Lucas Oil Late Models Set For Lucas Oil 100 Saturday Night

(Macon, IL) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series hits the road again this weekend, returning to the “Land of Lincoln” for a $12,000-to-win event on Saturday night at Macon Speedway.  The nation’s top dirt late model drivers are expected to challenge a strong field of local and regional standouts.

The 1/5-mile bullring is accustomed to some of the most thrilling, door-to-door racing action of the season. The event will feature Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, and B-Mains, highlighted by a 100-lap, $12,000-to-win main event.

The defending National Champion, Jonathan Davenport continues to set the pace in the current Lucas Oil championship chase, 235-points ahead of four-time National Champion, Earl Pearson Jr. Tyler Erb is third, followed by Devin Moran and Josh Richards rounding out the top five in championship standings.

The event will be the sixth for the series at Macon Speedway.  Former winners include: Bobby Pierce (2014), Jimmy Owens (2015), Bobby Pierce (2016), Josh Richards (2017), and Bobby Pierce (2018).

Two other divisions will be in action racing for extra prize money, including the DIRTcar Modifieds.  The class has had two exciting nights of racing and has a tie for the current point lead.  Rodney Standerfer, of Summerfield, IL, was the winner on opening night at the track, exchanging the lead several times with Tommy Sheppard, Jr. from New Berlin, IL.  On the second night, it was Sheppard taking the lead early and claiming the victory over Standerfer.  The two are tied at 118 points each, while last year’s Pro Late Model champion, Guy Taylor is third, Jared Thomas is fourth, and Tim Hancock is fifth.  The division will be racing for a little extra money this week in an event paying $1,000 to win and $100 to start.

In two weeks of racing, it’s been all Tim Hancock in the Neal Tire & Auto Pro Modified division.  The former national champion of the class has won both features, though competition has kept him honest so far.  Just behind him in the standings is Decatur, IL driver, Nick Justice.  Justice followed him closely across the line in the season opener and had a decent run on the second night.  Chad Evans, Tim Riech, and Brady Lynch round out the top five in standings.

Pit gates open this Saturday night at 3:00 with grandstand gates swinging open at 4:00.  Hotlaps will begin at 6:00 with racing taking the green at 7:00 PM.  Grandstand admission is $30 for adults and $5 for kids 11 and under.

For more information on the event, visit


Lucas Oil Championship Standings:

1 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA 2110  
2 1 Earl Pearson Jr. Jacksonville, FL 1875 -235
3 1T Tyler Erb ® New Waverly, TX 1850 -260
4 1M Devin Moran ® Dresden, OH 1730 -380
5 14 Josh Richards Shinnston, WV 1670 -440
6 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY 1650 -460
7 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN 1620 -490
8 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN 1525 -585
9 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN 1510 -600
10 40B Kyle Bronson Brandon, FL 1450 -660 DIRTcar Modifieds

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 T6 Tommy Sheppard New Berlin IL 118 0
2 28 Rodney Standerfer Summerfield IL 118 0
3 77 Guy Taylor Springfield IL 110 8
4 43 Jared Thomas Edinburg IL 104 14
5 0 Tim Hancock Mount Olive IL 100 18
6 10 Curt Rhodes Taylorville IL 92 26
7 14C Alan Crowder Elwin IL 90 28
8 43T Josh Thomas Edinburg IL 84 34
9 11 Zach Rhodes Taylorville IL 78 40
10 19 Carter Sinkhorn Taylorville IL 74 44

Neal Tire & Auto Pro Mods

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 0 Tim Hancock Mount Olive IL 120 0
2 5 Nick Justice Decatur IL 112 8
3 1X Chad Evans Mattoon IL 96 24
4 55 Tim Riech Petersburg IL 94 26
5 14B Brady Lynch Hillsboro IL 94 26
6 14N Nathan Lynch Hillsboro IL 90 30
7 B21 Billy Nail Decatur IL 86 34
8 66 Roy Magee Springfield IL 84 36
9 116 Kevin Rench Hillsboro IL 80 40
10 40 Adam Webb Decatur IL 78 42

Permanent link to this article: