Webb Triumphs in Ed Cain Hornet Challenge on CAT/PBR Night

(Macon, IL) Adam Webb is no stranger to tough competition.  The 2015 DIRTcar UMP Hornet National Champion has raced with numerous national and track champions on a regular basis, and tonight was no different.  Eric Vanapeldoorn was the one driver who Webb had to fight hard to wrestle the lead away from.  Vanapeldoorn set a new Hornet track record at 13.777 and won the Blue Mound Auto Body Dash For Cash.  He would battle 2 time National Champion Jeremy Reed for the lead as they went back and forth.  Webb would, with about 9 to go, actually secure the lead after a couple of times he inched ahead and a yellow negated a pass made just before the winning move.  Webb would then survive a late race restart to cruise to the checkers and the $1000 payday.
In the BillingsleyRewards.com DIRTcar UMP Modifieds Tommy Sheppard Jr. rolled off from the pole.  The journey to victory lane was far from easy however.  Tim Hancock and Blake Thompson went back and forth right behind Sheppard for the 2nd spot.  Hancock would even show the nose a handful of times to the T6 machine but in the end Sheppard fended off the challenges to cruise to the checkers.
The Decatur Building Trades DIRTcar UMP Pro Crate Late Model feature started with calamity in turn 1 with a large pileup.  All 5 cars involved were able to continue, and the feature would see a pair of familiar drivers in Guy Taylor and Dakota Ewing go at it for the top spot.  Ewing from his outside front row starting spot withstood the challenges of both Taylor and Jake Little to find his way back to Macon Speedway victory lane, his 2nd win in as many nights after winning the night before at Lincoln Speedway.
The DIRTcar UMP B-Mods saw a familiar foe up front in the 0 of Mount Olive’s Tim Hancock.  “Big Block” Hancock put the power down and never looked back to cruise to another victory at Macon Speedway.  The battle for 2nd was a couple of times right behind but Hancock hit his marks and eventually checked out.
In the DIRTcar UMP Street Stocks, a former track champion in Larry Russell Jr. did battle with Justin Crowell in a fast feature event.  The Lincoln, IL driver, Crowell, withstood multiple challenges from Russell Jr and made Crowell sweat it out.  The pilot of the 24 kept his cool, hit his marks, and went on to score his first career DIRTcar UMP Street Stock feature event of his career.
Macon Speedway will be back at it next Saturday, June 23 with the Dynagraphics/95Q Firecracker 40’s.  40 lappers will be held for the topless Modifieds as well as the Big Ten Pro Late Models.  Four other divisions will also race.  A grand fireworks display will cap off the night.
More info can be found at www.maconracing.com
Feature Results (Top 10’s)
Ed Cain Trucking Hornet Challenge – 1. 40-Adam Webb, [Decatur, IL]; 2. E77-Erik Vanapeldoorn, [Clinton, IL]; 3. 33-Jeremy Reed, [Decatur, IL]; 4. 4-Matt Reed, [Decatur, IL]; 5. 21-Mike Eskew, [Springfield, IL]; 6. 00-Dan Smith, [Speedway, IN]; 7. 00N-Owen Cosman, [Martinsville, IN]; 8. 53R-Jeff Reed, Jr, [Blue Mound, IL]; 9. 25C-Brad Rexroad, [Hammond, IL]; 10. 04-Steve Stine, [Stonington, IL]
Decatur Building Trades Pro Late Models – 1. 25-Dakota Ewing, [Warrensburg, IL]; 2. 4T-Guy Taylor, [Springfield, IL]; 3. 38J-Jake Little, [Springfield, IL]; 4. 32M-Cody Maguire, [Carlinville, IL]; 5. 45M-Kyle McMahon, [Mt. Vernon, IL]; 6. 5H-Anthony Harter, [Sherman, IL]; 7. 14-Donny Koehler, [Macon, IL]; 8. Z23-Jarod Shasteen, [Macon, IL]; 9. (DNF) 2K-Kyle VanDorn, [New Berlin]; 10. (DNF) X-Tommy Sheppard Jr, [New Berlin, IL]
BillingsleyRewards.com Modifieds – 1. T6-Tommy Sheppard Jr, [New Berlin, IL]; 2. 0-Tim Hancock, [Mt. Olive]; 3. 7-Blake Thompson, [Troy, IL]; 4. 43-Jared Thomas, [Edinburg, IL]; 5. 00-Cody Stillwell, [Godfrey, IL]; 6. 98-Danny Smith, [Argenta, IL]; 7. 71-Jeff Graham, [Stonington, IL]; 8. 18-Jerry Thompson, [Troy, IL]; 9. (DNF) 55-Tim Riech, [Petersburg, IL]; 10. (DNF) 7S-Ethan Schnapp, [Springfield, IL]
B-Mods – 1. 0-Tim Hancock, [Mt. Olive, IL]; 2. 15C-Kevin Crowder, [Argenta, IL]; 3. 00S-Cody Stillwell, [Godfrey, IL]; 4. 18-Jerry Thompson, [Troy, IL]; 5. 55-Tim Riech, [Petersburg, IL]; 6. 74-Billy Adams, [Shelbyville, IL]; 7. (DNF) 57R-Tom Riech, [Springfield, IL]
Street Stocks – 1. 24-Justin Crowell, [Lincoln, IL]; 2. X7-Larry Russell,, [Decatur, IL]; 3. 23Z-Shawn Ziemer, [Boody, IL]; 4. 58-Jerit Murphy, [Lodge, IL]; 5. (DNF) 42-Michael Dick, [Decatur, IL]; 6. (DNF) 19-Matthew Yaden, [Monticello, IL]

Permanent link to this article: http://www.maconracing.com/2018/06/webb-triumphs-in-ed-cain-hornet-challenge-on-cat-pbr-night/