Good Racing, Fireworks, & Carnage Story Of Macon IL Speedway’s Eve Of Destruction

(Macon, IL) History Channel’s program American Daredevils was on hand Saturday night with the crazy Mr. Dizzy and Scarecrow. He wowed a packed house with his activities, mayhem, destruction and stunts. There was also some destruction involving stock cars, too. Many were mangled and beat up by the night’s end but with those scars were memories of great racing action.

Nick Justice was on the gas pedal for the win in the Street Stock division as he faced his toughest challenge in weeks with Terry Reed. Reed, a former champion, stuck to the bottom with Justice but was not enough for the winner as Justice had a little more under the hood on the straightaways.

Matt Taylor won the Pro Late Models 20-lap feature attraction as his brother Guy Taylor inched closer to him during the closing laps but just couldn’t get enough on the top of the track to come up with the lead.

Tim Hancock has been amazing in the 2016 season as he took the checkered flag for the 11th straight time in the B-Modified class. He has been untouchable in this class and continued his win streak. Not only did he win in the B-Modified class, he entered in the Billingsley Towing A-Modified class as well and took second place. It was the second time this season Hancock has entered both classes and ended with a top five finish in each race.

In the Billingsley Towing Modified class, besting Tim Hancock was Cory Daugherty. He was so pleased with the feature win and the top prize. “This makes up for me buying golf clubs yesterday,” said Daugherty in victory lane.

Garrett Duff made short work of the Beach House Micro Sprint feature, leading wire-to-wire in a cautionless race.

The final race of the night was the most unpredictable as Jerad Matherly, who did not start in his heat race with a broken car, started at the tail, worked his way forward and ended up holding the checkered flag at the end of the night. Steven Stine had a strong hold on the lead but Matherly’s car was just took quick on the bottom and took away Stine’s win.

Next week, Macon Speedway features POWRi for the final time on the schedule as the midgets and micro sprints return to Macon. Also on the docket are the Street Stocks and the Pro Late Models.

Pro Late Models–1. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 2. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 3. Roben Huffman (Midland City), 4. Jake Little (Springfield), 5. Kyle McMahon (Opdyke), 6. Cody Maguire (Carlinville), 7. Kevin Crowder (Argenta)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds–1. Cory Daugherty (Blue Mound), 2. Tim Hancock (Mt. Olive), 3. Curt Rhodes (Taylorville), 4. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 5. Wade Glover (Brighton), 6. Jeff Graham (Stonington), 7. Billy Nail (Decatur), 8. Jim Farley III (Springfield), 9. Nick Odell (Springfield) 10. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo)

B-Modified–1. Tim Hancock (Mt. Olive), 2. Cody Stillwell (Godfrey), 3. Brett Page (Centralia), 4. Tommy Gaither (Bunker Hill), 5. Tom Riech (Springfield), 6. Ryan Timmons (Centralia), 7. Eric Brackett (Brighton), 8. Clint Young (Ava), 9. Tim Riech (Springfield), 10. Jamie Riech (Riverton)

Street Stocks–1. Nick Justice (Decatur), 2. Terry Reed (Decatur), 3. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 4. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 5. Phil Taylor (Illiopolis), 6. Luke Force (Argenta), 7. Clint Winchell (East Peoria), 8. Greg Osman (Bloomington), 9. Jason Scrimpsher (Decatur), 10. Rudy Zaragoza (Jacksonville)

Beach House Micro Sprints–1. Garrett Duff (Weldon), 2. Luke Verardi (Taylorville), 3. Tony Clifton (Mt. Zion), 4. Paul Day (Atwood), 5. Jeff Beasley (Urbana), 6. Tyler Duff (Weldon), 7. Chad Baldwin (Lincoln), 8. Molly Day (Atwood), 9. Aiden Purdue (Clinton), 10. Eric Shelton (Decatur)

Hornets–1. Jerad Matherly (Decatur), 2. Steven Stine (Stonington), 3. Ryan Cantrell (Decatur), 4. Torry Lyons (Mt. Pulaski), 5. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 6. Caleb Branch (Hammond), 7. Trebor Henson (Centralia), 8. Ryan Barton (Taylorville), 9. Tony Reed (Blue Mound), 10. Rafe McKenna (Pana)

Permanent link to this article: