Wenger Takes Super Race At Macon Speedway

(MACON, IL) For only the second time in a UMP Super Late Model at Macon Speedway, McKay Wenger carried the checkered flag and won the Lite Beer 50-lap event. Along with Chuck Mitchell and Matt Taylor, Wenger exchanged the lead, the second place, and the third place spots through the first 30 laps. Despite Mitchell looking strong,  Wenger found a way to pass him on the 31st lap but his lead was short lived as Brian Diveley (current points leader in the Midwest Big Ten Series) hooked up on the bottom of the track and found a connection to take the lead on lap 37. Wenger stuck to the high groove and retook the control with four laps to go and hung on to get the victory. For Wenger, it is his second in five races of the Midwest Big Ten Series for the Super Late Models.

Race Statistics: 4 cautions and completed in 18 minutes, 33 seconds. There were four lead changes. Of the 13 cars starting, only two were not able to finish the race. This race featured not only UMP Super Late Models but combined Pro Late Models, as well. The highest finishing Pro Late Model (Guy Taylor-6th place) received a $100 bonus. Dick Taylor won his fifth-and-last Lite Beer Twin 50s race in 1995. The 71-year-old returned in the familiar yellow #24 and gave it another go, finishing tenth.

In the Billingsley Towing Modifieds–the other portion of the Lite Beer Twin 50s–Dave Crawley, Jr. coasted to the checkered flag after an early battle with the 2015 winner Rodney Standerfer. Standerfer broke on the restart of the fourth lap and Crawley would become the leader and would not look back. Although former National Modified Champion Jeff Leka gave Crawley a challenge midway and late through the 50-lapper, Crawley was strong and dominated.

Race Statistics: 8 cautions and completed in 26 minutes, 36 seconds. There were two lead changes. Of the 15 cars starting, only six were able to finish the race. Danny Smith, a two-time Modified winner in the Lite Beer Twin 50s race, ran both races but was unable to finish either due to broken racecars. Smith also competed in the Sportsman class. Dave Crawley, Jr. is the second driver to ever win a Lite Beer Twin 50s race in a Late Model and a Modified. Kyle Logue won a Late Model race in 2014 and Modifieds in 2009. Crawley won the Late Model race in 2015 and the Modified race in 2016. Modifieds began running the Lite Beer Twin 50s in 2008. Prior to that (dating back to 1985), the event was only for Late Models.

In other racing action, Timmy Dick was the winner in the Sportsman division, leading all 15 laps. Danny Smith would finish second and Jeremy Nichols could take third.

Nick Justice strengthened his lead in the Street Stock division with a checkered flag finish. Jeremy Nichols gave Justice a run for his money but couldn’t pass Justice for the lead. Brian Dasenbrock was up for the challenge early but fell to third.

Jerad Matherly took the checkered flag for the first time this season at Macon Speedway with a 15-lap Hornet feature win. He was able to outlast and outduel Michael Gossett and Adam Webb.

Another big-money, big-lap night is awaiting the Macon Speedway drivers next week with the 95Q Firecracker 40s, sponsored by Dynagraphics & Wood Printing. The Pro Late Models and Billingsley Towing Modifieds will complete 40-lap features. Also on the schedule are Sportsman, B-Modifieds, Street Stocks & Hornets. A huge fireworks display will light up Macon during the night, too.

Super Late Models–1. McKay Wenger (Fairbury), 2. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 3. Brian Diveley (Springfield), 4. Jeremy Conaway (Springfield), 5. Chuck Mitchell (Jacksonville), 6. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 7. Greg Kimmons (Pleasant Plains), 8. Joseph Hughes (Springfield), 9. Bo Brockway (Glasford), 10. Dick Taylor (Springfield)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds–1. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 2. Jeff Leka (Buffalo), 3. Curt Rhodes (Taylorville), 4. Clark Robertson (Shelbyville), 5. Jeff Graham (Stonington), 6. Jim Farley III (Springfield), 7. Danny Smith (Argenta), 8. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 9. Austin Odell (Springfield), 10. Shawn Vaughn (Loami)

Sportsman–1. Timmy Dick (Monticello), 2. Danny Smith (Argenta), 3. Jeremy Nichols (Lovington), 4. Tom Graham (Stonington), 5. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 6. James Landis (Oreana), 7. Jerry Myers (Springfield), 8. Tyler Blankenship (St. Elmo), 9. Jose Strawkas (Buffalo)

Street Stocks–1. Nick Justice (Decatur), 2. Jeremy Nichols (Lovington), 3. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 4. Terry Reed (Decatur), 5. Luke Force (Argenta), 6. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 7. Jeff Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 8. Greg Osman (Bloomington), 9. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 10. Dustin Reed (Decatur)

Hornets–1. Jerad Matherly (Decatur), 2. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 3. Adam Webb (Decatur), 4. Steve Stine (Stonington), 5. Tony Reed (Blue Mound), 6. Ryan Cantrell (Decatur), 7. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 8. Torry Lyons (Mt. Pulaski), 9. Anthony Elam (Taylorville), 10. Austin Wickline (Harristown)

Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2016/06/wenger-takes-super-race-at-macon-speedway/