September 23, 2017 archive

Reed Races to Hornet World Championship Victory

***Macon Speedway LIVE is available ON-DEMAND for JUST FIVE BUCKS. Catch the whole night’s action for just $5 and watch on your smart phone, tablet, laptop, or desktop. Go to and click on the Macon Speedway LIVE image to order.
(Macon, IL) Jeremy Reed has been a National Hornet Champion and a Macon Speedway track champion. Saturday night, Reed grabbed a five-foot trophy and the World Hornet Championship race. Leading from the pole position, Reed dashed away from the top drivers behind him and made short work of the 15-lap feature race.
Dennis Vandermeersch had a smooth ride in the Sportsman division as he claimed back-to-back feature wins. This week’s race was less adventuresome than the previous week’s race as he dashed away from the group of cars.
Rudy Zaragoza has figured it out in the Street Stock division. Zaragoza, a hearing-impared driver from Jacksonville, tasted victory lane once this season in the Pro Late Model class and Saturday night, he made a late-race pass to get ahead of points leader Brian Dasenbrock to secure the top spot and hold on for his first checkered flag in the Street Stocks. The full crowd went wild for Zaragoza with applause as he exited the racecar.
Curt Rhodes made things interesting at the finish of the Billingsley Elite Wash Modified A-Main attraction. Rhodes had a strong hold on the lead and looked like a sure-lock for the win until he made a few miscues in the corners allowing Tim Hancock and his son Zach Rhodes to close the gap. Curt Rhodes would be behind Hancock with the final lap looming but the horsepower of the A-Modified was too much for the Hancock B-Modified down the back stretch and pulled away.
Tim Hancock would, however, taste victory lane again in the B-Modified feature. Hancock, using the same car to race in both A-Modified and B-Modified divisions, did claim his heat race in the A-Modified event.
Jeremy Camp charged from the second row to win the Beach House Micro Sprint feature in the Micro Sprints final appearance at Macon Speedway in the 2017 season.
Only one week remains in the 2017 Macon Speedway schedule. The season finale on the final night of September will close the 72nd year of consecutive stock car racing at Macon Speedway and the 11th under the ownership regime of local promoter Bob Sargent, NASCAR drivers Kenny Wallace, Ken Schrader and Tony Stewart. The night will feature six racing classes–Pro Late Models, Billingsley Elite Wash Modifieds, Sportsman, Street Stocks, B-Modifieds and Hornets–and the track champions will be figured out by the night’s end.
Macon Speedway wishes to thank those who packed the stands and took advantage of the $5 admission on Five Buck Night sponsored by Sun Drop and Melling Performance.
Hornets–1. Jeremy Reed (Decatur), 2. Jeff Reed, Jr. (Blue Mound), 3. Fred Reed (Decatur), 4. John Bright, Jr. (Long Creek), 5. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 6. Matt Reed (Decatur), 7. Carter Dart (Springfield), 8. Paul Peters (Pana), 9. John Lewis (Cerro Gordo), 10. Tristin Quinlan (Decatur)
Sportsman–1. Dennis Vandermeersch (Arlington), 2. Wes O’Dell (Springfield), 3. Timmy Dick (Monticello), 4. Brandon Pralle (Ashkum), 5. Steven Mattingly (Chenoa), 6. Danny Smith (Argenta), 7. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 8. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 9. Phillip Moreland (Assumption), 10. Terry Myers (Buffalo)
Street Stocks–1. Rudy Zaragoza (Jacksonville), 2. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 3. Darrell Dick (Monticello), 4. Shawn Ziemer (Boody), 5. Justin Crowell (Lincoln), 6. Cecil Tippit (Mt. Zion), 7. Jerit Murphy (Lodge), 8. Greg Roberts (Varna), 9. Roy Beal (Springfield), 10. Fredie Thomas (Macon)
Billingsley Elite Wash Modifieds–1. Curt Rhodes (Taylorville), 2. Zach Rhodes (Taylorville), 3. Tim Hancock (Mt. Olive), 4. Danny Smith (Argenta), 5. Jeff Graham (Stonington), 6. Tom Riech (Springfield), 7. Cody Stillwell (Godfrey), 8. Austin Lynn (Mason City), 9. Alan Crowder (Elwin), 10. Amanda Adams (Shelbyville)
B-Modifieds–1. Tim Hancock (Mt. Olive), 2. Cody Stillwell (Godfrey), 3. Jerry Thompson (Troy), 4. Richie Gabriel (Godfrey), 5. Tim Riech (Petersburg), 6. Ryan Timmons (Centralia), 7. Joey Lee (Farina), 8. Jim Farley III (Springfield), 9. Kevin Crowder (Argenta), 10. Amanda Adams (Shelbyville)
Beach House Micro Sprints–1. Jeremy Camp (Sullivan), 2. Tyler Day (Atwood), 3. Aiden Purdue (Clinton), 4. Drake Turner (Sullivan, IN), 5. Trevin Littleton (Jacksonville), 6. J.B. Gilbert (Monticello), 7. Jeff Beasley (Urbana), 8. Michael Brummitt (Mt. Zion), 9. Zach Boden (Madison, WI), 10. Tony Clifton (Mt. Zion)

Permanent link to this article:

It’s 5 Buck Night Race Day At Macon Speedway!

You are reading that right! Just 5 dollar adult general admission to see some of the most exciting racing in Central Illinois. There are some awesome giveaways too.

Melling Performance Parts has provided us plenty of giveaways for fans, including soft lunch coolers, can koozies, decals, and pens. The earlier you arrive, the better the prizes. In addition to that the Billingsley BP Elite Wash Modified and Sportsman feature winners will receive $150 Melling product certificate, Melling T-Shirt, Melling Hat, Melling Cooler, & Melling Koozie.

Fans will receive FREE product from Sun Drop as they leave the track! Join us for a great night at the races!

Full program information:

Hornet World Championships
CEFCU Kid’s Club

Billingsley BP Elite Wash DIRTcar UMP Modifieds
UMP B-Mods
UMP Sportsman
UMP Street Stocks
UMP Hornets
Beach House 600cc Winged Micro Sprints

Pits: 4:00
Stands: 5:00
Local Pill Draw Ends: 5:50
Hot Laps: 6:00
Racing: 7:00

Grandstand Pricing:
Adults – $5
Children 11 & Under – Free

About Macon Speedway:

For more information, follow Macon Speedway online, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials. Macon Speedway is a proud member of theContingency Connection‘s $100,000 Racer Rewards Program.

Permanent link to this article: