Macon Speedway Fans To Meet Drivers During Special Autograph Session Saturday

Big Ten Pro Late Models In Action Plus Kenny Wallace Joins The Mods

After a record setting night on September 10th, the cars and stars of Macon IL Speedway will be taylorville-night-flier-2016back in action this coming Saturday, September 17th for another action packed evening presented by Budweiser and Skeff Distributing.  On tap will be six divisions of racing with a Midwest Big Ten Pro Late Model point event, NASCAR’s Kenny Wallace and all the Macon Modified stars, and a special pre-race meet and greet autograph session held on the racetrack for all fans in attendance.

This Saturday’s event will look to carry the momentum of the impressive second running of the John Osman Memorial last Saturday.  A huge field of 40 Street Stocks put on a great show in addition to large fields in the other classes.  In all, 114 cars were pitside making it one of the best car counts for the track in recent memory.   Action on track did not disappoint, keeping fans on the edge of their seats all night long.

The September 17th program will start with a special on track autograph session, giving fans a chance to meet their favorite drivers, chat, take some photos, grab some autographs, and see the cars up close and in person.  The session will be right after qualifying and before racing begins, starting around 6:45.  In addition to all of the Macon Speedway stars, NASCAR personality Kenny Wallace will be on track signing before he takes to the track with his Modified.

Headlining the racing program will be the Midwest Big Ten Series Pro Late Models.  So far, seven events have been held for the tour.  Leading the standings is Springfield, IL driver Matt Taylor, who has claimed two wins, one at Macon and the other at Jacksonville.  Springfield’s Jake Little is second, just 18 points behind, despite not winning a Big Ten race this year.  Nick Bauman is third in the points, claiming wins at Lincoln and Macon.  Cody Maguire and Roben Huffman complete the top five in standings.  Guy Taylor has won two events and Brian Lynn claimed the other, but find themselves out of the top five in points.

Taylorville, IL driver Curt Rhodes comes into Saturday’s event leading the Billingsley Towing UMP Modified standings by 108 over Stonington’s Jeff Graham.  Rhodes has had a great season in 2016, not only at Macon but at Lincoln Speedway as well.  Following the two-time 2016 feature winner is Graham who is looking for his first win of the season.  Graham finished up in the runner-up spot in the standings one year ago to Rodney Standerfer, who is third in points this year.  Alan Crowder and Zach Rhodes round out the top five.

This week, an extra $300 is on the line in the UMP B-Mod division at the track.  The bonus money is the bounty that is on the Tim Hancock #0.  The Mt. Olive, IL driver has won all 13 features this season and leads the points by 142 over Ryan Timmons.  Timmons, ironically, had mechanical issues last week and reports are that he will be driving the Hancock team car this Saturday night.  Saturday’s feature will be the sixth since the bounty was enacted on Hancock.  To be claimed, a driver must beat Hancock and Hancock must finish the feature.  Cody Stillwell, Tom Riech, and Tim Riech round out the top five in points.

Back in action this Saturday will be the Beach House Outlaw Winged Micros.  Counting the POWRi events, the division has run at the 1/5-mile seven times this season.  In the non-POWRi events, Garrett Duff, Jeremy Camp, and Tyler Vantoll have taken the wins. Duff has been most consistent taking a pair of seconds and a first.  The Micros put on great shows at Macon Speedway, a track that is about perfect for them.

Rounding out the classes will be the UMP Street Stocks and UMP Hornets.  The Street Stocks put on an outstanding show for the $2,000 top prize last Saturday for the Osman Memorial and great battles are the norm at the Macon weekly shows as well.  Same can be said for the Hornets, as the car count has been up in 2016 at not only Macon but Lincoln as well.  The class has been a little on the rough side at time but has put on numerous great shows as well.

Pit gates open Saturday at 4:00, grandstands at 5:00, drivers meeting is set for 5:45, and hotlaps will begin at 6:00.  The on track autograph session is scheduled for 6:45 with racing action to follow.  Grandstand admission is just $12 for adults and free for kids 11 and under.

For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.

Macon Speedway Remaining Schedule
Saturday, September 17 – Six Division Show Plus Driver Meet And Greet/Autographs
Saturday, September 24 – Five Buck Night!! $5 Grandstand Admission/$5 Concession Specials/Six Division Show/CEFCU Kid’s Club/Hornet World Championships
Saturday, October 1 – Season Championship Finale/Six Division Show


Midwest Big Ten UMP Pro Late Models

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 24 Matt Taylor 388 0
2 38J Jake Little 370 18
3 B1 Nick Bauman 338 50
4 32M Cody Maguire 326 62
5 33H Roben Huffman 320 68
6 1M Andy Minett 280 108
7 4T Guy Taylor 278 110
8 7Z Michael Maestus 202 186
9 11E Brandon Eskew 200 188
10 9M Melissa Hansmeyer 162 226

Billingsley Towing UMP Modifieds

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 10 Curt Rhodes 750 0
2 71 Jeff Graham 642 108
3 28 Rodney Standerfer 622 128
4 14C Alan Crowder 588 162
5 11 Zach Rhodes 550 200
6 37 Dave Crawley, Jr 434 316
7 10A Shawn Vaughn 406 344
8 3 Wade Glover 358 392
9 15L Jim Farley III 326 424
10 96 Cory Daugherty 318 432

UMP B-Mods

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 0 Tim Hancock 780 0
2 23 Ryan Timmons 638 142
3 00s Cody Stillwell 620 160
4 57R Tom Riech 606 174
5 55 Tim Riech 572 208
6 2 Eric Brackett 514 266
7 66 Roy Magee 284 496
8 32 Brett Page 276 504
9 14 Tommy Gaither 254 526
10 51 Jamie Riech 242 538

UMP Street Stocks

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 36 Nick Justice 902 0
2 26 Kyle Waters 816 86
3 08 Brian Dasenbrock 736 166
4 45 Luke Force 610 292
5 J24 Jeremy Nichols 514 388
6 5 Terry Reed 494 408
7 28 Greg Osman 468 434
8 21R Dustin Reed 450 452
9 3T Kevin Lewis 434 468
10 7 John Bright, Jr. 432 470

UMP Hornets

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 1R Tony Reed 818 0
2 J4 Jerad Matherly 802 16
3 87 Ryan Cantrell 712 106
4 64CK Cook Crawford 666 152
5 20 Torry Lyons 552 266
6 39M Marty Sullivan 452 366
7 66 Mike McChristy 376 442
8 G3 Mike Gossett 374 444
9 33 Jeremy Reed 366 452
10 40 Adam Webb 350 468

Permanent link to this article: