, knew the importance of racing every lap and every turn as he was positioned for a second-place finish and with a little lady luck was able to find the winner’s circle.

Terry Reed found the winning groove once again and finished first in the Street Stock division. The race was close as Reed stayed on the bottom and second-place competitor Nick Macklin rode the top side but couldn’t make the final pass for the finish.

In the Billingsley Towing Modifieds, Dave Crawley, Jr. was glued to the bottom of the track and was led the train of cars including Macon Speedway co-owners Ken Schrader and Kenny Wallace, who finished second and third, respectively. Wallace tried a few top side moves but couldn’t get enough going to finish in the top spot.

Crawley had a good run going for himself in the Pro Late Model event, starting from the pole position, thanks in part to the frisbee draw formation, and was leading for the first six laps before disaster found his car and smoke poured from the engine. The motor blew and he was forced to the infield. With five laps to go, Nick Bauman found the lead from Roben Huffman and Matt Taylor who were slowed by a lapped car. Along with the amazing pass of Bauman for the lead, the crowd was wowwed by both Jake Little and Jose Parga. Little drove his Pro Late Model up the wall in turn four and came back down with his foot still on the gas and kept moving. Parga did the same in both turns one and two and also managed to keep his vehicle on the move. Both drivers would finish in the top five.

Top points driver in the Hornets division, Tony Reed, found his way to victory lane with a narrow win over first-time visitor from Belleville, Dallas Lugge. Saturday’s feature winner and tenth-place starter Michael Gossett finished in third.

This Saturday night brings more fun to the race track with the annual Faster Pastor event with local pastors of churches racing it out in the B.G. Nevitt Memorial. There will also be a University Dogs Hot Dog Eating Contest, fans can purchase hot dogs for $1 and there will be racing from the Pro Late Models, Billingsley Towing Modifieds, B-Modifieds, Street Stocks, Beach House Micro Sprints and Hornets.

Pro Late Models–1. Nick Bauman (New Berlin), 2. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 3. Roben Huffman (Midland City), 4. Jose Parga (New Berlin), 5. Jake Little (Pleasant Plains), 6. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 7. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 8. Andy Minett (New Berlin), 9. Cody Maguire (Carlinville), 10. Shawn Ziemer (Boody)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds–1. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 2. Ken Schrader (Concord, NC), 3. Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, MO), 4. Aaron Draege (Vandalia), 5. Curt Rhodes (Taylorville), 6. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown), 7. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville), 8. Tommy Sheppard, Jr. (New Berlin), 9. Brian Lynn (Mason City), 10. Jeff Graham (Taylorville)

Street Stocks–1. Terry Reed (Decatur), 2. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 3. Nick Justice (Decatur), 4. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 5. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 6. Jeremy Nichols (Lovington), 7. Jeremiah Hoadley (Decatur), 8. Aaron Cole (Atwood), 9. Dustin Reed (Decatur), 10. Rudy Zaragoza (Jacksonville)

B-Modifieds–1. Tim Hancock (Mt. Olive), 2. Brett Page (Centralia), 3. Tom Riech (Springfield), 4. Cody Stillwell (Godfrey), 5. Ryan Timmons (Centralia), 6. Tim Riech (Springfield), 7. Ryan Hamilton (Indianapolis, IN), 8. Harold Reed (Decatur), 9. Josh Thomas (Edinburg), 10. Tharen Reno (Springfield)

Beach House Micro Sprints–1. Tyler Vantoll (Belleville), 2. Garrett Duff (Weldon), 3. Evan Weyant (Sherman), 4. Luke Verardi (Taylorville), 5. Tony Clifton (Mt. Zion), 6. Gabe Verardi (Taylorville), 7. Tyler Duff (Weldon), 8. Jeff Beasley (Urbana), 9. Luke Vaughn (Mahomet), 10. Steve Finn (Collinsville)

Division 2 Midgets–1. Mitchell Davis (Auburn), 2. Andy Baugh (Mason City), 3. Tyler Vantoll (Belleville), 4. Jake Neuman (New Berlin), 5. Hunter Lane (Milo, IA), 6. Max Pozsgai (Lincoln), 7. Adam Taylor (Shorewood), 8. Ryan Propst (New Lenox), 9. Johnny Murdock (Kaufman, TX), 10. Jack Routson (Waterman)

Hornets–1. Tony Reed (Blue Mound), 2. Dallas Lugge (Belleville), 3. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 4. Jerad Matherly (Decatur), 5. Aaron Garcia (Belleville), 6. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 7. Ben McChristy (Mt. Zion), 8. Joe McChristy (Mt. Zion), 9. Ryan Cantrell (Decatur), 10. Caleb Branch (Hammond)

Permanent link to this article: