Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Ready For Macon Saturday

St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 To Pay $12,000 To Winner

MACON, IL (April 24, 2017) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will close out the month of April by visiting the Midwest for two thrilling events.  One of those two is coming up this Saturday night at the Mighty Macon Speedway 1/5-mile in Macon, IL.  The 100-lap event will be paying $12,000 to the winner and will see some of the best Super Late Model drivers in the country, vying for the top prize.

The 4th Annual St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 at Macon Speedway will cap off a weekend for the Lucas Oil Late Models that see them at Tri-City Speedway on Friday then Macon on Saturday, April 29th. The highly-anticipated event at the 1/5-mile bullring will include a complete program of: Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and the 100-lap, $12,000-to-win main event.

In 2016, Bobby Pierce wrestled his No. 32 entry to Victory Lane after a grueling 100-laps with no power steering.  Brandon Sheppard finished a close second, followed by: Earl Pearson Jr., Don O’Neal, and Darrell Lanigan.  The racing was unbelievable for the complete 100 laps with the end of the race being crazy down the stretch, seeing three wide racing for the lead spot.

The Open Wheel Modifieds will be racing for $1,000 to win and $100 to start this week as part of the special event.  Heading into the week, the point lead is shared by a father/son combo.  Mason City’s Brian Lynn, who won on opening night, and his son, Austin Lynn, who finished second to UMP National Champion, Mike Harrison, are tied at the top of the standings.  The Lynn’s have been a nice addition to the Billingsley Elite Wash Modified division early this season, as they are normally just part time competitors at the track.  Last year’s champion, Curt Rhodes, is third in points, while Wade Glover and Tim Luttrell complete the top five.

Rounding out the Saturday card will be the UMP B-Mods, which had 22 cars this past Saturday night.  Cody Stillwell leads the way by just two points over Tom Riech.  Jerry Thompson, Tim Hancock, and Justin Durbin complete the top five.  Stillwell and Tim Hancock have won this year’s features.

Pit gates will open Saturday at 3:00, grandstands at 4:00, local division pill draw ends at 5:50, hotlaps start at 6:00, and racing will take the green at 7:00.  Grandstand admission is $30 for adults and $5 for kids 11 and under.

About Macon Speedway:

For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.

Lucas Oil Championship Standings:

1 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN 2260  
2 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY 2140 -120
3 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV 2110 -150
4 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN 1980 -280
5 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN 1955 -305
6 1 Earl Pearson Jr. Jacksonville, FL 1950 -310
7 28e Dennis Erb Jr. Carpentersville, IL 1890 -370
8 14 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY 1870 -390
9 15 Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY 1720 -540
10 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN 1640 -620
11 22 Gregg Satterlee Rochester Mills, PA 1625 -635
12 99B Boom Briggs Bear Lake, PA 1555 -705
13 C8 Timothy Culp Prattsville, AR 1395 -865
14 49 Jonathan Davenport Williamson, SC 1370 -890
15 75 Colton Flinner Allison Park, PA 1360 -900

Macon Speedway
Phone Number 217-764-3000
Track Promoter: Bob Sargent
Location: 205 North Wiles, Macon, IL 62544

Tire Rule for Macon Speedway – April 29th:
Left Rear/Fronts – Hoosier LM20
Right Rear – Hoosier LM20, LM40 (no cutting, no siping)

Macon Speedway April 29th Event Purse:
1. $12,000, 2. $5,500, 3. $3,500, 4. $2,750, 5. $2,250, 6. $1,800, 7. $1,500, 8. $1,300, 9. $1,200, 10. $1,100, 11. $1,075, 12. $1,050, 13. $1,025, 14. $1,000, 15. $1,000, 16. $1,000, 17. $1,000, 17. $1,000, 19. $1,000, 20. $1,000, 21. $1,000, 22. $1,000, 23. $1,000, 24. $1,000

Permanent link to this article: