May 10, 2017 archive

POWRi Lucas Oil National Midgets Heading To Macon This Saturday

(Macon, IL) – This Saturday, May 13, the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League will be heading to Macon Speedway for their first visit of 2017.  It’s all part of a doubleheader weekend that includes a Friday stop at Jacksonville Speedway in Jacksonville, Illinois.  Saturday’s stop at “Mighty Macon” will also include the 600cc Outlaws of the POWRi Speedway Motors Micro League.  The Midwest Big Ten Pro Late Models, Street Stocks, and Hornets will make for an action packed evening.

Heading into the Midwest Season Opening Weekend, the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League saw a repeat winner and a career-first during the Missouri Mid-State Midget Nationals Weekend, with Tyler Thomas taking his seventh-career feature win with the League at Valley Speedway, while Tyler Courtney wheeled his way to win number one with the League at the title sponsor-owned, “Diamond of Dirt Tracks,” Lucas Oil Speedway.

The most recent running of the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League saw repeat winners at I-44 Riverside Speedway in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.  Frank Flud and Frank Galusha each took wins making the Fourth Annual Turnpike Challenge, the “Frank” show.  Nathan Benson again proves to be the one to beat when it comes to consistency, as the four-time champion is already atop the charts, leading the standings heading into the weekend.

In the Midwest Big Ten Pro Late Models, Guy Taylor, of Springfield, IL, leads the standings after a win in the Big 10 opener at Lincoln Speedway last Friday night.  Taylor started in the 6th spot and made his way into the lead after a three car battle with Roben Huffman and Cody Maguire.  Saturday night will be the second event for the Big Ten Pro Late Models this season.

In the UMP Street Stock class, Brian Dasenbrock of Decatur, IL, has taken the lead in the standings, using week-to-week consistency to move up.  Shawn Ziemer, Jason Scrimpsher, and Garrett Lewis complete the top four, none of which have claimed a feature win quite yet.  This year’s winners have been Jeremy Nichols, Terry Reed, and Dave Crawley, Jr.

Rounding out the Saturday night card will be the UMP Hornets.  The car count has started low but has seen some slight improvement lately.  Decatur, IL driver, Ryan Cantrell, leads the points after winning the last two features.  Dustin Reed, Cook Crawford, Brad Rexroad, and Kasey Cantrell complete the top five in points.  Adam Webb, who is seventh in points, won the other feature this season.

Pit gates will open this Saturday at 3:00, grandstands at 4:00, local division pill draw will end at 5:50, hotlaps will begin at 6:00, and racing will take the green at 7:00.  Grandstand admission is $15 for adults and free for kids 11 and under.

About Macon Speedway:
                For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials. Macon Speedway is a proud member of the Contingency Connection’s $100,000 Racer Rewards Program.

For further information on POWRi, visit, “Like” POWRi on Facebook and follow @POWRi_Racing on Twitter.


POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League

Pos Driver Points Gap
1 Zach Daum 1100 0
2 Logan Seavey 1000 100
3 Spencer Bayston 970 130
4 Ryan Robinson 830 270
5 Tucker Klaasmeyer 790 310
6 Holly Shelton 790 310
7 Jake Neuman 760 340
8 Tanner Carrick 720 380
9 Andrew Felker 700 400
10 Austin Brown 690 410

POWRi Speedway Motors National Micro League

Pos Driver Points Gap
1 Nathan Benson 560 0
2 Frank Flud 540 20
3 Jim Woods 490 70
4 Harley Hollan 430 130
5 Frank Galusha 400 160
6 Andy Bishop 390 170
7 Slater Helt 380 180
8 Jason McDougal 380 180
9 Derrik Ortega 370 190
10 Joe B Miller 360 200


UMP Midwest Big Ten Pro Late Models

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 24 Guy Taylor 60 0
2 11E Brandon Eskew 58 2
3 32M Cody Maguire 56 4
4 1M Andy Minett 54 6
5 10A Shawn Vaughn 52 8
6 2K Kyle Van Dorn 50 10
7 A10 Bob Sinder 48 12
8 T22 Tegan Evans 46 14
9 21 JR Maple 44 16
10 33H Roben Huffman 42 18

Macon Speedway UMP Pro Late Models

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 24 Matt Taylor 176 0
2 T6 Tommy Sheppard Jr 174 2
3 32M Cody Maguire 144 32
4 52R Jeff Reed, Jr 142 34
5 10A Shawn Vaughn 140 36
6 36 Nick Justice 126 50
7 38J Jake Little 114 62
8 84 Myles Moos 98 78
9 67R Rudy Zaragoza 96 80
10 33H Roben Huffman 94 82

Macon Speedway UMP Street Stocks

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 08 Brian Dasenbrock 158 0
2 23Z Shawn Ziemer 152 6
3 55S Jason Scrimpsher 136 22
4 28L Garrett Lewis 122 36
5 J24 Jeremy Nichols 118 40
6 5 Terry Reed 114 44
7 22X Darrell Dick 114 44
8 711W Walt Layne 94 64
9 1 Fredie Thomas 82 76
10 711 Justin Layne 64 94

Macon Speedway UMP Hornets

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 87 Ryan Cantrell 178 0
2 1R Dustin Reed 156 22
3 64CK Cook Crawford 152 26
4 911 Brad Rexroad 112 66
5 87K Kasey Cantrell 102 76
6 39M Marty Sullivan 102 76
7 40 Adam Webb 60 118
8 M2 Matt Adkins 52 126
9 25C Caleb Branch 52 126
10 42 Rachel Sattley 52 126

Permanent link to this article:

Beach House To Present Plenty Of Micro Racing At Macon

In addition to the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midgets making their first appearance this Saturday, the POWRi Speedway Motors Micros, presented by Beach House Restaurant will be racing for the first of at least 10 times at the track.
While three of the visits this season will be national events with POWRi, all of the Micro events are presented by the Beach House, located on the shores of Lake Decatur.
The track is a popular one for the class, as national events draw in upwards of 50 cars and non-sanctioned track shows for the Beach House Micros have fields around 20. The drivers age range starts very young with a good number of talented veterans mixed in.
Macon Speedway fans will be seeing a lot of the Beach House Micros this summer, starting with this Saturday as well as May 29. Other dates at this time are June 3, July 1, July 8, July 29, August 12, August 19, September 2, and September 23. Additional dates are possible.
The Beach House Restaurant features seafood, steaks & flatbreads served in a classic, stone-walled dining room with patio on the water. There are delicious lunch and dinner menus to fit your needs and appetite.
For more info on the restaurant, visit

Permanent link to this article: