Seven Divisions, Kids Racecar Rides, & Faster Pastor Race Coming Saturday

(Macon, IL) Macon Speedway will be back at it this coming Saturday, August 24, for another action packed night at the 1/5-mile dirt track. Seven divisions of racing will be on track with kids racecar rides at intermission in addition to a Faster Pastor Race.  The night will be presented by Phoenix Tile, as their guests watch from the Turn 4 Lounge.

With just five nights left during the 2019 season, Warrensburg, IL’s Dakota Ewing leads the Decatur Building Trades Pro Late Model class by 84 points and has claimed six of the twelve feature wins.  While Ewing has been outstanding, Macon, IL’s Donny Koehler remains within striking distance from his season long consistency.  Blake Damery, Jake Little, and Cody Maguire complete the top five in the standings. While Ewing has six feature wins, Chris Dick has claimed a lot of prize money with his two wins.  Damery, Little, Logan Moody, and Jose Parga have each claimed one feature win.

Arguably, the most dominant driver at Macon Speedway this year has been Tommy Sheppard, Jr.  The New Berlin, IL driver has won eight out of thirteen features and leads the Modified points by 130 over Alan Crowder.  Tim Hancock, Curt Rhodes, and Zach Rhodes are in the top five in the current standings. 72 different Modified drivers have been on track so far this season with Mike Harrison, Rodney Standerfer, Allen Weisser, and Kenny Wallace also claiming feature victories.

Tim Hancock, of Mt. Olive, IL, is having another stout season in the Neal Tire & Auto Pro Mod class. Hancock has an 82 point lead and has won ten out of fourteen features. Nick Justice has claimed a feature win and is second in points, while Rob Timmons has also been fast and is in third.  Tim Riech and Tim Hancock, Jr. round out the top five.

The DIRTcar Sportsman have a battle brewing at the top of the standings as Scott Landers, of Taylorville, IL, leads by just 30 over Dennis Vander Meersch.  Vander Meersch has won every feature he has started but has also missed an event this year for vacation. An improved Terry Myers is third in points, while Tim Bedinger and Mitch Ringler complete the top five.

Cerro Gordo, IL’s Terry Reed sits atop the Archers Alley Street Stocks points entering Saturday night’s event. Reed has a 78 point lead over his brother, Gene, who has missed two events this year. Larry Russell, Jr., Darrell Dick, and Bobby Beiler complete the top five. The Street Stock class has been highly competitive this year, with half of the top ten in points claiming at least one feature win.

Decatur, IL driver Brady Reed leads the Hornet standings, claiming four feature wins in the process. Carter Dart is second in points, still looking for his first feature win.  Cook Crawford, Marty Sullivan, and Billy Mason round out the top five.

Rounding out Saturday night’s action will be the Micros By Bailey Chassis. Teenage driver, Daryn Stark, of Springfield, IL, leads the Micro points by just two over Decatur, IL’s Jacob Tipton. Neither have won a Macon feature this year but have a good number of top ten finishes putting them at the top. John Barnard and Molly Day are both fairly close as well. Will Armitage is fifth.

At intermission, kids will be treated to the racecar rides.  A good number of racecars will pull out on the track and allow all the kids to ride around the track for a few laps.  It’s definitely one of the favorite events of the year for the youngsters.

Rounding out Saturday’s program will be the Faster Pastor race, scheduled to be held around intermission. Several area pastors have signed up to be a part of this year’s event.

Pit gates open Saturday at 4:00, grandstands at 5:00, hotlaps are at 6:00, and racing will take the green at 7:00. Grandstand admission is $12, while kids 11 and under are free.

About Macon Speedway:

For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials. Macon Speedway is a proud member of the Contingency Connection’s $150,000 Racer Rewards Program.


Decatur Building Trades Pro Late Models

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 25 Dakota Ewing Warrensburg IL 694 0
2 14 Donny Koehler Macon IL 610 84
3 10 Blake Damery Blue Mound IL 564 130
4 38J Jake Little Springfield IL 516 178
5 32M Cody Maguire Carlinville IL 478 216
6 27 Colby Sheppard Williamsville IL 442 252
7 52R Jeff Reed, Jr Blue Mound IL 436 258
8 14J Braden Johnson Taylorville IL 332 362
9 22 Chris Dick Deland IL 308 386
10 33B Storm Beiler Decatur IL 266 428 Modifieds

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 T6 Tommy Sheppard New Berlin IL 762 0
2 87C Alan Crowder Elwin IL 632 130
3 0 Tim Hancock Mount Olive IL 580 182
4 10 Curt Rhodes Taylorville IL 448 314
5 11 Zach Rhodes Taylorville IL 424 338
6 43 Jared Thomas Edinburg IL 358 404
7 28 Rodney Standerfer Summerfield IL 310 452
8 28S Joe Strawkas Buffalo IL 310 452
9 77 Guy Taylor Springfield IL 286 476
10 22 Tim Hancock Mount Olive IL 256 506

Neal Tire & Auto Pro Modifieds

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 0 Tim Hancock Mount Olive IL 792 0
2 36 Nick Justice Decatur IL 710 82
3 5 Rob Timmons Centralia IL 704 88
4 55 Tim Riech Petersburg IL 646 146
5 22 Tim Hancock Mount Olive IL 564 228
6 11 Roy Magee Springfield IL 528 264
7 14N Nathan Lynch Hillsboro IL 488 304
8 116 Kevin Rench Hillsboro IL 428 364
9 35 Tom Davidson Springfield IL 426 366
10 B21 Billy Nail Decatur IL 404 388

DIRTcar Sportsman

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 41 Scott Landers Taylorville IL 390 0
2 25 Dennis Vander Meersch Springfield IL 360 30
3 12M Terry Myers Buffalo IL 348 42
4 17B Tim Bedinger Taylorville IL 314 76
5 94 Mitch Ringler Taylorville IL 306 84
6 3J Joel Irvin Harristown IL 298 92
7 87 Wes O’Dell Springfield IL 226 164
8 61 Stefan Bedinger Taylorville IL 190 200
9 06 Connor Klay Stonington IL 190 200
10 44 Bill Berghaus Chapin IL 176 214

Archers Alley Street Stocks

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 T5 Terry Reed Cerro Gordo IL 620 0
2 1 Gene Reed Hammond IL 542 78
3 X7 Larry Russell Decatur IL 528 92
4 22X Darrell Dick Monticello IL 514 106
5 B26 Bobby Beiler Blue Mound IL 488 132
6 23Z Shawn Ziemer Boody IL 424 196
7 21 Jaret Duff Maroa IL 412 208
8 3J Jonathon Hall Harristown IL 398 222
9 08 Brian Dasenbrock Decatur IL 392 228
10 67 Rudy Zaragoza Jacksonville IL 374 246

DIRTcar Hornets

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 32B Brady Reed Decatur IL 690 0
2 D7 Carter Dart Springfield IL 586 104
3 64CK Cook Crawford Lincoln IL 500 190
4 39M Marty Sullivan Decatur IL 456 234
5 357 Billy Mason Brownstown IL 400 290
6 98 Ken Reed Decatur IL 366 324
7 04 Steve Stine Stonington IL 354 336
8 26A Michael McKay Springfield IL 322 368
9 69M Michael Abbott Taylorville IL 322 368
10 21 Mike Eskew Springfield IL 314 376

Micros By Bailey Chassis

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 55S Daryn Stark Springfield IL 320 0
2 10 Jacob Tipton Decatur IL 318 2
3 8B John Barnard Sherman IL 300 20
4 17 Molly Day Atwood IL 298 22
5 7A Will Armitage Athens IL 246 74
6 84 Tyler Day Atwood IL 218 102
7 11 Jeff Beasley Urbana IL 186 134
8 5B Chad Baldwin Lincoln IL 184 136
9 21 Aaron Andruskevitch Riverton IL 178 142
10 28 Luke Verardi Taylorville IL 172 148

Permanent link to this article: