Nichols Doubles Up Checkered Flags At Macon Speedway

(Macon, IL) It took a few laps into the Sportsman and Street Stock features but Jeremy Nichols found a way to the lead and took control of the races en route to two wins. A total of five divisions were on hand with great activities for the kids including a bicycle giveaway and the Raminator Monster Truck.

Tom Graham and Scott Landers started in the front row of the Sportsman feature with Nichols in the second row.   He waited until he found a chance on the top of the oval and passed Graham on the fourth lap. After that, the race was on for second place because Nichols had pulled away from the field. Landers, the son-in-law to Graham, raced behind Graham but caught him on the 11th lap during a spin-out which would send Graham to the tail. Landers would leave the race due to rear end damage. Following behind Nichols to the finish were two drivers from Missouri,Troy Medley and Chris Soutiea.

In the Street Stock division, Nichols was challenged by Nick Justice, Kyle Waters, Greg Osman and Brian Dasenbrock but nobody was able to slow down the J24. Nichols coasted in the 15-lapper to yet another victory.

Defending track champion of the Billingsley Towing Modifieds, Rodney Standerfer, raced side-by-side with Dave Crawley, Jr. for the first two laps of the 20-lap event and pulled away to a victory. The race was without caution and was without a challenger after the fifth lap as Standerfer kept on the gas pedal. Curt Rhodes passed Crawley in the early stages of the race and finished second with Crawley staying in third.

Guy Taylor finally got the best of his brother Matt Taylor in the Pro Late Model feature. Matt Taylor has been winning most of the battles in 2016 but on this night, Guy Taylor was up to the challenge. Racing atop the track, Guy Taylor would easily handle the field and win the 20-lap event.

Michael Gossett started seventh but finished first in the Hornet class. A late pass on Steven Stine would give him the lead and the victory. A slowed car would catch Stine and he would take his foot off the gas pedal allowing Gossett to make the pass.

Macon Speedway’s crowd experienced the true “Wow Factor” with the yearly return of the monster truck Raminator with Mark & Tim Hall. Demolishing three cars in the infield and spinning through the turns, the Raminator was definitely a hit of the night. There were also 30 bicycles given away to kids during the MEGA Bicycle Giveaway.

The next event Macon Speedway features is the annual Memorial Day Special with seven classes and an earlier start time of 6pm. The Pro Late Models race in a Big Ten Series event. Plus, see action from the Billingsley Towing Modifieds, Street Stocks, B-Modifieds, POWRi Division II Midgets, Beach House Micro Sprints and Hornets. Also, NASCAR names and Macon Speedway co-owners Kenny Wallace & Ken Schrader will be on hand to race.

Pro Late Models–1. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 2. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 3. Nick Bauman (New Berlin), 4. Jake Little (Pleasant Plains), 5. Roben Huffman (Midland City), 6. Bobby Beiler (Blue Mound), 7. Cody Maguire (Carlinville), 8. Victor Overlin (Decatur), 9. Andy Minett (Loami), 10. Eric Wilson (Downs)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds–1. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown), 2. Curt Rhodes (Taylorville), 3. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 4. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville), 5. Michael Rauch (Decatur), 6. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 7. Collin Alexander (Clinton), 8. Shawn Vaughn (Loami), 9. Jeff Graham (Taylorville), 10. Danny Smith (Argenta)

Sportsman–1. Jeremy Nichols (Lovington), 2. Troy Medley (Festus, MO.), 3. Chris Soutiea (Peveley, MO.), 4. Danny Smith (Argenta), 5. James Landis (Oreana), 6. Tom Graham (Stonington), 7. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 8. Jim Bedinger (Taylorville), 9. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 10. Ty Nation (Taylorville)

Street Stocks–1. Jeremy Nichols (Lovington), 2. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 3. Nick Justice (Decatur), 4. Greg Osman (Bloomington), 5. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 6. Dustin Reed (Decatur), 7. Rudy Zaragoza (Jacksonville), 8. Ben Medaris (Decatur), 9. John Bright, Jr. (Long Creek), 10. James Bowen (Jacksonville)

Hornets–1.Michael Gossett (Decatur), 2. Tony Reed (Decatur), 3. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 4. Ben McChristy (Mt. Zion), 5. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 6. Jerad Matherly (Decatur), 7. Ryan Cantrell (Decatur), 8. Mike McChristy (Mt. Zion), 9. Derek Peters (Pana), 10. Brian Offer (Springfield)

Permanent link to this article: