Macon Speedway Set For 95Q/Dynagraphics Firecracker 40’s…Take 2

(Macon, IL) After back-to-back weather cancelations, Macon Speedway is set to reopen the gates to fans and competitors this coming Saturday, June 29.  On tap is the rescheduled 95Q/Dynagraphics Firecracker 40’s and Bud Light Ladies Night.  Six divisions of racing will be joined by a Kids Gold Rush for those aged 11 and under.  Admission for ladies will be just $5.

The Decatur Building Trades Pro Late Models will have a Big 10 race, going 40-laps for extra prize money.  The Pro Late division is led by Dakota Ewing, who has four wins and a 52 point lead in the standings.  Donny Koehler, Jake Little, Blake Damery, and Colby Sheppard complete the top five.  The Big Ten standings has Springfield, IL’s Jake Little on top after two events.  Shawn Diggs, Cody Maguire, Colby Sheppard, and Brandon Eskew are in the top ten.

The Modified division will also be on track for 40 laps of action.  The night is doubly special as the class runs minus the roof of the car for the only time during the season.  It gives the fans a great look into the cockpit of the racecar, watching the drivers work their craft.  New Berlin, IL’s Tommy Sheppard, Jr. leads the standings and has claimed four feature wins.  Alan Crowder has had a strong start to the season and is second in points, while Tim Hancock, Jared Thomas, and Zach Rhodes complete the top five.

Mount Olive, IL’s Tim Hancock leads the win in the Neal Tire & Auto Pro Modified division, having claimed five feature wins already this season.  Hancock is followed in the standings by Nick Justice, Rob Timmons, Tim Riech, and Roy Magee.  The division has had strong fields of cars and good racing all season long.

Scott Landers leads the field of Sportsman into action on Saturday night, having three top fives in four features.  That consistency gives him the advantage over Mitch Ringler, Tim Bedinger, Joel Irvin, and Terry Myers.  Dennis Vandermeersch has won three of the four features but missed one night, relegating him to sixth in points.

Hammond, IL’s Gene Reed is on top of the Archers Alley Street Stock standings.  Right behind him is his brother Terry, who has claimed three feature wins.  Larry Russell, Jr., Jonathon Hall, and Darrell Dick complete the top five in points.  The racing has been highly competitive in the class this season with a handful of drivers competing for wins on any given night.

Rounding out Saturday’s action will be the Hornet class, coming off of their Ed Cain Trucking Hornet Challenge from a couple weeks ago.  Decatur, IL driver, Brady Reed, leads the points by 76 over Carter Dart.  Billy Mason, Cook Crawford, and Marty Sullivan round out the top five.

At intermission, all kids 11 and under will be welcome to go trackside for the annual Kids Gold Rush.  Hundreds of dollars of pennies, nickels, dimes, and quarters will be strewn about for kids to pick up.

Pit gates will open Saturday at 4:00, grandstands at 5:00, hotlaps will start at 6:00, and racing will take the green at 7:00.  Grandstand admission is $15 for adults but ladies will get in for just $5 for Bud Light Ladies night.

It’s the start of a busy stretch for Macon Speedway, as officials prepare for the 39th annual Herald & Review 100 for the DIRTcar Summer Nationals, coming to town on Thursday, July 4.  The race extravaganza will have Super Late Models, Modifieds, and Neal Tire & Auto Pro Mods plus holiday fireworks.  Full info is online at

About Macon Speedway:

For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials. Macon Speedway is a proud member of the Contingency Connection’s $150,000 Racer Rewards Program.


Decatur Building Trades Pro Late Models

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 25 Dakota Ewing Warrensburg IL 346 0
2 14 Donny Koehler Macon IL 294 52
3 38J Jake Little Springfield IL 284 62
4 10 Blake Damery Blue Mound IL 272 74
5 27 Colby Sheppard Williamsville IL 248 98
6 32M Cody Maguire Carlinville IL 238 108
7 52R Jeff Reed, Jr Blue Mound IL 210 136
8 14J Braden Johnson Taylorville IL 194 152
9 22 Chris Dick Deland IL 188 158
10 33B Storm Beiler Decatur IL 174 172 Modifieds

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 T6 Tommy Sheppard New Berlin IL 414 0
2 87C Alan Crowder Elwin IL 340 74
3 0 Tim Hancock Mount Olive IL 320 94
4 43 Jared Thomas Edinburg IL 310 104
5 11 Zach Rhodes Taylorville IL 250 164
6 10 Curt Rhodes Taylorville IL 248 166
7 77 Guy Taylor Springfield IL 212 202
8 28 Rodney Standerfer Summerfield IL 196 218
9 96 Michael Rauch Decatur IL 178 236
10 7B Brian Burns Bethany IL 156 258

Neal Tire & Auto Pro Mods

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 0 Tim Hancock Mount Olive IL 382 0
2 36 Nick Justice Decatur IL 344 38
3 5 Rob Timmons Centralia IL 330 52
4 55 Tim Riech Petersburg IL 296 86
5 11 Roy Magee Springfield IL 264 118
6 B21 Billy Nail Decatur IL 254 128
7 022 Tim Hancock Mount Olive IL 244 138
8 116 Kevin Rench Hillsboro IL 240 142
9 14N Nathan Lynch Hillsboro IL 234 148
10 14B Brady Lynch Hillsboro IL 216 166


Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 41 Scott Landers Taylorville IL 224 0
2 94 Mitch Ringler Taylorville IL 216 8
3 17B Tim Bedinger Taylorville IL 214 10
4 3J Joel Irvin Harristown IL 200 24
5 12M Terry Myers Buffalo IL 196 28
6 25 Dennis Vander Meersch Springfield IL 180 44
7 61 Stefan Bedinger Taylorville IL 136 88
8 87 Wes O’Dell Springfield IL 114 110
9 21 Brad Bedinger Taylorville IL 108 116
10 11 Rick Roedel Shelbyville IL 94 130

Archers Alley Street Stocks

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 1 Gene Reed Hammond IL 384 0
2 T5 Terry Reed Cerro Gordo IL 368 16
3 X7 Larry Russell Decatur IL 326 58
4 3J Jonathon Hall Harristown IL 300 84
5 22X Darrell Dick Monticello IL 286 98
6 41 Fredie Thomas Macon IL 286 98
7 B26 Bobby Beiler Blue Mound IL 260 124
8 23Z Shawn Ziemer Boody IL 210 174
9 80 Brian Dasenbrock, Decatur IL 204 180
10 21 Jaret Duff Maroa IL 188 196


Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 32B Brady Reed Decatur IL 402 0
2 D7 Carter Dart Springfield IL 326 76
3 357 Billy Mason Brownstown IL 316 86
4 64CK Cook Crawford Lincoln IL 294 108
5 39M Marty Sullivan Decatur IL 246 156
6 98 Ken Reed Decatur IL 228 174
7 26A Michael McKay Springfield IL 224 178
8 69M Michael Abbott Taylorville IL 194 208
9 33 Jeremy Reed Decatur IL 174 228
10 WHO2 Eldon Hemken Sorento IL 158 244

Permanent link to this article: