Pierce Stays Hot in Herald & Review 100 Win at Macon Speedway

(Macon, IL) The night started out with historic implications as Mike Harrison broke the Billingsley Towing Modifieds track record during time trials, the 13-year record held by Kyle Logue was snapped and then Harrison’s record stood for nearly one minute before Levi Kissinger broke the newest record. The time trials fastest lap was 11.549. It was then 11.492 by Harrison before becoming 11.425.

The Super Late Model track record remained intact as Billy Moyer’s 10.228 was not topped by any of the 24 drivers. The closest it got was 10.371 by Kevin Weaver, a mere .143 of a second.

As the night went strong, the full house was attracted to the fun of the Super Late Models, A-Modifieds and B-Modifieds as feature time drew near.

Tim Hancock went six-for-six in the B-Modified feature. For the first time in his feature-winning-tenure, Hancock was challenged. Newcomer Denny Tribout was right behind Hancock and tested the leader in every turn and every straightaway. Hancock won by a car length.

Defending track champion Rodney Standerfer qualified second fastest in his group, won his feature and started on the pole for the 25-lap A-Main feature. He would go on to lead all 25 laps and win with plenty of competition coming from Zach Rhodes, Levi Kissinger and Ray Walsh. Kissinger nearly had the lead from Standerfer but as the race drew longer, the lead grew and it was a $1,000 payday for Standerfer.

In the main event, the action was fast and furious and got started with excitement right away as fan favorite and local driver Shannon Babb tested the bottom of the track and clipped the tractor tire causing his machine to flip onto its roof. His night was over on lap 3.

Jason Feger led the first quarter of the Herald & Review 100 before Kevin Weaver caught on strong and took the lead from him and looked strong and on a mission to his fifth Herald & Review 100 championship. But smoke started to pour out of the hood and his car was doomed on lap 38. By lap 39, Bobby Pierce became the man to beat. Pierce has had a remarkable tour. Through 15 races, he has won eight events and had 12 top-five finishes. Pierce blew away the rest of the field and cruised to his very first Herald & Review 100 and opened his lead in the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals points standings.

Race Statistics: The race was completed in 43 minutes with seven caution flags, six were yellows and one red flag. There were three lead changes in the 100 lap event. Pierce, from Oakwood, IL., joins the likes of 14-of-the-last 16 winners of the Herald & Review 100 to be from the state of Illinois. Eight times the winner of the Herald & Review 100 has gone on to win the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals. With Pierce’s win Thursday night, his points lead extends to 200 with eight races remaining on the schedule.

Herald & Review 100 Super Late Models Summer Nationals–1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood), 2. Jason Feger (Bloomington), 3. Bob Gardner (East Peoria), 4. Chuck Mitchell (Jacksonville), 5. Daryn Klein (Fairview Heights), 6. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso), 7. Brian Diveley (Springfield), 8. Rusty Griffaw (Festus, MO), 9. Joseph Hughs (Pleasant Plains), 10. Jake Little (Pleasant Plains)

Summit Modified Nationals–1. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown), 2. Levi Kissinger (Mt. Vernon, IN), 3. Ray Walsh (St. Louis, MO), 4. Josh Harris (Utica, KY), 5. Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, MO), 6. Mike Harrison (Highland), 7. Phil Dixon (Crosby, TX), 8. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville), 9. Chad Evans (Mattoon), 10. Tyler Nicely (Owensboro, KY)

B-Modifieds–1. Tim Hancock (Mt. Olive), 2. Denny Tribout (Millstadt), 3. Tyler Blankenship (St. Elmo), 4. Tom Riech (Springfield), 5. B.J. Deal (Brownstown), 6. Tony Walker (Brighton), 7. Brett Page (Centralia), 8. Tim Riech (Springfield), 9. Travis Hendrickson (Mattoon), 10. Steve Phillips (Neoga)

Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2016/07/pierce-stays-hot-in-herald-review-100-win-at-macon-speedway/