Nichols Takes Double Checkers at Macon Speedway

(Macon, IL) Jeremy Nichols has been racing at Macon Speedway for a long time. He’s raced nearly every class the track has offered and he’s won his fair share of championship, as well. On the week before the finale, Nichols once again graced victory lane not once, but twice. Beginning in the fourth position (second row inside) in the Sportsman division, Nichols manuevered for the lead early in the 15-lap A-Main event and took off for a comfortable lead. In the Big Ten Series Street Stock race, a 20-lapper, Nichols started second position (first row outside) and dashed away from Nick Macklin and Nick Justice for the win. The victory clinched the Big Ten Series Championship for Nichols, which takes the eight-of-the-best-ten finishes among drivers. Darrell Dick started tenth and managed to finish second with a strong run.

Curt Rhodes is going to be the Billingsley Towing Modifieds track champion for 2016 and got the party started with a late-lap pass of his son Zach for the checkered flag. Running second to Zach, Curt wasn’t about to run blocker to just let his son get the victory. He was going to make him earn it but the elder Rhodes got to the top side while the younger Rhodes stayed on the bottom and made the pass.

Tim Hancock remains undefeated in the B-Modifieds class. He has won all 15 15-lap features in the 2016 season. One week remains to determine whether Hancock can run a perfect season.

Aaron Andruskevitch had a strong run in the Beach House Micro Sprints class. Winning his heat race and starting in the first row, Andruskevitch made quick work of the 13-car field and once again found the winner’s circle.

Tyler Vantoll took the checkered flag in the POWRi/Illini Division II Midgets. Vantoll has run second many times but has yet to taste victory at Macon Speedway but that lack of success ended Saturday night as the Belleville driver finally came through.

In the finale of the night, the Hornet World Championship race, Adam Webb of Decatur took the lead from Ricky Carriker on the 11th lap to take the 20-lap win and big six-foot-tall trophy.Carriker, of Wood River, started on the pole and Webb started in the second row but caught up quickly to close in on the leader.

Sportsman–1. Jeremy Nichols (Lovington), 2. Dennis Vandermeersch (Springfield), 3. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 4. Danny Smith (Argenta), 5. Patrick Hawkins (Imperial, MO), 6. Scott Williams (Anchor), 7. Brandon Pralle (Ashkum), 8. Terry Myers (Springfield), 9. Nathan Whalen, 10. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville)

Billingsley Towing Modifieds–1. Curt Rhodes (Taylorville), 2. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville), 3. Lance Dehm (Chatsworth), 4. Tim Luttrell (Riverton), 5. Cory Daugherty (Blue Mound), 6. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 7. Rodney Standerfer (Summerfield), 8. Jeremy Nichols (Lovington), 9. Jacob Steinkoenig (Highland), 10. Brett Korves (Swansen)

Street Stocks–1. Jeremy Nichols (Lovington), 2. Darrell Dick (Bloomington), 3. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 4. Terry Reed (Decatur), 5. Charles Biesenthal (Athens), 6. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 7. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 8. Billy Nail (Decatur), 9. Shawn Ziemer (Boody), 10. Jeff Watts (Decatur)

B-Modifieds–1. Tim Hancock (Mt. Olive), 2. Clint Young (Ava), 3. Tom Riech (Springfield), 4. Cody Stillwell (Godfrey), 5. Brett Korves (Swansen), 6. Ryan Timmons (Centralia), 7. Nathan Schmitt (Trenton), 8. Tim Riech (Petersburg), 9. Ryan Hamilton (Indianapolis, IN), 10. Jeffrey Pasqualone (Freeburg)

Beach House Micro Sprints–1. Aaron Andruskevitch (Riverton), 2. Kurt Westerfield, 3. Garrett Duff (Weldon), 4. Aiden Purdue (Clinton), 5. Luke Vaughn (Mahomet), 6. Evan Turner (Jacksonville), 7. Gabe Verardi (Taylorville), 8. Tyler Duff (Weldon), 9. Tony Clifton (Mt. Zion), 10. Zach Boden (Madison, WI)

POWRi/Illini Division II Midgets–1. Tyler Vantoll (Belleville), 2. Adam Taylor (Shorewood), 3. Jason Walls (St. James, MO), 4. Patrick Bruns (Champaign), 5. Wyatt Teare (Rankin)

Hornets–1. Adam Webb (Decatur), 2. Dallas Lugge (Belleville), 3. Ricky Carriker (Wood River), 4. Tony Reed (Blue Mound), 5. Aaron Garcia (Belleville), 6. Brad Rexroad (Hammond), 7. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 8. Steven Stine (Stonington), 9. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 10. Fred Reed (Decatur)

Permanent link to this article: