Decatur Building Trades POWRi Night In The Books

Macon, IL. (06/19/2021) The Mighty Macon Speedway in Macon, IL. hosted the fourth night of Illinois SPEEDweek and Lucas Oil POWRi’s 41st event at the historic track. Michael “Buddy” Kofoid perfected the tough track and ended his night in victory lane, capturing the win from the eighth starting position. Three other divisions were also in action on Decatur Building Trades Night.

At the drop of the green flag, Kaylee Bryson, Thomas Meseraull, and Cannon McIntosh battled three wide for the lead. All cars fighting for track position on the tricky Macon surface. Daison Pursley caught a rut in 1&2 and got upside down. The field got back under green with Meseraull leading, but about six laps in McIntosh battled Meseraull for the lead and took it over.

McIntosh settled in with the lead while Kofoid was on the prowl. Kofoid made his way up to the second position with only nine laps in the books. After a few late restarts, the battle for the lead intensified, Kofoid and McIntosh traded slide jobs for the lead. Kofoid prevailed and took the lead after a restart to finish off the fourth night of Illinois POWRi SPEEDweek.

Cannon McIntosh followed Kofoid to the line to finish second, Kaylee Bryson finished third, Gavan Boschele finished fourth and Bryant Wiedeman finished in the fifth position. The Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget League will be back in action for the final night of the Illinois SPEEDweek at Brownstown, IL. tomorrow, 6/20.

Kyle Barker of Cooksville, IL. earned his first Lucas Oil POWRi 600cc Micro Sprint League Presented by Engler Machine & Tool career win. His first career win came to him at none other than the historic Mighty Macon Speedway in Macon, IL.

Timmy Dick, of Monticello, IL won his first Decatur Building Trades Pro Late Model feature after avoiding the craziness of what was a rough race. Donny Koehler, Blake Damery, Brandon Sweitzer, and Colby Sheppard completed the top five.

Argenta, IL driver, Nick Macklin took the victory in the 15-lap Archers Alley Street Stock feature. For Macklin, it was his second Macon Speedway feature victory. Jeff Reed, Jr., Guy Taylor, Zach Taylor, and Jeremy Nichols.

Up next for Macon Speedway is Weddle Performance Engines night featuring all seven regular classes this Saturday, June 26. The track will also observe Lady’s night, offering $5 grandstand admission for all ladies in attendance.

For complete results, go to

Permanent link to this article: