April 21, 2018 archive

Season Opens With Large Turnout And Premium Excitement 

(Macon, IL) For the 73rd time in consecutive years, Macon Speedway opened up its dirt track racing season. It was chilly and windy but fans braved the cold conditions to fill the grandstands with a huge crowd and drivers who have been itching to get back into their seat to spin laps showed up in full force with nearly 100 cars. Six racing classes plus an attraction of Spectator Drag Racing at intermission gave fans plenty to enjoy.
Dennis Vandermeersch has been racing at Macon Speedway for the last 30-plus years and after winning the first race of the season in the Sportsman group, he said it never gets old. “It’s just as much fun for me as it was my first night.” The multi-time track champion sits in the lead during the points chase on the first night.
Macon Speedway fans have been very familar with the name Tim Hancock as it involves B-Modified feature races. Hancock was once again the center of attention as he challenged for the lead along with the runner-up of the 2017 B-Modified track championship Cody Stillwell. Stillwell led all 20 laps but did so having to run the perfect race knowing Hancock was right behind him. “I knew he was there,” said Stillwell in the racer interview during victory lane. Stillwell stayed low the entire race while Hancock gave his run at the top.
Jeremy Nichols felt something wasn’t quite right with his Street Stock during the Big Ten Series Street Stock event but he kept pressing on and kept ahead of the competition en route to the checkered flag. Nick Macklin closed in during the final 10 laps but wasn’t able to make the move to pass the leader. A strong field of cars showed up for the first race in the ten-race Midwest Big Ten Series for the Street Stock division. Nichols won the series in 2017.
The 2017 Pro Late Model Track Champion made a change to open 2018, he got a Billingsley Elite Wash Modified. Tommy Sheppard, Jr., who looks to have his Pro Late Model ready later in the season, hopped behind the wheel of his Modified and wheeled his way to a 20-lap feature victory.
While Tommy Sheppard, Jr. was winning in the Billingsley Elite Wash Modifieds, Guy Taylor made his return to race in the Decatur Building Trade Pro Late Models class and dominated the field in the 20-lap race. Taylor finished a solid half-lap ahead of second place finisher Jeremy Nichols and was passing and lapping nearly everybody who was on the track. Taylor sat out most of 2017 but returned to his 2016 form.
Jeremy Reed went back and forth with St. Louis native Andrew Dudash for the lead and ended up coming away with the win. The Missouri driver held onto the lead until the green flag came out and Reed undercut Dudash for the final pass of the race to claim the final checkered flag of the season opener.
Macon Speedway’s season is officially off the ground and really takes off next week with the Lucas Oil Late Model Series event, the 5th Annual St. Louis-U-Pic-A-Part 100 featuring the Super Late Models of the Lucas Oil Late Model Series and the $12,000-to-win event. Billingsley Elite Wash Modifieds and B-Modifieds are on the schedule to make up one of the biggest shows in the early part of the season.
Sportsman–Dennis Vandermeersch (Arlington), 2. Tim Bedinger (Taylorville), 3. Scott Landers (Taylorville), 4. Scott Williams (Leroy), 5. Ty Nation (Taylorville), 6. Brad Bedinger (Taylorville), 7. Ethan Schnapp (Springfield), 8. Randy Dickman (Troy, MO)
B-Modifieds–1. Cody Stillwell (Godfrey), 2. Tim Hancock (Mount Olive), 3. Kevin Crowder (Argenta), 4. Jerry Thompson (Troy), 5. Clint Young (Ava), 6. JR Wiltermood (Windsor), 7. M. Smith, 8. Ricky Smith (Alton), 9. Tim Riech (Petersburg), 10. Jeramie Fowler (Decatur)
Street Stocks–1. Jeremy Nichols (Lovington), 2. Nick Macklin (Argenta), 3. Chris Dick (Deland), 4. Darrell Dick (Monticello), 5. Terry Reed (Decatur), 6. Rudy Zaragoza (Jacksonville), 7. Billy Nail (Decatur), 8. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 9. Justin Crowell (Lincoln), 10. Kevin Lewis (Decatur)
Billingsley Elite Wash Modifieds–1. Tommy Sheppard, Jr. (New Berlin), 2. Dave Crawley, Jr. (Decatur), 3. Tim Hancock, Jr. (Mount Olive), 4. Blake Thompson (Troy), 5. Joe Strawkas (Buffalo), 6. Danny Smith (Argenta), 7. Cody Stillwell (Godfrey), 8. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 9. Brian Lynn (Mason City), 10. Curt Rhodes (Taylorville)
Decatur Building Trades Pro Late Models–1. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 2. Jeremy Nichols (Lovington), 3. Kyle McMahon, 4. Dakota Ewing (Warrensburg), 5. Roben Huffman (Midland City), 6. Jeff Ray (Springfield), 7. Cody Maguire (Carlinville), 8. Colby Eller (Taylorville), 9. Kyle Van Dorn (New Berlin), 10. Patrick Younger (Decatur)
Hornets–1. Jeremy Reed (Decatur), 2. Andrew Dudash (St. Louis, MO), 3. Mike Eskew (Springfield), 4. Jared Matherly (Decatur), 5. Caleb Branch (Hammond), 6. Jared Cochran (Bethalto), 7. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 8. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 9. Steve Stine (Stonington), 10. Corey Hulbert (Terre Haute, IN)

Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2018/04/season-opens-with-large-turnout-and-premium-excitement/


IT IS OPENING NIGHT! The 73rd Annual Season Opener at Macon Speedway is finally upon us and it is going to be a loaded night of fun for everyone. It is Driver-Sponsor Appreciation Night which will feature photos & autographs on track before the races, starting around 6:40. The CEFCU Kid’s Club for kids 11 & under will have some fun stuff for our younger fan, the next generation. There will be spectator drags at intermission as well. It is also College Night Presented by University Dogs and all college students with a current school ID will get free admission. Racing Program is as follows:

Saturday, April 21
2018 73rd Season Opener
CEFCU Kid’s Club
Pre-Race Driver Autographs
Spectator Drags
College Night Presented by University Dogs

Billingsley Elite Wash DIRTcar UMP Modifieds
Decatur Building Trades UMP Pro Crate Late Models
UMP B-Mods
UMP Sportsman
Midwest Big Ten Series UMP Street Stocks $500/win & $75/Start
UMP Hornets

Pits: 3:00
Stands: 5:00
Pill Draw Ends: 5:50
Hotlaps: 6:00
On Track Autographs: 6:40
Racing: 7: 15

Grandstand Pricing:
Adults – $12
Children 11 & Under – Free
College Students (with Current School ID)- Free

Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham
Mention Macon Speedway Discount

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials.

Stay Updated On Macon Info:
For more information, follow Macon Speedway online atwww.maconracing.com, on Facebook (www.facebook.com/maconracing) and Twitter (@maconspeedway).

It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2018/04/it-is-opening-night-at-macon-speedway/