Lucas Oil Late Models Set For Macon Speedway Saturday Night

Bloomquist, Babb, Pierce, & Others To Take On The 1/5-Mile

MACON, IL (April 25, 2018) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will make their presence known in the “Land of Lincoln” this weekend, returning to Macon Speedway, Saturday, April 28 for a $12,000-to-win event.  It’s the second half of a doubleheader weekend for the series, as they also compete on Friday night at Tri-City Speedway in Granite City, IL.  At both venues, the nation’s top dirt late model drivers are expected to challenge a strong field of local and regional standouts.

“Macon has a history of producing some of the most exciting events of the season,” said Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Director, Rick Schwallie.  “The level of competition this season has been second-to-none.  The Midwest has some of the toughest competitors anywhere in the country.  Fans are in store for a very exciting weekend of racing.”

The action will be at Macon Speedway on Saturday night for the highly-anticipated St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100.  The 1/5-mile bullring is accustomed to some of the most thrilling, door-to-door racing action of the season.  The event will feature Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, and B-Mains, highlighted by a 100-lap, $12,000-to-win main event.  To learn more, visit:

Jonathan Davenport continues to set the pace in the Lucas Oil championship chase, 75-points ahead of defending National Champion, Josh Richards.  With his recent success, Scott Bloomquist is now third, followed by Earl Pearson Jr. and Tim McCreadie rounding out the top five in championship standings.

This will be the fifth running of the St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 at Macon Speedway.  Oakwood, IL driver Bobby Pierce won the 2014 and 2016 editions of the race, while Jimmy Owens took the 2015 event.  Last year, Josh Richards claimed the top prize.

The Billingsley Elite Wash DIRTcar Modifieds will be running for extra prize money at $1,000 to win and $100 to start, after opening their season last weekend.  New Berlin, IL driver, Tommy Sheppard, Jr. dominated his way to victory last weekend.  Sheppard was the track’s Pro Late Model champ in 2017.

Rounding out this Saturday’s slate will be the DIRTcar B-Mods.  Cody Stillwell did the nearly unthinkable on Saturday, holding off defending two-time track champion, Tim Hancock.  Hancock had won 30 of the last 35 features at the track but Godfrey, IL’s, Stillwell, held a pretty wheel to hold him off.

Pit gates open Saturday at 3:00, grandstands at 4:00, local pill draw will end at 5:50, hotlaps begin at 6:00, qualifying at 6:30, and racing will take the green at 7:00.  Grandstand admission will be $30 for adults and $5 for kids 11 and under.

About Macon Speedway:

For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials. Macon Speedway is a proud member of the Contingency Connection’s $100,000 Racer Rewards Program.

Lucas Oil Championship Standings:

1 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA 2120  
2 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV 2045 -75
3 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN 2005 -115
4 1 Earl Pearson Jr. Jacksonville, FL 1980 -140
5 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY 1780 -340
6 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN 1745 -375
6 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN 1745 -375
8 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN 1720 -400
8 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL 1720 -400
10 40B Kyle Bronson ® Brandon, FL 1715 -405
11 14 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY 1695 -425
12 22 Gregg Satterlee Indiana, PA 1630 -490
13 1s Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL 1620 -500
14 25Z Mason Zeigler ® Chalk Hill, PA 1535 -585
15 28 Dennis Erb Jr. Carpentersville, IL 1530 -590

Track Information:
Macon Speedway
Phone Number 217-764-3000
Track Promoter: Bob Sargent
Location: 205 North Wiles, Macon, IL 62544

Tire Rule April 27th – 28th:
Left Rear/Fronts – Hoosier LM20
Right Rear – Hoosier LM20, LM40

*Must use the same set of 4 tires for Time Trials, Heat Races, and B-Main.
*For the A-Main, competitors may use a new right rear tire.

*Cutting and/or siping of any tire IS allowed.

Event Purse: 1. $12,000, 2. $5,500, 3. $3,500, 4. $2,750, 5. $2,250, 6. $1,800, 7. $1,500, 8. $1,300, 9. $1,200, 10. $1,100, 11. $1,075, 12. $1,050, 13. $1,025, 14. $1,000, 15. $1,000, 16. $1,000, 17. $1,000, 17. $1,000, 19. $1,000, 20. $1,000, 21. $1,000, 22. $1,000, 23. $1,000, 24. $1,000

Permanent link to this article: