Thrilling Finishes Cap Cold Night At Macon Speedway

Thrilling Finishes Caps Cold Night at Macon Speedway

(Macon, IL) Remarkable finishes highlighted a cold night of stock car racing at Macon Speedway Saturday evening. Dave Crawley, Jr. outlasted Jeremy Nichols in the Big Ten Series Street Stock Series 20-lap feature 24 hours after Nichols bested Crawley at Lincoln Speedway. And in the safe fashion for both races, it was close, side-by-side and lapped traffic played key roles in lead changes. Friday, Nichols took advantage in a special 40-lap event and lapped traffic helped him edge out Crawley. Saturday was the opposite story in half the laps.

Austin Lynn looked untouchable in the Billingsley Elite Wash Modifieds feature until Mike Harrison caught up and made things interesting. Lynn and Harrison traded the lead for two laps of back and forth passing from the bottom to the top and only a lap seven caution led to Lynn’s undoing. On the restart, Lynn went up too high and got caught in the cushion of mud near the wall and slowed his machine down enough for Harrison, who started fifth, to claim the lead out of the second turn and run away to the checkered flag.

Tim Hancock ran into troubles at Opening Night when he broke his transmission in the closing laps while running second. The defending track champion took care of business and was only challenged by his son, Tim Hancock, Jr., in the car Tim Hancock went 17-for-17 in features a season ago. Hancock was most notable for giving away his trophies at the end of the race decided to hold onto this one and give to his granddaughter.

Tommy Sheppard, Jr. started in the front row and kept hold of the lead from the beginning for the length of 20 laps. Matt Taylor, last week’s feature winner, stayed close but was not able make the move for the lead.

In victory lane for the first time this season in the Hornet division was Ryan Cantrell. It was his second feature win in two seasons at Macon Speedway.

Tyler Vantoll made a pass on Aidan Roosevans for the win and checkered flag in the first appearance of the season for the POWRi Division 2 Midgets.

Macon Speedway brings along a thrilling ride to the show next week with the 3rd Annual St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 with the Lucas Oil Late Model Series battling for $12,000-to-win. Billingsley Elite Wash Modifieds and B-Modifieds make up the show for next Saturday. Grandstands will open at 4pm with the racing beginning at 7pm.

Billingsley Elite Wash Modifieds–1. Mike Harrison (Highland), 2. Austin Lynn (Mason City), 3. Zeb Moake (Freeburg), 4. Brian Lynn (Mason City), 5. Curt Rhodes (Taylorville), 6. Danny Smith (Argenta), 7. Tim Luttrell (Riverton), 8. Wade Glover (Brighton), 9. Jacob Steinkoenig (Highland), 10. Alan Crowder (Elwin)

Big Ten Street Stock Series–1. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 2. Jeremy Nichols (Lovington), 3. Darrell Dick (Monticello), 4. Justin Layne (Alsey), 5. Shawn Ziemer (Boody), 6. Wes Biesenthal (Athens), 7. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 8. Jason Scrimpsher (Decatur), 9. Fredie Thomas, 10. Walt Layne (Alsey)

B-Modifieds–1. Tim Hancock (Mt. Olive), 2. Tim Hancock, Jr. (Mt. Olive), 3. TJ Frazier (Lebanon), 4. Brett Korves (Swansen), 5. Clint Young (Ava), 6. Justin Durbin, 7. Jerry Thompson (Troy), 8. Tom Riech (Springfield), 9. Cody Stillwell (Godfrey), 10. Tommy Gaither (Bunker Hill)

POWRi Division 2 Midgets–1. Tyler Vantoll (Belleville), 2. Aidan Roosevans (O’Fallon), 3. Ryan Probst (New Lenox), 4. Josh Thomas (Edinburg), 5. Daltyn England

Pro Late Models–1. Tommy Sheppard, Jr. (New Berlin), 2. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 3. Nick Justice (Decatur), 4. Cody Maguire (Carlinville), 5. Rudy Zaragoza (Jacksonville), 6. Jeff Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 7. Shawn Vaughn (Loami), 8. Bob Sidner (Springfield), 9. Roben Huffman (Midland City), 10. Brianna Sheppard (New Berlin)

Hornets–1. Ryan Cantrell (Decatur), 2. Dustin Reed (Decatur), 3. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 4. Kasey Cantrell (Decatur), 5. Rachel Sattley (Decatur)

Permanent link to this article: