Macon Speedway Battles Rain For Rich Camfield Memorial

Thorson Puts On Driving Display To Claim Win

Despite a moderate rainfall that hit right before the scheduled practice time of 6:00, officials and teams worked diligently to dry the track for the 1st annual Rich Camfield Memorial.  Five divisions of action were on hand, with the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midgets headlining the event brought to the fans in part by the Chevrolet Hall Of Fame Museum.

In the UMP Midwest Big Ten Street Stock feature, Jeremy Nichols overcame a first lap crash to win yet another feature.  Nichols, while maneuvering turn three on the first lap, spun sideways, collecting a number of drivers.  While the damage looked to be pretty severe, Nichols was able to continue and hold off the strong Terry Reed.  The Lovington, IL driver was followed by Reed, Nick Justice, Ruzy Zaragoza, and Shawn Ziemer in the top five.

In the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget A-Main, 22-drivers lined up for the Rich Camfield Memorial feature event.  Justin Peck, in the white and black #5x, jumped out into the lead with Spencer Bayston and Jake Neuman in tow.  The first nine laps of the race went caution free before a turn four melee brought out flagman Joey Webb’s yellow.  Back to green, Tanner Thorson, took over the second spot and just a few laps later set his sights on Peck.  Coming from a sixth place starting spot, Thorson took the lead on lap 15, just in time to collect the Phil Sargent ½ way bonus.  Over the last half of the race, Thorson put on a clinic, dicing through lap traffic high and low while building a huge lead.  When the checkered fell, Thorson claimed the victory by over five seconds.  Following the Minden, NV driver was Bayston, Zach Daum, Carson Macedo, and Justin Peck.

23 Speedway Motors Micros took the green in their 20-lap feature event.  Slater Helt raced into the lead at the green with Tony Clifton falling in line behind him.  On lap 14, Helt’s lead came to a halt as Andy Bishop had run him down and cruised by to the inside.  Micro point leader, Nathan Benson was close behind, though, following Helt into second.  With four laps to go, Benson got his chance as a caution waved and lined the field nose-to-tail.  With the green back out after a few failed restarts and pileups, Benson snuck under Bishop to claim the win.  Following the Concordia, MO driver, was Bishop, Helt, Jeremy Camp, and Garrett Duff.

Next on track was the 20-lap UMP Pro Late Model feature.  After the redraw, Nick Bauman and Matt Taylor had front row starting spots.  At the drop of the green, it was Springfield’s Taylor taking the lead.  Bauman, who had some sort of mechanical issue, pulled off the track in the early going.  At that point, Jose Parga and Guy Taylor started a spirited battle for the second spot.  As Taylor closed the door coming off of four, Parga made contact with the rear end of the 4T machine in a battle for real estate.  After some more trading paint, Parga’s right front suspension broke, causing him to slow on the frontstretch, collecting the #32 of Cody Maguire.  As the race wound down, no one had anything for the #24 of Matt Taylor, collecting yet another feature win.

The last event of the night was the UMP Hornet feature event.  Tony Reed started in the second spot and shot into the early lead as polesitter Ryan Cantrell had mechanical issues and blocked vision from his hood flying up.  Jeremy Reed, seventh place starter, wasted no time in getting to the front to battle for the win.  Lap-after-lap, the two battled neck and neck looking for the Mighty Macon trophy.  At the checkered, Jeremy Reed was able to garner the victory, while Tony Reed, Adam Webb, Jacob Wilkinson, and Torry Lyons completed the top five.

Next up for the Track Enterprises crew, will be the Sunday, August 21 100 presented by Jive for the ARCA Racing Series at the Illinois State Fair in Springfield.  The ARCA practice will begin at 9:00 AM with Sportsman on track at 10:00 AM for group practice and qualifying, ARCA qualifying is at 11:15 AM, the Sportsman National feature is at 12:00, and the 100 will take the green at 1:35 PM.  For more info, visit

Later in the week, the crew heads to Lincoln Speedway for the $5,000 to win Summer Nationals makeup for the Super Late Models.  The event will be this coming Thursday, August 25 with Modifieds and B-Mods also in action.  More info at

For Macon Speedway, the next event is next Saturday, August 27, as the Big Ten Super Late Models make a scheduled visit.  Full info at

UMP Street Stocks – 1. Jeremy Nichols, 2. Terry Reed, 3. Nick Justice, 4. Rudy Zaragoza, 5. Shawn Ziemer, 6. Kyle Waters, 7. Luke Force, 8. Kevin Lewis, 9. Terry Reed, Sr., 10. Ben Medaris

POWRi Lucas Oil National Midgets – 1. Tanner Thorson, 2. Spencer Bayston, 3. Zach Daum, 4. Carson Macedo, 5. Justin Peck, 6. Tucker Klaasmeyer, 7. Ryan Robinson, 8. Daniel Adler, 9. Jake Neuman, 10. Tim Siner

POWRi Speedway Motors Micros – 1. Nathan Benson, 2. Andy Bishop, 3. Slater Helt, 4. Jeremy Camp, 5. Garrett Duff, 6. Tony Clifton, 7. Jacob Patton, 8. Jeff Beasley, 9. Derek Lemaster, 10. Steve Finn

UMP Pro Late Models – 1. Matt Taylor, 2. Guy Taylor, 3. Kevin Crowder, 4. Cody Maguire, 5. Michael Maestus, 6. Jose Parga, 7. Nick Bauman

UMP Hornets – 1. Jeremy Reed, 2. Tony Reed, 3. Adam Webb 4. Jacob Wilkinson 5. Torry Lyons 6. Cook Crawford 7. Jerad Matherly 8. Ryan Cantrell

Permanent link to this article: